We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was a nice hotel. The foyer and bar area was a great place to unwind at the end of the day. Very nice gym and pool area. The rooms were a bit old and tired and bathroom very small. Had to shower in bath with a shower curtain that fell down. We had a room which adjoined another and you could hear the neighbours conversations. We had a terrible view over a roof. The staff didn't understand the do not disturb sign. The housemaid knocked on the door and woke us up. Then another knock from the laundry lady - wrong room, then the housemaid rings us to see if she can get in and clean the room!! Breakfast was very ordinary. I asked for fried eggs and they weren't cooked properly. I sent them back but the next lot was the same. Basic buffet selection. We did not pay a lot as we were only here for a couple of nights. Short stay ok but I wouldn't stay here if I was going for a longer trip. The Chinese restaurant on 1st (?) floor was superb! A highlight of the trip. Xi'an is a lovely city.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that doesn't join another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and contributing your stay experience. We’re happy to see that you had a pleasant trip in Xi’an.
Many appreciation for your suggestions and we apologize for the mistakes made by our staff as well as the noise. These problems already reported to our management team and related training will be delivered to our employees. Hope we can have the chance to service you next time and show you the improvement.
Thank you again for sharing your time with us, life can be better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    364
    129
    20
    7
See reviews for
58
95
22
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In a city with new hotels popping up every week it is will be hard for this hotel to compete.

I stayed here because I thought it is a good balance between closeness to city center and the high tech zone, where my office is. However the traffic in Xian is very bad during peak hours and also in the evenings when trying to get to the city center. I wouldn't recommend this location as a base for tourists.

My room was spacious with lots of wardrobe space, plenty of places to hang your clothes, but the decor is aging and may not appeal to those who likes comtemporary decor.

Everything else is fairly standard for a Sheraton hotel. We tried the bar, which has a live band almost every night.

Food wise, I tried room service and the club sandwich was decent, they even include a drink with main courses.

There is a very good Xian restaurant next to the hotel called Xi An Fan Zhuang, it is 50 meters east of the hotel on the same road, same side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Calfie,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience and hope you had a good trip in Xian.
As the first 5-star hotel in Xian,Sheraton Xian has over 20 years old. For these years we are trying to improve the facilities. If you would like the modern decor, I guess you could try our new club floors at 7-10th floor during your next stay. It will be nice and more benefits especially fit for business travelers.
Many appreciation for your compliment on our service and food, and thank for your recommendation on Shannxi local snack.
We are looking forward to serve you again.
Life will be better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good location, friendly staff service. However, the beds are not comfortable and too small. It was very difficult to sleep comfortably for two adults and two young children in their SPG 2 bedroom. I thought all SPG rooms are supposed to have at least double beds. I was wrong.

Breakfast food was excellent. Loved the noodle bar!

Room Tip: Ask for the SPG rooms. They are supposed to have a higher standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing for stay experience with us. Many appreciation for your compliment on our staff and service. The SPG room actually is standard for 2 auldts at most plus 1 kid, so it is true that it is difficult for 4 persons. Thank you again for your sharing and support.
Share makes life better!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I recently spent a night at this hotel in Xian. I will tell you the staff was great and the room was very nice. I can not say anything about location or restaurants in the area as work took most of my time. I did get the chance to see the TerraCotta Museum which is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr.Gregory

Thank you so much for your recommendation about our hotel and staff. It is our honor that have a chance to serve for you. If you have another trip to Xian, you are really recommended to spend some time about trying the local food and snack, they are amazing.
Happy to see that you had a good time in Xian and we are looking forward to see you again.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of the city or a very new one but it was perfect for the one night we stayed there. The room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast spread was lavish and the service/staff excellent.
It is only a 10 minute ride to key night attractions like the Drum Towers (beautifully lit at night), the Moslem quarter (awesome night street with multiple local food options) and the bar street. In the mornings, the Xian city wall is also close, with nice information on the Silk routes as well as an option to bike around on the wall! My husband and I did double biking, it was so much fun! The Terracotta warriors museum is about an hour or so, being outside the city – amazing.

The city (and airport) is much bigger than we had imagined, with beautiful landscapes as you go outward. We could have easily spent another night here. Sheraton suited us very well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ms. ssmmiittaa,
Thank your for chosen Sheraton Xian Hotel and share your stay experience with us.
We can see you had a wonderful trip here in Xian, you really discovered the city in a professional way! Sheraton Xian Hotel has a very convenient location and you can access to key sightseeing from here easily. we have a very good service team and they are always highly appreciated by our guests.
Thank you again for your sharing and looking forward to serve for you next time,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Sheraton in the middle of China was a surprise gem for my wife and I while visiting Xian during a tour of China. Our room was luxurious and quite large. The staff members were very nice and many spoke English. This hotel provided a great Sanctuary to enjoy in the middle of a very busy tour.

The highlight though was the Club Lounge. If you have the money I would recommend the upgrade. You are greeted by a lovely hostess and this is the best Lounge that I can remember visiting. The evening food and beverage offerings were excellent and the breakfast was so good that we passed on the excellent buffet offered downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
Sounds like you had a very happy trip in Xian and a pleasant experience in Sheraton Xian Hotel, Many appreciation for sharing your story with us on trip advisor. The club room that you stayed was newly renovated, and the benefit to club lounge is really price worth. Our staffs are very helpful, you may already made many friends here.
Thank you again for your sharing and looking forward to see you next time, Sheraton Xian will always be your home away from home.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful relief to arrive at this Sheraton in Xian. The staff were welcoming and recognised us on subsequent meetings and completely attentive and efficient and the whole hotel sparkled with cleanliness and new decor.
Food fabulous - we experimented with eel and a whole duck and both were served with great ceremony and beautifully cooked.
Xian traffic is gridlocked and the only problem was getting taxis - the staff helpfully walked us to the bus stop when the taxi drivers said the traffic was too bad to come for the very low official fare they are allowed to charge, but when we were unimpressed with how packed the buses were the staff came up with a way of persuading the taxis to turn up.......
Overall recommendation - Insist on this hotel if you go to Xian!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Helen Hallpike,
Many many appreciation for you to write such a long story and happy to see you had a very impressed stay in Xi'an and in our hotel.
It is our honor to have such helpful and lovely staff that provides exclusive service and extra care to guests.
Sheraton Xian is a hotel with some histories and we believe we can walk further and do more for caring our guests like you and your family. We are aiming to great a home away from home to our guests.
Thank you for sharing, and hope we could have chance in the future to serve for you and your family again.
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
#10 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
5.6 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#6 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#29 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#82 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.