We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the soup dumplings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jia San Guan Tang Baozi

Jia San Guan Tang Baozi
93 Bei Yuan Men, Xi'an, China
029-87257507
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: 150 Meters North of Drum Tower in Xi'an in Moslem Quarter
Restaurant details
Description: 150 Meters North of Drum Tower in Xi'an in Moslem Quarter
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Loved the soup dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was taken to eat here by my guide while in Xi'an to try the soup dumplings and they were excellent. I did not have any of the other food while there so I cannot comment that but the dumplings were great. I tried the beef and the lamb dumplings and loved them. Had seconds on the lamb. Would definitly go back if in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We tried all the different dumplings & they passed the kids test! Kids loved it! I thought they were pretty average but the other food we ordered were delicious. We ordered buckwheat noodles, fried rice and beef skewers. Be prepared for it to be spicy! We loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

was so delicious. we haven't more time,but we need to taste amazing jia san 's dumblings. we was so glad. must try it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We ordered dumplings and lamb leg. Dumplings were not good and they mixed up our order. My partner had order cold noodles and lamb and it was ok. The place itself is pretty cool though: metal tables in 3 long rows and they sited us next to another couple we shared a table with. Interesting Chinese experience after all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would love to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If only the dumplings were as good as advertised. Not bad, but not up to what we'd been led to expect. However, I had the best eggplant dish of my life. Smothered in hot peppers, spicy and fantastic. Likewise with other dishes we tried. Spicy, left my lips tingling, but not so hot as to spoil the meal. If you like spicy Mexican, you'll like it here. One dish of beef skewers were flavored with cumin and peppers and reminded me of Texas Red chilli. Little to no English, but there are photos on the menus. The number 93 is small and on the left side of the front. We found the plum juice a bit on the sweet side but interesting. Photos of famous Muslim visitors line the stairs and give a feeling of authenticity. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jia San Guan Tang Baozi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jia San Guan Tang Baozi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.