We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting combination of coffee and tea house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavazza Cafe Espresso

Lavazza Cafe Espresso
10 Meters West of Great Mosque Entrance, Xi'an, China
13992822206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,597 Restaurants in Xi'an
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Description: Centrally located Xian Lavazza Cafe Espresso is the number one choice for travelers coming to Xian for its wonderful location, great coffee and local chinese tea, and cheap tours. Whether Xian is your final destination or just a stop along the way let our fully licensed in-house travel agency guide you in your discovery of Xi'an.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Interesting combination of coffee and tea house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

the good: it's just next to the mosque and the bazaar, if you want to escape the crowds. The place is quiet, clean with friendly staff who speak good english and Chinese and can give you all sorts of cultural advice (from tea to history facts).

the bad: maybe it was a single case, but I got my espresso in a cold cup (which made the espresso cold, while it should be drank hot). They didn't quite understand, however they immediately offered to make me a new one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not a CAFE, If you want coffee & advice, good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We read all the good reviews so decided to give this CAFE a try.
It seems to me this small coffee shop gets good ratings from westerners who enjoy the company of those who have good comprehension skills, offer local tourist advice when asked & stock good coffee's & tea.
I didn't see any evidence of any real food or a menu, but I was offered Haggen Daz ice cream bars from the freezer.
Jessica was very amiable & friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quality coffee? Excellent local tea? Generous and caring service? This is the place to come in Xian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The hustle and bustle of the Muslim Quarter is a must when visiting Xian, and so is a visit to Jessica Lee's Lavazza Cafe and Tea House, just left of the Mosque as you exit it. As well as quality tea, coffee and free wifi, you are in excellent and caring hands with the owner (a former tour guide)- Jessica. As well as being a friendly face she was a great resource, helping us to find antiques, TCM clinics, and anything else we needed help with. Support Jessica and find a welcoming home away from home while in Xian!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best cup of Tea in China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Travellers take note - If you want good service and a great cup of tea or coffee - this IS the place to go to in Xian. An amazing find in the middle of all the mayhem, totally unexpected and a pleasure to be able to rest the feet and enjoy a really good cup of tea. Jessica was a very patient and generous host and was happy to spend time with all her customers and speaking very good English was a font of local knowledge. Will try and get back there before we leave for the tea ceremony.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Lovelly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just 10m west of the entrance to the Grand Mosque Lavazza Caffe Expresso was a great find.

Great coffee, pleasant atmosphere, and a very pleasant Jessica who has a very good command of the English language.

A great place to rest the feet, have a great coffee and do a bit of internet action on the free Wi-Fi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavazza Cafe Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Lavazza Cafe Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavazza Cafe Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.