We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an

Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an
No.165 Wenyun North Road, Xi'an, China
029-87853294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 319 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is not the original Tang Dynasty dance. It's a much cheaper dance show but hotels charge you the same fees. Do not pay the standard 220 yen for show ticket or 550 dinner with show.

The REAL Tang Dynasty palace dynasty dance theatre is on Chang 'an road.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not Cheesy After All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you're like me and you hear the words "dinner show" you immediately think "Vegas" and "cheesy" and "ain't gonna happen". So I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the dinner show at the Shaanxi Grand Opera House, which I was rather reluctantly talked into.

The dumplings which were served were nothing to write home about (we live in China, so we know good dumplings if nothing else) but they were more than passable and there was quite a interesting variety of them. The service was very quick and efficient if not overly friendly or solicitous. So the dinner part was all perfectly acceptable, if a little uninspired.

But the show part was surprisingly enjoyable! The stage settings were lovely and the costumes were gorgeous -- everything in beautiful, vibrant colors! It really was like a Vegas show, but one of the really good ones. It was way more professional than I was expecting, to be honest. And at about an hour long, with another half-hour or so for dinner, it was a very nice evening that didn't drag on too long.

The price was not cheap, but it was very reasonable. We were well-fed and very entertained, so nothing to complain about.

Never thought I would be saying this, but I would definitely recommend it -- go see the Tang Dynasty dinner show!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The dumplings and generally the food was very good.The show is fantastic, so colourful and interesting, you dont get bored at all. I would suggest it to anyone visiting China

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful and colourful show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The auditorium was done up as a restaurant where all visitors had a "dumplings feast" before the show which was really great music and dance!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dumpling banquet would probably have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately, our tour had us eat from another buffet...I think I would have enjoyed the dumpling banquet more. The sets of the costumes for the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance were exquisite. The best part was leaving the theater and seeing the lights on the ancient city wall.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an also viewed

 

Been to Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaanxi Grand Opera House Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.