We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food&Beverage Gift Vouche
Ranked #29 of 2,169 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Aging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In a city with new hotels popping up every week it is will be hard for this hotel to compete.

I stayed here because I thought it is a good balance between closeness to city center and the high tech zone, where my office is. However the traffic in Xian is very bad during peak hours and also in the evenings when trying to get to the city center. I wouldn't recommend this location as a base for tourists.

My room was spacious with lots of wardrobe space, plenty of places to hang your clothes, but the decor is aging and may not appeal to those who likes comtemporary decor.

Everything else is fairly standard for a Sheraton hotel. We tried the bar, which has a live band almost every night.

Food wise, I tried room service and the club sandwich was decent, they even include a drink with main courses.

There is a very good Xian restaurant next to the hotel called Xi An Fan Zhuang, it is 50 meters east of the hotel on the same road, same side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Calfie,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience and hope you had a good trip in Xian.
As the first 5-star hotel in Xian,Sheraton Xian has over 20 years old. For these years we are trying to improve the facilities. If you would like the modern decor, I guess you could try our new club floors at 7-10th floor during your next stay. It will be nice and more benefits especially fit for business travelers.
Many appreciation for your compliment on our service and food, and thank for your recommendation on Shannxi local snack.
We are looking forward to serve you again.
Life will be better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    357
    125
    18
    7
See reviews for
54
90
20
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good location, friendly staff service. However, the beds are not comfortable and too small. It was very difficult to sleep comfortably for two adults and two young children in their SPG 2 bedroom. I thought all SPG rooms are supposed to have at least double beds. I was wrong.

Breakfast food was excellent. Loved the noodle bar!

Room Tip: Ask for the SPG rooms. They are supposed to have a higher standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing for stay experience with us. Many appreciation for your compliment on our staff and service. The SPG room actually is standard for 2 auldts at most plus 1 kid, so it is true that it is difficult for 4 persons. Thank you again for your sharing and support.
Share makes life better!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I recently spent a night at this hotel in Xian. I will tell you the staff was great and the room was very nice. I can not say anything about location or restaurants in the area as work took most of my time. I did get the chance to see the TerraCotta Museum which is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr.Gregory

Thank you so much for your recommendation about our hotel and staff. It is our honor that have a chance to serve for you. If you have another trip to Xian, you are really recommended to spend some time about trying the local food and snack, they are amazing.
Happy to see that you had a good time in Xian and we are looking forward to see you again.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of the city or a very new one but it was perfect for the one night we stayed there. The room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast spread was lavish and the service/staff excellent.
It is only a 10 minute ride to key night attractions like the Drum Towers (beautifully lit at night), the Moslem quarter (awesome night street with multiple local food options) and the bar street. In the mornings, the Xian city wall is also close, with nice information on the Silk routes as well as an option to bike around on the wall! My husband and I did double biking, it was so much fun! The Terracotta warriors museum is about an hour or so, being outside the city – amazing.

The city (and airport) is much bigger than we had imagined, with beautiful landscapes as you go outward. We could have easily spent another night here. Sheraton suited us very well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ms. ssmmiittaa,
Thank your for chosen Sheraton Xian Hotel and share your stay experience with us.
We can see you had a wonderful trip here in Xian, you really discovered the city in a professional way! Sheraton Xian Hotel has a very convenient location and you can access to key sightseeing from here easily. we have a very good service team and they are always highly appreciated by our guests.
Thank you again for your sharing and looking forward to serve for you next time,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Sheraton in the middle of China was a surprise gem for my wife and I while visiting Xian during a tour of China. Our room was luxurious and quite large. The staff members were very nice and many spoke English. This hotel provided a great Sanctuary to enjoy in the middle of a very busy tour.

The highlight though was the Club Lounge. If you have the money I would recommend the upgrade. You are greeted by a lovely hostess and this is the best Lounge that I can remember visiting. The evening food and beverage offerings were excellent and the breakfast was so good that we passed on the excellent buffet offered downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
Sounds like you had a very happy trip in Xian and a pleasant experience in Sheraton Xian Hotel, Many appreciation for sharing your story with us on trip advisor. The club room that you stayed was newly renovated, and the benefit to club lounge is really price worth. Our staffs are very helpful, you may already made many friends here.
Thank you again for your sharing and looking forward to see you next time, Sheraton Xian will always be your home away from home.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful relief to arrive at this Sheraton in Xian. The staff were welcoming and recognised us on subsequent meetings and completely attentive and efficient and the whole hotel sparkled with cleanliness and new decor.
Food fabulous - we experimented with eel and a whole duck and both were served with great ceremony and beautifully cooked.
Xian traffic is gridlocked and the only problem was getting taxis - the staff helpfully walked us to the bus stop when the taxi drivers said the traffic was too bad to come for the very low official fare they are allowed to charge, but when we were unimpressed with how packed the buses were the staff came up with a way of persuading the taxis to turn up.......
Overall recommendation - Insist on this hotel if you go to Xian!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Helen Hallpike,
Many many appreciation for you to write such a long story and happy to see you had a very impressed stay in Xi'an and in our hotel.
It is our honor to have such helpful and lovely staff that provides exclusive service and extra care to guests.
Sheraton Xian is a hotel with some histories and we believe we can walk further and do more for caring our guests like you and your family. We are aiming to great a home away from home to our guests.
Thank you for sharing, and hope we could have chance in the future to serve for you and your family again.
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of the city but it's in a nice tree lined street in what seemed to be a nice area - shopping plazas were about 6 - 7 blocks away and taxis are very easy and cheap to catch if you don't like walking. The hotel and amenities were excellent, the room well appointed and great condition - efficient cheap laundry service and and amazing breakfast buffet. If I were to return to Xian I would stay here again with out a doubt. The staff were amazing - there was one bell boy that rushed out after us when we went for a walk to make sure we had a hotel card and map and if we knew where we were going - so impressed and another day was presented with an umbrella as light showers were expected, we just felt so welcomed and special and safe at this hotel which is just what you need when in China.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road - but was quite and we got to watch the world from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear MrsM Ballarant,

Many appreciation for your such a highly comments about our Sheraton Xi'an Hotel. We are happy to see you spent a good time in Xi'an and our hotel.
Sheraton Xi'an hotel is one of the most historical 5 star hotel in Xi'an. History is not only means it is old, but also means it is experienced. We have a very experienced and professional service team and always keep up with the international 5 star service.
Our food is always highly recommended by our guests for the variety and good taste.
Thank you again for sharing your story and support, we are looking forwarded to see you next time

Life is better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#76 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.