We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay in Xian....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Noble Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Noble Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 487 Reviews
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay in Xian....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I just returned from a 10 day tour of China arranged by China Spree. They get an A+++ for their hotel selections, which included the Grand Noble in Xian. My room was adorable...it was extremely modern and architecturally interesting. I felt very safe and cozy (a woman staying alone), it was quiet, the service was excellent....it was four star by any standard, including US. Way to go China Spree for this hotel selection...it was a delight!

Room Tip: I had room 910 and I loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    245
    66
    23
    5
See reviews for
71
176
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Overall this hotel was very good the bar area and lounge were excellent. The staff at the bar really wanted to serve but lacked adequate training and were not very good at English as was the case with most of the staff. The buffet breakfast was a bit on the cold side and it was a bit mad there. Room was okay but had open plan bathroom which was a bit strange

Room Tip: I have put poor for the spa as every question we had regarding the facilities there we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Grand Noble is an above average hotel but by no means a 5* property. Perhaps one of the best features of the property is the lobby/bar area complete with a lovely fireplace and lots of comfortable seating. The rooms are a pleasant design with an open concept that includes the bedroom and bathroom. If you are modest and traveling with someone you don't want to see naked...this is not the hotel room for you!

The location of the hotel is fantastic! We walked all around the city using our hotel as a base and strolled home from the Muslim Quarter after a great dumpling meal. Locatiion, Location, Location!

The ammenities at the hotel are average with the exception of the breakfast buffet. Service at the front desk and in the restaraunt seemed perfunctory at best and I can't chalk it up to language difficulties as one of my friends speaks Mandarin and still was not able to get them to crack a smile or lend a hand.

I'm a gym rat and I found the facilities here lacking but for 1 or 2 nights it wasn't a big deal. There is a treadmill and an ancient stairclimber machine with one Universal free-weight machine. Not luxurious but in a pinch it will get the job done.

All and all I'd have to say that this hotel is more like a Lesser Duke or Count and by no means the King of Hotels.

Travel Tip*** We contracted with an EXCELLENT guide for a Xian City tour, Terracotta Warriors and Wild Good Pagoda tour that included the Muslim Quarter (1 day). Her name is Jane and if you Google Synotravel or Xian tour guides, her name will come up. Fluent English, great personality, lots of knowledge and a real delight***

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Nice room, lobby, and breakfast. It is located within the walls of the city and convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night when we flew in to see the Terracotta Army. When we arrived at the airport we decided that we would take a taxi which turned out to be a mistake - the cars were very old and ours broke down on the way to the hotel (in the fast lane naturally...) which we could have done without - we then had the obligatory argument over the fare although we were using the meter. Not ideal, with hindsight I would certainly book a hotel car in advance.

The Hotel is fine, the corridors are a bit dark and the bedroom has a strange layout with the bathroom open plan, but for 1 night it was ideal. The hotel arranged a car for us the next day to see the warriors and a few other sights before taking us back to the airport. Good value, a car with seatbelts and a safe driving experience which was ideal for what we wanted to do.

If you are planning quick visit, this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel's in a great, central location, between the South Gate and East Gate within the walled city. It's within easy walking distance of the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and Muslim Quarter as well as the major shops (if you want that sort of thing) and "Bar Alley". It's a big imposing building, with a big and ostentatious foyer and public areas. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and more than adequately big enough for the 3 of us (husband, wife and 14yr old daughter). My only gripe is that there were 2 x 4' beds (plus a 3rd bed for our daughter) rather than a preferred 6' king size. I'm not sure if all there rooms are twin bedded like this or not.

Breakfast was included in our stay and there's an expansive buffet and although much of it is Chinese style there was still loads of "western" food, you won't go hungry. The food's also of a good quality. We ate in the hotel on one night (out of the 3 we stayed) and again there's a big buffet in the main restaurant, set price of about £15 (Yuan158), but loads to eat, good choice and quality. There's also a cafe style restaurant where they have a selection of western style food, burgers, club sandwiches, chips etc, but hey this is China, you can eat that at home. The bar, Gordon's, has a good atmosphere, the staff their are very friendly and courteous and the prices, for a 5* hotel are more than reasonable - £15 for a bottle of wine; £3.50 to £4.50 for a cocktail and between 5.30 and 7.30pm it's happy hour, buy one get one free.

There have been some comments on here about poor or mediocre service and I'd guess that this stems from the fact this is a Chinese owned and managed hotel (I assume) so there is a language issue. Whilst Xian is a big city, it's in the middle of China and not everyone speaks any english let alone speaks it fluently. I'd put any such issues on the staff's part down to a language barrier and thus a reticence to engage. We found that with a mandarin phrase book, an attempt to speak in mandarin and bit of politeness we never had any such issues. All the staff were very helpful and polite.

One final comment, although this is a 5* hotel, it is not the same standard as a Shangri-La or a Mandarin Oriental, but it's about 80% of that ad yet for 50% of the price.

All in all a good hotel, good value for money and one I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room. This hotel is mainly frequented by Chinese and they smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel has a great central location. The room was nice and the bathroom modern and pleasant. The customer service though was disgraceful. This booking was made for three nights because breakfast was included. However, much to our horror the hotel refused point blank to include the breakfast. The hotel staff including the manager and sales-and-marketing manager did not want to know about our complaints and preferred to hide and did not offer any resolution. In fact they hid so well that we gave up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#66 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Noble Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.