We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for a Budget Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hantang House
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good for a Budget Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are traveling on a budget then this is the perfect place for you! The rooms are quite clean and comfortable, exactly what you would expect for the price. There is also a nice bar/restaurant that seemed to be routinely filled with other travelers. We rather enjoyed the breakfast each morning and being able to enjoy a cold drink in the evening upon return. However, the best thing about Hantang is its location. You are a 10-15 minutes walk away from the Bell and Drum Towers and also Muslin Street, a popular place to get food and buy small trinkets. You can also easily walk to the Old Town Wall (20+ minutes) where you can rent a bike and take a loop around the wall.

Hantang also provides many convenient services for its guests at reasonable prices such as day trips to the Terra Cotta Warriors, trips to Huashan, train tickets to on-ward destinations, airport transportation, etc... These are not free services, but they are convenient. We joined a day trip to the Terra Cotta Warriors with other Hantang guests, which was a bit touristy, but hey, any trip to see the Terra Cotta Warriors is going to be a bit touristy. Our only complaint was that the guides English was not great, a little difficult to understand at times.

My only caution is that while in Xi'an, especially around the Bell and Drum Towers, be very careful with your belongings. Xi'an is famous for its pit-pockets and I found this out the hard way. I had my iPhone stolen about 5-10 minutes after leaving Hantang while walking towards the Bell Tower and Old City Wall. But this was not Hantang's fault.

To summarize, Hantang is a very good place for budget travelers to stay in Xi'an, but make sure to be careful of the pit-pockets while walking to and around the various tourist sites in Xi'an!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
68
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been traveling China for almost 3 weeks now and this is the best place I've stayed at by far. The room was extremely clean and large with lots of space to put your things (desk, two night stands, table). Even had a flat screen TV with CNN! We booked a double, but the bed is a king size and very comfortable. Bathroom is modern and we always had hot water. The wifi reached our room just fine. The laundry service was great and they have hot water stations on every floor. The location excellent as we were within walking distance to the Muslim Quarter. I really enjoyed the service from the staff- such a relief from everywhere else in China. They spoke English and took the time to answer all questions. The only thing is that the food in the restaurant was quite expensive. Saved quite a bit of money by booking the room ahead of time online.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed in a dorm room that was very clean and comfortable. There are large lockers for luggage. Each dorm room has its own bathroom with a nice hot shower.
The staff is nice and informative. The location is great - just a few stops on the 603 bus from the train station or South Fate of the city wall.
The food was a bit expensive, but if you want something convenient. I got drinks at the supermarket across the street for cheap.
Wifi is good and people are friendly in the downstairs lounge area.
One bad note - I did laundry here and it came back smoky. Would probably happen anyway but clean clothes should smell clean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a private double room. Definitely one of the nicest hostels you'll stay in. The bed was really comfy (especially for China hostels) and the on suite shower was really good.

We got a free transfer from the train station and the staff spoke good English so it was easy to arrange tours to things like the Terracotta warriors through them.

The cafe/bar is actually an independent called Cafe Blue rather than run by the hostel. As a result the prices for food and beer are more expensive than you would expect at a hostel. However, there was a supermarket literally across the street which sold beer for 2.5 yuan that you could drink at the table outside while socialising with others. There was also some great street food all within 100m of the hostel.

All in all a very sociable hostel with great rooms and a good location.

Room Tip: Rooms are on 4 floors with no lift. So if you don't want to carry your bags up ask for one on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This supposedly youth hostel is actually much, much more than this. It's more like a homely small hotel. Excellent location in close proximity to the main centre and attractions. The staff was of great help and ready to please. Couldn't ask for more at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Be careful. A fee is payable if you book on the internet that is not deducted from your eventual cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Han Tang House 166Cyn = $29.20pn – total $87.57
Really a youth hostel/hotel with notices, very cheap dorms plus doubles with private bath. Wi-Fi in rooms. Cleaned every day on request. Staff OK. Food and beer fairly expensive – the staff suggested we buy our beer from the small supermarket across the road where a large bottle was 2.5RMB. Plenty of good eating places up and down the street. A dumpling place in particular, on the left hand side heading towards the phone area was great and cheap. All in all a good budget option where you can gain plenty of information for your onward travel. Will stay here again. Close to the station for trains. If you come from Beijing on the fast train you can catch the metro to the city and then a bus to the hotel. Should only cost 8rmb per person, not the 100rmb per head the taxi was asking at the railway station.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one over the bar area as can b e quite noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hangtan House for 4 nights in late September. We are in our 60's and found this to be a great hostel catering to guests of all ages. Our room was very clean and comfortable with its own bathroom and shower…we bought soap at the shop across the road. We were concerned that the nightly live music events would disturb us as our room was right above the venue…but it seems that the building is sound proof no problems at all!
Arrangements were made for us to go on two tours..one to a sanctuary to see pandas and the other to see the Terra Cotta Warriors…both trips were a thrill!!!
Food was available at the hostel but it did not cater to our need for local food; the hostel is however in the midst of a number eateries and not far from the Muslim Quarter with its many restaurants and food stands.
We especially appreciated the help provided to us by the staff who fixed up our reservation and were generous with their advice and directions. Thank you Michael and Sasha. A great place to stay with interesting fellow travelers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hantang House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.