We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azur

Azur
No.319 Dong Xin Street, Hotel Sofitel Xian, Xi'an 710004, China
029-87928888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,520 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place has a great buffet. We enjoy a breakfast here and dinner. The choices were varied and all of the food was fresh,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Better than your average hotel buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I ate here twice during our stay at the Sofitel. Our impression is based on eating the buffet here and the buffet only. We do not normally eat at buffets but due to our travel schedules, it was the only think that we could get to eat at the time. It really wasn't that bad either - we went back another time! There is plenty of options but clearly an 'international menu', i.e. no real focus but each thing was pretty delicious. Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, grilled meat and fish, fresh salads, fresh fruit, juices, chocolate desserts. It is a little pricey for what it is - but then hotel buffets usually are. Having said that, you could do plenty worse. If you are in a hurry or you are staying here for a business conference and they are ushering you to the buffet, don't despair. You are not going to have the best meal you've ever had but you're not going to eat anything truly awful either. The bounty of choice stands out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“enjoyed thoroughly after travelling in N. Xinjiang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

had dinner buffet and breakfast buffet. Not perfect, but trying to be one. For dinner my friend had Japanese sashimi Octopus and squid sushi, which were surprisingly very good. I had some grilled oyster, mussel, and scallops with consumme by the cook. Coffee is acceptable. There is also free internet in the sofitel hotel. Recommended even at price of about 278 RMB per person for dinner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Extremely expensive . About $50US a head from memory. It was amazing,incredible choices of western and Chinese and Japanese dishes but after enjoying cheaper local meals this was a shock. Recommended but a shock at the cost. Excellent if you need a "western fix" after traveling in china for a while

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The breakfast and dinner buffets are superb with tastes from all over the world. With the wait staff being extremely attentive

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.