We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable hostel in xian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 613 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great affordable hostel in xian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a dorm room that was very clean and comfortable. There are large lockers for luggage. Each dorm room has its own bathroom with a nice hot shower.
The staff is nice and informative. The location is great - just a few stops on the 603 bus from the train station or South Fate of the city wall.
The food was a bit expensive, but if you want something convenient. I got drinks at the supermarket across the street for cheap.
Wifi is good and people are friendly in the downstairs lounge area.
One bad note - I did laundry here and it came back smoky. Would probably happen anyway but clean clothes should smell clean.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a private double room. Definitely one of the nicest hostels you'll stay in. The bed was really comfy (especially for China hostels) and the on suite shower was really good.

We got a free transfer from the train station and the staff spoke good English so it was easy to arrange tours to things like the Terracotta warriors through them.

The cafe/bar is actually an independent called Cafe Blue rather than run by the hostel. As a result the prices for food and beer are more expensive than you would expect at a hostel. However, there was a supermarket literally across the street which sold beer for 2.5 yuan that you could drink at the table outside while socialising with others. There was also some great street food all within 100m of the hostel.

All in all a very sociable hostel with great rooms and a good location.

Room Tip: Rooms are on 4 floors with no lift. So if you don't want to carry your bags up ask for one on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This supposedly youth hostel is actually much, much more than this. It's more like a homely small hotel. Excellent location in close proximity to the main centre and attractions. The staff was of great help and ready to please. Couldn't ask for more at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Be careful. A fee is payable if you book on the internet that is not deducted from your eventual cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Han Tang House 166Cyn = $29.20pn – total $87.57
Really a youth hostel/hotel with notices, very cheap dorms plus doubles with private bath. Wi-Fi in rooms. Cleaned every day on request. Staff OK. Food and beer fairly expensive – the staff suggested we buy our beer from the small supermarket across the road where a large bottle was 2.5RMB. Plenty of good eating places up and down the street. A dumpling place in particular, on the left hand side heading towards the phone area was great and cheap. All in all a good budget option where you can gain plenty of information for your onward travel. Will stay here again. Close to the station for trains. If you come from Beijing on the fast train you can catch the metro to the city and then a bus to the hotel. Should only cost 8rmb per person, not the 100rmb per head the taxi was asking at the railway station.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one over the bar area as can b e quite noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hangtan House for 4 nights in late September. We are in our 60's and found this to be a great hostel catering to guests of all ages. Our room was very clean and comfortable with its own bathroom and shower…we bought soap at the shop across the road. We were concerned that the nightly live music events would disturb us as our room was right above the venue…but it seems that the building is sound proof no problems at all!
Arrangements were made for us to go on two tours..one to a sanctuary to see pandas and the other to see the Terra Cotta Warriors…both trips were a thrill!!!
Food was available at the hostel but it did not cater to our need for local food; the hostel is however in the midst of a number eateries and not far from the Muslim Quarter with its many restaurants and food stands.
We especially appreciated the help provided to us by the staff who fixed up our reservation and were generous with their advice and directions. Thank you Michael and Sasha. A great place to stay with interesting fellow travelers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the nicest places we stayed in China.  Rooms were of 3 star standard pretty much.  Great shower and comfortable beds.  Room was quite dark and a little cold in the evening but I didn't mind that.  Location is good about a 15-20 minute walk from the Drum Tower and Muslim Quarter.  Staff were friendly and the food at the bar was okay.  Drink were quite expensive tho so we made use of happy hour.  They had live music on the nights we were there which was cool.  The music always stopped around 11pm
So it didnt keep us up. We also got our laundry done for a good price and did a tour to the terracotta warriors which was worth doing - our guide lady JaJa was amazing and we learnt lots. The reception staff also managed to find some people from another hostel to arrange a tour to the Emperor Jingli tomb which was worth doing - good service. Wi-fi was good although almost ground to a halt when it got busy. Good place to meet people too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in a queen room with ensuite in early October 2013. I would highly recommend this hostel.

The room we stayed in was small - just enough room for the bed, and a console/desk. However, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It also had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was relatively large, modern and clean with a western toilet. It was a great place to stay - very centrally located in the middle of the old city of Xian. Very quiet at night. There was also a locked security door to the bedroom section that only guests could access.

The hostel is professionally managed, and the staff were all friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English.

The restaurant downstairs served excellent coffee, and the food was okay too. If you want beer, I suggest you try buying cans in the shop across the road - as it is very expensive in the hostel.

There was very comprehensive information about local sites and tours available in the restaurant or from hostel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#71 of 2,187 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#53 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 613 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing