We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrival started off poorly but customer service (Sophie He) and the awesome room won us over!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off club room
Ranked #26 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Arrival started off poorly but customer service (Sophie He) and the awesome room won us over!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First off, I chose the Sheraton Xian mainly because I'm a gold SPG member and I'm a points junkie and wanted free internet! Our room was super reasonable when booked back in the US for roughly $120 a night so how could we go wrong. Well, we arrived to Xian just a day after landing in Shanghai, exhausted and jet lagged. We arrived at the requisite afternoon check-in time only to find the place dimly lit and both staff and customers frantically pacing around. The check-in took a bit but I came with a large party so it's understandable. I later find out that power to the hotel and the surrounding area was blacked out until 6pm. Construction and power outages in the middle of the day, welcome to China! The hotel as I found out was running on generators and only basic power was available, hence the frantic customers!

We finally got to our rooms and to our dismay the rooms that we were assigned had not been cleaned out! Without power, a clean room, no shower and jet-lagged, we were in quite a bad mood to say the least! I stormed downstairs ready to raise hell and before I could chew off a few ears, in stepped Ms. Sophie He (don't recall her title but I believe she was the manager/dept head) and she apologized for the inconvenience and offered us the first clean room which happened to be on the executive level. To top that off, she had a nice fruit platter sent to our room. Certainly, this gesture didn't cost the hotel big $$$'s but the attention to customer service won us over. There is definitely something to be said about customer service in the travel industry. The airline industry should learn a thing or two about handling customer complaints. I certainly will be staying loyal to Sheraton and SPG for all future bookings.

Now back to the room itself. We got a spacious king bed that was heavenly!! The room was super spacious and had a relaxing couch and sitting area. Internet access was a bit slow but probably because multiple people were leaching onto the free wifi in the neighboring areas. The bathrooms were immaculate and the towels were unbelievable soft (must have OD'd on fabric softener). My son stayed wrapped in his towel for the longest time!

All in all, this could have been a 2-3 star rating that was converted to a 5 star rating all by the stellar customer service of an already great property. We'll definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Book ahead and online to get the best deals! This is the best property to stay in Xian hands down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Greetings Livetotravel2000:

Greetings Geoffoster,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Please accept our sincere appologize for the power-off and any inconviance that had caused. We are keeping improve our service standard and hope to provide our guest with more professional and personlized service. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    355
    122
    18
    7
See reviews for
53
87
20
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was very much impressed by this hotel, mainly for the beautiful rooms and other interior spaces. The colors and quality of the materials used for the interior decorations are exceptional: wood panelling, black, yellow and sepia marmors are used, giving an impression of warmth and harmony rarely found. The rooms are of nice proportions and of adequate size. Everything you may need is at your disposal in the room and ensuite bathroom.
The breakfast is a great experience with a large amount of chinese and western dishes.
The location is excellent, only a couple of km from the walled city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Greetings raobert,

Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.

Our breakfast buffet has always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents.

Hope you can come back again and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Xian Hotel!

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this Sheraton several times when visiting Xian and have never been disappointed. The rooms are up to Sheraton quality standard and restaurants serve a wide variety of western/chinese foods. It is located just outside the city walls so the traffic is not a hectic as found inside the city walled area.

The gym is set up with a good selection of treadmill, bike, and free weights which you can get a decent work out in the morning. There was no swimming pool and the sauna/spa was only open in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Come in Spring or Fall time for personal visit since the weather in winter can be brutal. Air quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings Lazla:

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us!

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and felt comfortable in our hotel. We will keep working on improving our hotel facilities and providing more professional and personalized service for you!

Our Gym well known as"Sheraton Fitness Programmed by Core® Performance". The Sheraton fitness program was created in partnership with world-renowned personal training experts Core Performance to keep guests at their peak at all times. You can take part in state-of-the-art fitness centers, specialized in-room and restaurant dining options, a custom website with online fitness programs and more.

And our swimming pool is under constraction for now, and appreciate for your understanding of this issue. The swimming pool is expected to be finished at this spring, next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Food great, service good, checkout slow, bed awesome, bathroom old and shower terrible, good value for 700 rmb per night and I cannot understand why they cannot have reverse cycle air conditioning as the temperature in the bedroom was so hot and non adjusting. Plus windows could not open to let fresh air in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings Geoffoster,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expection.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Please accept our sincere appologize for any services shortfalls and also we're upgrading not only our facilities but also our service standard from time to time to serve our guest better. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Grossa, PR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just arrived from china and stayed at sheraton xian..great food and service bit a little far from everywhere interesting.The rooms are a bit dates and there is no wifi just at the lobby.Do not go to a " Western style" restaurant just across the street,that is a dark and smoky place, no one speaks English and it ran out of many kinds of food.Prefer to dine at the hotel's restaurant because it is delicious and inexpensive for the food quality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings blondcybu:

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Xian Hotel to be your staying place when you visiting the city. Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

We will keep working on improving our hotel facilities and providing more professional and personalized service for you. And our restaurants have always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents. Hope you can come back again and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Xian Hotel!
Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three days in June 2012 on a business trip. Its a nice property in the one of the oldest city in China famous for its Terra Cotta Warriors Museum - which claimed as the eighth wonder on the earth. Rooms are big, clean and well maintained. In my room, there was a lounge available with a full view to outside. Staff behaviour is very polite and polished with english speaking knowledge. Please ask for a room on front side for better view of hotel entrance gate which I found very nice. Hotel is conveniently located well within city close to the local attractions as restuarants, residents exercise centre on left square of the hotel, muslim street, city wall, bell tower, tang dynasty theatre and other local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for the Indian Punjabi Restaurant in town see Mausoleum of the First Qin Emperor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings sinha_ravi:

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Xian Hotel to be your staying place when you visiting the city. We are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for taking time to share your experience. Sheraton Xian Hotel has premium location, adjacent to the West Second Ring Road, offers serenity yet only minutes away from the city centre as well as the new Xi’an developing Zone of High Technology Industries.

We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Staff are caring & very helpful. they provided the best option/suggestion.
Close to most of the important places/location in Xi'a.
Neat & clean rooms. Rooms are quite being in very busy locaton.

Dinner buffet had good spread (for vegis also). BF has neat spread. They guided the best way to travel during busy hrs & lean hrs. Excelent hotel... want to plan a longer stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Greetings Mouli_Prabha,

Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.

Our dinner buffet has always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents. And our swimming pool is under constraction for now, and is expected to open at early this year, hopefully next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Hope you can come back again and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Xian Hotel!

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#73 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.