We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food&Beverage Gift Vouche
Ranked #39 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you want to pay a good price and stay in a very decent hotel, Sheraton is your place. Do not expect a 5 star treatment from the staff (that will struggle to speak in english with you), but they try to be kind all the time. Rooms are very spacious and the restaurant is nice. By the time I was there, the President of Brazil (Ms. Dilma) and her staff were all in the hotel - which obliged us to face a huge security screening before entering the hotel.

Negative aspect: there is nothing to do on walking distances. You will have to take a cab to go to the old town, which will take around 15 minutes if the traffic is ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Greetings akiakola,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that the hotel did not meet your expection.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Please accept our sincere appologize for any services shortfalls and also we're upgrading not only our facilities but also our service standard from time to time to serve our guest better. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.


Life is Better When Shared.

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    361
    127
    19
    7
See reviews for
56
93
21
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After an awful night on a disgusting sleeper train from Beijing, this hotel was a most welcome antidote. It had all the facilities you'd expect BUT the pool was closed during our stay. Positives: very comfortable room; super breakfast; friendly staff. Negatives: nothing major. As an aside, Xi-an is much more than just the nearest city to the Terracotta Army site. The city walls are spectacular and the big pagoda is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Greetings brandreth16,

Thanks you for choosing to staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay with us and look forward to see you in future.

Our swimming pool is under constraction for now, and appreciate for your understanding of this issue. The swimming pool is expected to be finished at the end of this year, next time when you come back to our hotel, you will enjoy the fantastic swimming pool that we had.

Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand!

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is not within the city wall, however, we stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed our stay. The city wall is not far from the hotel, just a few minutes taxi ride and you are there.

Our room was nice and clean. The staff are all very friendly especially Angelin, who checked us in. She is all smiles, very polite and always helpful, and seems to be on duty whenever we approached the reception for some help or information.

The buffet is great with lots of choices for both breakfast & dinner and is quite reasonably priced. Opera cake in the lobby lounge is really good, we ate it 2 nights in a row.

We would stay here again if we are in Xian and would recommend this hotel to people who does not mind staying outside the old city wall

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Greetings AlleyOopDinosaur

We thank you for staying with us, we are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay. Also, thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received from Angelin - this is how you should feel warm and connected at Sheraton Xian Hotel. We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed spending time in our lobby lounge which with our delicious Opera Cake. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Xian.

Life is Better When Shared.

Warmest regards,

Sheraton Xian Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Xi'an hotel just a few days ago for a 2 night stay to a visit the Terracotta museum. We stayed in one of the SPG floors and as mentioned in other reviews, the bedroom/bathroom may not have a modern feel, but was more than adequate.

This hotel is outside the city walls and is about a 16RMB taxi fare from the older railway station. Upon checkin, the staff were very warm and friendly, even sharing some travel advice on what sights to see within the city walls. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and again, the staff were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The food was quite decent as well and the breakfast buffet had a large selection to choose from. We also used their laundry service and it was returned on the same day as expected, nicely folded and trousers hanging in the closet. Upon checkout, they noticed that I waited for just a couple minutes and sincerely apologised for my wait. And even the final taxi back to the train station, the bellboy staff fetching the taxi were warm and friendly and kept us entertained by small talk and made sure our stay met all our expectations. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Xi'an.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Greetings dvsfore:

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay here and look forward to see you in future. Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, wa USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Xi'an is a smoggy and big city. The Sheraton Xi'an is located outside the center of town. The hotel rooms were nicely appointed and the bathrooms were very nice. The buffet was excellent. It is not too far from the Terra Cotta Warriors museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Greetings Njackson:

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasent stay here and look forward to see you in future. Hope you can come back again to us and experience the consistent high quality of service of Sheraton Brand.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Everyone goes to Xian for the Terracotta soldiers, right? As Starwood members, the Sheraton was the easy choice. We used our Starwood points therefore can't comment on hotel price.

Service, atmosphere, rooms were average. The city itself is dusty and gritty so set your expectations. We ate at the lobby buffet restaurant for dinner and breakfast...both food and service were good.

No air conditioning in the rooms when we visited (in December). I know, I know, it is beyond cold in Xian in the winter. But it would have been nice to have some cold air circulating/refreshing the dry warm air once a day.

Overall, the hotel served it purposes. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Greetings half-life2,

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.

Sheraton Xian Hotel was the fist international 5-star hotel in North-West China. We are always improving our hotel facilities and service, and it is indeed regrettable that you departed with the hotel not having met your expectations.

Please accept our sincere appologize for any services shortfalls and also we're upgrading our facilities from time to time to serve our guest better. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Xi'an, China.

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The room was nice, complete and clean. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.

Upon check-in it turned out there was some mix up with the reservation. The hotel was generous enough to offer a complimentary upgrade to a room on the 17-th floor, one of the two floors for their preferred guests. One of the benefits on these floors is free internet access. Otherwise there is a 50 RMB daily charge. Although there was no charge for me this time, I think a hotel with this kind of status should not let guests pay for a basic need like internet access. I know there is free Wi-Fi in the lobby, but that is not really a practical option.

One can tell the hotel has been around for a while, but it is well maintained. The room I had was small, but complete, clean and nicely decorated. It had a mini-bar, water boiler, the typical two free bottles of water, a desk, flat screen TV, etc.

The desk did not have a good chair though and was not suitable to work at for an extend period of time. I think an adjustable office chair should be part of the standard furniture.

There was also a safe and my 15" laptop fitted, but only barely. You really had to carefully navigate it into the safe and have nothing else in it while putting it in or taking it out.

Internet access worked fine, but keep in mind there is no Wi-Fi. Unless you bring your own wireless router, it means your smartphone won't be able to go on line for example. It also forces one to sit at the desk when working on a laptop and that is not really a pleasure.

The bathroom was small, but had the usual amenities. Nowadays a rain shower can be found in many higher profile hotels, but not in this one. Not a big deal of course, but it shows this hotel may be getting behind regarding features.

Due to time constraints I had continental breakfast in the room, but can not recommend this. The price is too high for what is offered. The breakfast buffet is more extensive, but pricey. It offers quite some choices for Asian and Western food, including eggs cooked to order and speciality coffee like cappuccino.

The location of the hotel isn't all that great. It is at a typical busy and noisy Chinese street lined with mostly very small shops, local restaurants and banks. I couldn't find a nearby supermarket. The city wall is not really within walking distance either, but it is quite easy taking a taxi to it. Getting a taxi to go back may be a little harder, but that also depends on the time of the day of course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonXian, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Greeting TravelOften4B:

Thank you for staying in Sheraton Xian Hotel and sharing your experince with us. We really appreciate for your long review and the shortfall we had for now, and we do appologize that the hotel did not meet your expection.

Sheraton Xian Hotel as the first international 5-star hotel in North-West China is always working on improving hotel facilities. Our hotel management team and related department had aware about the issues and will working on it to provide more professional and personalized service to you!

Once Again, thank you for your suggestions and hope we can have you back in Sheraton Xian Hotel!

Life is better when shared!

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.262 Fenghao East Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710077, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#28 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#81 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Xi'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi
Xi An Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.