We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple (we are all in our mid 60's) had a wonderful stay at Hantang House. The staff was very helpful. Daisy had corresponded with me several times and set up our transportation to and from the airport. The food was great and we enjoyed the "dumpling party" . It was an excellent location. The hostel provides a tour to the Terra Cotta Warriors, so it was easy to arrange and we met people that were also staying at the Hostel. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    76
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
81
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
trieste
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located in the centre of Xi'an in a silent and quiet street. It's in front of a shop where you can buy bottles of one and half litre of water for only 2,5 RMB each. They speak english. Our room was large with three big single beds, air conditioner and a clean and large bathroom decked with a plant. You can eat and drink in there. In the evening you can learn to do ravioli-dumplings, listen to music or other activities. I advise you to take part in their tour of terracotta warriors: no shopping, with a tourist guide who gave us the chance to visit with calm the location. Then you can eat tasty meal in a restaurant for juas 30 RMB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As a couple of reviews have stated before - this is not a hostel. The only reason they can call themselves this is because they have dorm rooms. In every other sense it is a hotel and doesn't cater to backpackers.

We didn't eat or drink here as there are loads of cheap delicious restaurants and street stall nearby. But if we did, it would chew through our daily budget in a couple of meals - the prices are ridiculous (28RMB for tea!).

The staff aren't hugely helpful or friendly. We asked for a local market to buy fruit and they directed us to a seafood centre (?!). Eventually we found loads of cheap fruit near the bird market. It seems they can only offer information on the tours they have available, not much else.

On a positive note, the dorm rooms were very clean and comfortable with individual lights and an en suit bathroom.
A good location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Really high-level hostel, above european standards for cleanliness and confort. Big single beds pretty confortable, amazing common room where to meet guys from all across the world.
Also enjoyable are the little trips organized by the staff, the Terracotta Warriors one is amazing and very valuable for the quality/price rate

Room Tip: tried only private room with 3 beds, but it works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very clean accommodation and helpful staff. Michael taught us how to count to ten in Chinese.

Price of beer was expensive but they are happy for you to buy beer from supermarket across the road and drink outside.

Food was cheaper across the road too but you had to eat it, on a table, in the street. 4 yuen for wonton soup was good enough for breakfast. Most people ate further down the road - 10 yuen but you could sit indoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México, D.F.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hantang is a perfect option if you are thinking about a good hostel in Xi'An. The location is perfect, near a metro station and principal attractions in the old part of Xi'An. The rooms are almost new and very very clean; the staff is helpful and they have good options for tours. You will spend around 7 dolars a night for an incredible clean room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Before I start I will say my partner and I are 25 and 23 and have stayed in a lot of hostels in Australia and Asia in the past 14 months whilst travelling so we are not picky or judgemental.

Positives are 8 bed dorm room was great. Comfy beds, great shower and toilet facilities.

Negatives is the hostel charge extra for everything. I am travelling on a budget yet its 100RMB deposit per room key. Towels are 30RMB deposit. Extra butter and jam for breakfast is 2RMB. Free hotpot night on a Thursday is in fact not free its 15RMB per person.

Hostel is extremely expensive for food and drinks considering your in China. Example, hostel beer is 20/30RMB yet convenience store 10 paces away has large bottles for 2.5RMB. However, this may be to do with the fact that a coffee chain is based in the hostel.

Wi-Fi not great struggled using it in rooms and even sometimes in the lobby area.

Considering all other hostels we have stayed in over past year, this has zero traveller spirit or atmosphere. Think they are trying to be a hotel/B'n'B rather than a hostel and it tells.

Special note to Abby behind reception who came with us to China Unicom store and sorted us with Chinese SIM cards, would have been impossible task otherwise.

All in all, if I was booking again as a traveller I would choose elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.