We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with friendly service, but not the cheapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with friendly service, but not the cheapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Overall nice hotel, good bar and service. Staff tried hard to please and deliver although it was hard at times to make ourselves understood. Restaurant service was not great and service was confused. We ended up paying more for 1 night in xian than 4 nights in Beijing

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Greetings Timandjesus ,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expection.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Please accept our sincere appologize for any services shortfalls and also we're upgrading not only our facilities but also our service standard from time to time to serve our guest better. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    364
    129
    20
    7
See reviews for
57
94
22
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Sheraton in Xi'an and was a bit disappointed in this hotel. First impressions are great -- it looks very impressive and the rooms are very well appointed. But there seem to be some construction quality issues behind the good looks -- as just one example, I think everyone on our tour reported that their shower flooded their entire bathroom. I was supposed to be in a non-smoking room, but my room had a definite smoke-odour and there seemed to be smoke coming through the vents or something from another room.
The breakfast buffet was fine (not the best on the trip, but certainly good selection) and the pool was also very nice. The lobby was very spacious and a good place to use the free lobby wifi.
The hotel is located outside the city wall and if I was going to be spending any time on my own in Xi'an, I think I'd prefer to be inside the wall. There didn't seem to be much in the immediate area of the hotel, although there is a street market located a block behind the hotel which was moderately interesting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Greetings schweiz2816,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Brand Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. There are 2 Sheraton hotels in Xi'an city, one is us, Sheraton Xian Hotel; the other is Sheraton Xian North City Hotel. Our swimming pool is under construction now, and is expected to be finished at the end of this year, next time when you come back to Xi'an City, please choose our hotel, and you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you want to pay a good price and stay in a very decent hotel, Sheraton is your place. Do not expect a 5 star treatment from the staff (that will struggle to speak in english with you), but they try to be kind all the time. Rooms are very spacious and the restaurant is nice. By the time I was there, the President of Brazil (Ms. Dilma) and her staff were all in the hotel - which obliged us to face a huge security screening before entering the hotel.

Negative aspect: there is nothing to do on walking distances. You will have to take a cab to go to the old town, which will take around 15 minutes if the traffic is ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Greetings akiakola,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expection.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Please accept our sincere appologize for any services shortfalls and also we're upgrading not only our facilities but also our service standard from time to time to serve our guest better. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.


Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After an awful night on a disgusting sleeper train from Beijing, this hotel was a most welcome antidote. It had all the facilities you'd expect BUT the pool was closed during our stay. Positives: very comfortable room; super breakfast; friendly staff. Negatives: nothing major. As an aside, Xi-an is much more than just the nearest city to the Terracotta Army site. The city walls are spectacular and the big pagoda is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Greetings brandreth16,

Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.

Our swimming pool is under constraction for now, and appreciate for your understanding of this issue. The swimming pool is expected to be finished at the end of this year, next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand!

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is not within the city wall, however, we stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The city wall is not far from the hotel, just a few minutes taxi ride and you are there.

Our room was nice and clean. The staff are all very friendly especially Angelin, who checked us in. She is all smiles, very polite and always helpful, and seems to be on duty whenever we approached the reception for some help or information.

The buffet is great with lots of choices for both breakfast & dinner and is quite reasonably priced. Opera cake in the lobby lounge is really good, we ate it 2 nights in a row.

We would stay here again if we are in Xian and would recommend this hotel to people who does not mind staying outside the old city wall

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Greetings AlleyOopDinosaur

We thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay. Also, thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received from Angelin - this is how you should feel warm and connected at Sheraton Xian Hotel. We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed spending time in our lobby lounge which with our delicious Opera Cake. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Xian.

Life is Better When Shared.

Warmest regards,

Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Xi'an hotel just a few days ago for a 2 night stay to a visit the Terracotta museum. We stayed in one of the SPG floors and as mentioned in other reviews, the bedroom/bathroom may not have a modern feel, but was more than adequate.

This hotel is outside the city walls and is about a 16RMB taxi fare from the older railway station. Upon checkin, the staff were very warm and friendly, even sharing some travel advice on what sights to see within the city walls. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and again, the staff were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The food was quite decent as well and the breakfast buffet had a large selection to choose from. We also used their laundry service and it was returned on the same day as expected, nicely folded and trousers hanging in the closet. Upon checkout, they noticed that I waited for just a couple minutes and sincerely apologised for my wait. And even the final taxi back to the train station, the bellboy staff fetching the taxi were warm and friendly and kept us entertained by small talk and made sure our stay met all our expectations. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Xi'an.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Greetings dvsfore:

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay here and look forward to see you in future. Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, wa USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Xi'an is a smoggy and big city. The Sheraton Xi'an is located outside the center of town. The hotel rooms were nicely appointed and the bathrooms were very nice. The buffet was excellent. It is not too far from the Terra Cotta Warriors museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Greetings Njackson:

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay here and look forward to see you in future. Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#29 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#79 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.