We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an

Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an
No.165 Wenyun North Road, Xi'an, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 53 Reviews
Attraction details
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to this as part of our china tour, to be honest we were not expecting to enjoy the evening. We enjoyed the meal, some of the dumplings we really tasty. The show was after the meal and was actually good with some dancers then musicians. There were drinks and ice creams available to purchase.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“do not miss this show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

what a wonderful performance and tunes by authentic opera singers accompanied by authentic orchestra and maestro you feel like you've been dragged to the time where it all happened a great illustration of the emperor's era. it was the highlight of our trip to XIAN, do not miss it and don't forget to buy the CD

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is not the original Tang Dynasty dance. It's a much cheaper dance show but hotels charge you the same fees. Do not pay the standard 220 yen for show ticket or 550 dinner with show.

The REAL Tang Dynasty palace dynasty dance theatre is on Chang 'an road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Not Cheesy After All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're like me and you hear the words "dinner show" you immediately think "Vegas" and "cheesy" and "ain't gonna happen". So I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the dinner show at the Shaanxi Grand Opera House, which I was rather reluctantly talked into.

The dumplings which were served were nothing to write home about (we live in China, so we know good dumplings if nothing else) but they were more than passable and there was quite a interesting variety of them. The service was very quick and efficient if not overly friendly or solicitous. So the dinner part was all perfectly acceptable, if a little uninspired.

But the show part was surprisingly enjoyable! The stage settings were lovely and the costumes were gorgeous -- everything in beautiful, vibrant colors! It really was like a Vegas show, but one of the really good ones. It was way more professional than I was expecting, to be honest. And at about an hour long, with another half-hour or so for dinner, it was a very nice evening that didn't drag on too long.

The price was not cheap, but it was very reasonable. We were well-fed and very entertained, so nothing to complain about.

Never thought I would be saying this, but I would definitely recommend it -- go see the Tang Dynasty dinner show!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The dumplings and generally the food was very good.The show is fantastic, so colourful and interesting, you dont get bored at all. I would suggest it to anyone visiting China

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an also viewed

 

Been to Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.