We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Holiday in Xi'An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Xi'an

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Xi'an to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Middle Section, Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“Short Holiday in Xi'An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had 3 wonderful nights is Crowne Plaza, the Hotel is very neat and clean, everything is properly organized. The breakfast and dinner meet all the standard of expectations. The staff is very friendly, cooperative, warm and willing to help their guests. Most of the staff member can communicate in English. The hotel is located in heart of Xi'An and that is a really plus point. The rooms are big and nice decorated. We will definitely choose Crown Plaza for our next stay in Xi'An (Guest Tariq Ahmad)

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    58
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
38
65
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights recently on Reward Points - paid the difference to upgrade to a Club room and was given a suite, which was great. Well worth it as the lounge includes a good breakfast selection, free soft drinks etc throughout the day and happy 2 hours in the evening with nice selection of drink and food. You really don't need to go anyway else to eat or drink.
Service was excellent throughout - good English by the different staff we met and we were very well looked after. Maria and her team in the Club Lounge were brilliant and made us feel extra welcome - my wife loves the little handmade tiger she gave me to take home.
The hotel is a little bit outside of the old city but not a problem if you a doing a tour as its a great base.
If I ever go back to Xi'an then will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: The higher the better and make full use of the Club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, today
Dear guest, thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Xi'an as your accommodation, and share with us your experience while staying with us. We are so glad to know that you had a great time. Look forward to your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

CROWNE PLAZA XIAN
It can be easy to get caught up in exaggeration when writing a review but our stay at the Crowne Plaza in Xian in April 2015 really defied that tendency, and in a good way.

My wife and I have travelled a lot, in a lot of places, and I think we could both say after five nights here that we would be hard-pressed to come up with a hotel as good as this one.

The staff really set this hotel apart, from the welcome we received from Emily, the service director, through to the concierge staff—Jacky Liu and Karry Liang—oour excellent driver Jacky Chan, and the capable and friendly restaurant staff and the meticulous cleaning staff, everyone seemed to make it their mission to make us feel like home. There were sufficient numbers of staff who could handle English.

Beyond the excellent service, our room was large with lots of space to unpack and settle. The bathroom was large with a tub and shower. The room was quiet. The aircon worked as it should. There were enough plugs to charge phones and tablets and cameras. Internet speed was poor but as I understand, that’s largely the fault of the Great Firewall more than bad WiFi.

Room service was good and the menu was sufficiently varied; the few miscues were quickly corrected. The main lobby restaurant was good enough, and the breakfast buffet was generous and varied, although some more dim sum items would have been well received. The main restaurant, strangely named Made in Palace, was good. And we enjoyed our welcome drinks in the sky-top bar on the 57th (?) floor, the Crowne Plaza being the tallest building in Xian (which, city planners take note, gives picturesque views over the smog).

All in all, we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest, thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Xi'an as your accommodation in Xi'an, and sharing your precious reviews with us. We are so glad to get your kindly comments with so many details, and we feel honored to provide excellent service for you. We hope to get your continuous support, and welcome to Crowne Plaza Xi'an again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here during a 5 day business trip last year.

Despite of its world wide known brand, the first impression was that of a cheap hotel (they offered an low priced "all-you-can-eat" menu during lunch hours). But the real surprise came up when I got into the room for the first time and noticed the hair in the bathtub and on the pillows. I made a report at the reception stuff and they sent someone to clean up.
As on the surrounding area, there are not many things to see. There is a shopping center nearby with some filthy restaurants I would not recommend to anyone.

The historic attractions (big goose pagoda, terracotta warriors, Xingqing) are quite away and you can reach them by a taxi (this is also an adventure, as the taxi drivers often refuse to take you, but this is off topic).

Room Tip: try to choose a top floor, as you can get a nice night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest ionutgabriel, thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Xi'an as your accommodation while you travel to this ancient city, and sparing your precious time to share with all your experience here. We are glad to know your overall review topic is "Decent Hotel", and we are also feel so sorry some details we didn't achieve perfect standard, which cause your unsatisfied feel about us. Still thank for your kindly comments. We are looking forward your next coming, which you can tell our concierge staff to arrange the taxi service in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Outside the walled area Xi'an seems to be a concrete jungle and this hotel is a huge tower seeming to rise out of it. Beautifully appointed rooms, quite, lots of facilities, everything you could imagine and actually not expensive (maybe it is for Xi'an).
I needed help to get to Terracotta warriors and to recharge my mobile phone and the concierge (Jackie) made a big effort to get the result.
The dinner buffet was a tad disappointing for westerner; don't leave it too late or a lot of good stuff is gone. Offset by head guy Sky giving me big discount, a nice touch.
Breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about, although I did get fresh oatmeal porridge made one day.

Room Tip: probably higher better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dearest guest, thanks for choosing us as your accommodation in Xi'an, and take your time to write the comments which will be useful for other tourists. We are so glad to know you satisfied with our service, and your praise for Concierge staff Jackies, we gonna pass your reviews to him, we trust it will encourage him to give excellent performance in future. Thanks again for your comments, we are looking forward your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 7nights in April in room 4517 Club floor room on 45:th floor.

We have a good stay from the start, check in was very smooth, room was Clean, good beds, nice bathroom, We had breakfast twice in the Club floor lounge, there was plenty of choices, but the breakfast buffet in main restaurant was even better with alot of choices ( even too many things).

We liked the location, its about 25-30 minutes walk to the City Wall ( Taxi 5-8 min), 45-60 minutes to Muslim Street ( Taxi 15-20). we only used taxi a few times, it is a nice walk when the weather is nice.

Club floor lounge was Amazing, specially during happy hour in the evening.

Indoor pool is also great used it every day!

Cleanliness on the hotel overall is very good.

All the staff we met was so nice to us, but specially the Girls and boys in the Club Lounge.


Theres only one thing to complain about : WIFI is very slow all over the hotel, but for us its not a big problem.

Room Tip: Club Floor Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dearest guest, thank you very much for choosing us as your accommodation, and sparing your time to share with the experience you had here. We are pleased to know that you had a great time while staying with us, and your comments are so specific that help our potential guests to learn more about Crowne Plaza Xi'an, and nice guide for those guests who plan to travel to Xi'an. Thank you again for the reviews, we are looking forward your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After traveling for some time and using the more Boutique type hotels we we found Crowne Plaza to be just what we needed. Particularly after another frightening Chinese taxi ride!!! It is a beautiful 5 star hotel, very new and modern and has everything you need. The staff were very friendly, check in was very efficient and our room was wonderful.
There was a 2 for 1 deal at the restaurant - Zhuque Cafe - and the food was both plentiful and delicious. (Whatever you wanted) Breakfast was in the same restaurant (Zhuque Cafe)
every morning - a huge variance of dishes - western and asian.
We took a trip up to B&G51 bar on the 51st floor and that is well worth doing. The glass elevator gives you an amazing view out over xi'an. The bar entrance is quite lavish and then walk up another level to the bar - the views are excellent.
Would definitely stay here again if we should ever decide to return to Xi'an.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-XIAN, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Xi'an, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dearest guest, thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Xi'an as your accommodation, and take your precious time to share with all your experience while staying with us. We are so glad to know you write every details you had here, and make a positive comments on us. We are looking forward your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Xi'an

Address: No.1 Middle Section, Zhuque Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#67 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.