We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in Xi'an” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off club room
Ranked #28 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 681 Reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Sheraton in the middle of China was a surprise gem for my wife and I while visiting Xian during a tour of China. Our room was luxurious and quite large. The staff members were very nice and many spoke English. This hotel provided a great Sanctuary to enjoy in the middle of a very busy tour.

The highlight though was the Club Lounge. If you have the money I would recommend the upgrade. You are greeted by a lovely hostess and this is the best Lounge that I can remember visiting. The evening food and beverage offerings were excellent and the breakfast was so good that we passed on the excellent buffet offered downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
Sounds like you had a very happy trip in Xian and a pleasant experience in Sheraton Xian Hotel, Many appreciation for sharing your story with us on trip advisor. The club room that you stayed was newly renovated, and the benefit to club lounge is really price worth. Our staffs are very helpful, you may already made many friends here.
Thank you again for your sharing and looking forward to see you next time, Sheraton Xian will always be your home away from home.
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    354
    122
    18
    7
See reviews for
53
87
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful relief to arrive at this Sheraton in Xian. The staff were welcoming and recognised us on subsequent meetings and completely attentive and efficient and the whole hotel sparkled with cleanliness and new decor.
Food fabulous - we experimented with eel and a whole duck and both were served with great ceremony and beautifully cooked.
Xian traffic is gridlocked and the only problem was getting taxis - the staff helpfully walked us to the bus stop when the taxi drivers said the traffic was too bad to come for the very low official fare they are allowed to charge, but when we were unimpressed with how packed the buses were the staff came up with a way of persuading the taxis to turn up.......
Overall recommendation - Insist on this hotel if you go to Xian!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Helen Hallpike,
Many many appreciation for you to write such a long story and happy to see you had a very impressed stay in Xi'an and in our hotel.
It is our honor to have such helpful and lovely staff that provides exclusive service and extra care to guests.
Sheraton Xian is a hotel with some histories and we believe we can walk further and do more for caring our guests like you and your family. We are aiming to great a home away from home to our guests.
Thank you for sharing, and hope we could have chance in the future to serve for you and your family again.
Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is not in the centre of the city but it's in a nice tree lined street in what seemed to be a nice area - shopping plazas were about 6 - 7 blocks away and taxis are very easy and cheap to catch if you don't like walking. The hotel and amenities were excellent, the room well appointed and great condition - efficient cheap laundry service and and amazing breakfast buffet. If I were to return to Xian I would stay here again with out a doubt. The staff were amazing - there was one bell boy that rushed out after us when we went for a walk to make sure we had a hotel card and map and if we knew where we were going - so impressed and another day was presented with an umbrella as light showers were expected, we just felt so welcomed and special and safe at this hotel which is just what you need when in China.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road - but was quite and we got to watch the world from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear MrsM Ballarant,

Many appreciation for your such a highly comments about our Sheraton Xi'an Hotel. We are happy to see you spent a good time in Xi'an and our hotel.
Sheraton Xi'an hotel is one of the most historical 5 star hotel in Xi'an. History is not only means it is old, but also means it is experienced. We have a very experienced and professional service team and always keep up with the international 5 star service.
Our food is always highly recommended by our guests for the variety and good taste.
Thank you again for sharing your story and support, we are looking forwarded to see you next time

Life is better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in August 2013. The location of the hotel is not too central, but a short taxi ride of 10 mins will take you to the Xian City Wall. If you look to stay in the center, not the hotel for you. The best thing about this hotel is the staff (efficient, kind and good level of English), the breakfast (buffet is that of a 5 star hotel) and the hotel lobby. As for the rooms, they are clean and with comfy beds but decor is a quite updated and would need some renovation. Bathroom was small too. Overall a four star hotel, but need some rooms renovation to keep the stars. Also used the gym and pool - great facilities but gym was a bit hot (AC seemed not to be working properly there).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Greetings ….
Thank you for choosing to stay in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.
Our breakfast has always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents.
We have a professional service team, hotel have been paid much attention on training our staff for english and delivery standard srvice to our guest.
Sheraton Xi'an hotel is one of the most historical 5 star hotel in xi'an with more than 20 years old history . these years we are keeping on updating our facilities, the newly renovated rooms, swiming pool and GYM are looking for providing more service to our guests.
And I have already contacted our team for the gym AC working problem, they will improve the condition and we are looking fowared to you next stay.
Life is better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, large comfortable room, the coffee press in the room was also highly appreciated. Breakfast is also brilliant and one is spoilt for choice.
Only complaint: its about time Five star hotels start offering Wifi access in the rooms for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay in Sheraton Xian Hotel and contribute your comments to us.
As the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China, Sheraton Xian Hotel is always working on improving hotel facilities. Our food has always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents.
We have already working on the WIFI whole building coverage and hope soon it will serve for our guests!
Life is better when shared! and looking forward to your next stay
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and was upgraded to a suite as a Platinum member.

The room was well appointed and well kept. It met and exceeded many of the US Starwoods properties in the US.

The hotel staff is one of the better ones I've encountered during our vacation across 5 cities in China. They all spoke English and were extremely helpful. On this trip my daughter got sick with a fever and a brief request at the front desk for pharmacy that sold Tylenol (which you need a prescription in China even for over the counter dosages) resulted in the front desk and the concierge greeting involved in helping me search for one even after I had returned to the hotel room. Further, I had problems connecting to the wifi from my room and a passing comment I made to the front desk resulted in them locating a router and installing it in my room.

Room Tip: Sheraton Lounge is excellent, nice and quiet with excellent breakfast choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.
Happy to see that our staff could help you and get all your problem solved.
We will keep working on improving our hotel facilities and providing more professional and personalized service for you and look forward to see you in future.
Life is better when shared!
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed there for one night only and requested a late check out and given a 1pm checkout without much fuss.

I believe the hotel is refurbished lately and as members of Starwood Hotels we were given room in the special floor reserved for members. So the floor looked a bit better decorated than the other floors.

Rooms were big and beds were of goo d quality. Service was very friendly at the reception.

Overall will recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Please take a swim cap when you visit China as all hotels will require one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Daer Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoy your SPG benefits in our newly renovated floors. The sweet sleeper bed is one of our Sheration Core products.
We will keep working on improving our hotel facilities and providing more professional and personalized service for you and look forward to see you in future.

Life is better when shared!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#78 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.