We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the budget traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 524 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tasmania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good for the budget traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Han Tang House 166Cyn = $29.20pn – total $87.57
Really a youth hostel/hotel with notices, very cheap dorms plus doubles with private bath. Wi-Fi in rooms. Cleaned every day on request. Staff OK. Food and beer fairly expensive – the staff suggested we buy our beer from the small supermarket across the road where a large bottle was 2.5RMB. Plenty of good eating places up and down the street. A dumpling place in particular, on the left hand side heading towards the phone area was great and cheap. All in all a good budget option where you can gain plenty of information for your onward travel. Will stay here again. Close to the station for trains. If you come from Beijing on the fast train you can catch the metro to the city and then a bus to the hotel. Should only cost 8rmb per person, not the 100rmb per head the taxi was asking at the railway station.

Room Tip: Try to avoid one over the bar area as can b e quite noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    103
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
107
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hangtan House for 4 nights in late September. We are in our 60's and found this to be a great hostel catering to guests of all ages. Our room was very clean and comfortable with its own bathroom and shower…we bought soap at the shop across the road. We were concerned that the nightly live music events would disturb us as our room was right above the venue…but it seems that the building is sound proof no problems at all!
Arrangements were made for us to go on two tours..one to a sanctuary to see pandas and the other to see the Terra Cotta Warriors…both trips were a thrill!!!
Food was available at the hostel but it did not cater to our need for local food; the hostel is however in the midst of a number eateries and not far from the Muslim Quarter with its many restaurants and food stands.
We especially appreciated the help provided to us by the staff who fixed up our reservation and were generous with their advice and directions. Thank you Michael and Sasha. A great place to stay with interesting fellow travelers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
958 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was one of the nicest places we stayed in China.  Rooms were of 3 star standard pretty much.  Great shower and comfortable beds.  Room was quite dark and a little cold in the evening but I didn't mind that.  Location is good about a 15-20 minute walk from the Drum Tower and Muslim Quarter.  Staff were friendly and the food at the bar was okay.  Drink were quite expensive tho so we made use of happy hour.  They had live music on the nights we were there which was cool.  The music always stopped around 11pm
So it didnt keep us up. We also got our laundry done for a good price and did a tour to the terracotta warriors which was worth doing - our guide lady JaJa was amazing and we learnt lots. The reception staff also managed to find some people from another hostel to arrange a tour to the Emperor Jingli tomb which was worth doing - good service. Wi-fi was good although almost ground to a halt when it got busy. Good place to meet people too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in a queen room with ensuite in early October 2013. I would highly recommend this hostel.

The room we stayed in was small - just enough room for the bed, and a console/desk. However, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It also had a flat screen TV. The bathroom was relatively large, modern and clean with a western toilet. It was a great place to stay - very centrally located in the middle of the old city of Xian. Very quiet at night. There was also a locked security door to the bedroom section that only guests could access.

The hostel is professionally managed, and the staff were all friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English.

The restaurant downstairs served excellent coffee, and the food was okay too. If you want beer, I suggest you try buying cans in the shop across the road - as it is very expensive in the hostel.

There was very comprehensive information about local sites and tours available in the restaurant or from hostel staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple (we are all in our mid 60's) had a wonderful stay at Hantang House. The staff was very helpful. Daisy had corresponded with me several times and set up our transportation to and from the airport. The food was great and we enjoyed the "dumpling party" . It was an excellent location. The hostel provides a tour to the Terra Cotta Warriors, so it was easy to arrange and we met people that were also staying at the Hostel. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located in the centre of Xi'an in a silent and quiet street. It's in front of a shop where you can buy bottles of one and half litre of water for only 2,5 RMB each. They speak english. Our room was large with three big single beds, air conditioner and a clean and large bathroom decked with a plant. You can eat and drink in there. In the evening you can learn to do ravioli-dumplings, listen to music or other activities. I advise you to take part in their tour of terracotta warriors: no shopping, with a tourist guide who gave us the chance to visit with calm the location. Then you can eat tasty meal in a restaurant for juas 30 RMB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a couple of reviews have stated before - this is not a hostel. The only reason they can call themselves this is because they have dorm rooms. In every other sense it is a hotel and doesn't cater to backpackers.

We didn't eat or drink here as there are loads of cheap delicious restaurants and street stall nearby. But if we did, it would chew through our daily budget in a couple of meals - the prices are ridiculous (28RMB for tea!).

The staff aren't hugely helpful or friendly. We asked for a local market to buy fruit and they directed us to a seafood centre (?!). Eventually we found loads of cheap fruit near the bird market. It seems they can only offer information on the tours they have available, not much else.

On a positive note, the dorm rooms were very clean and comfortable with individual lights and an en suit bathroom.
A good location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#84 of 2,170 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.