We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice backpackers with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hantang House
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice backpackers with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at hantang house in a private double.
The room was spacious and clean with a private toilet and shower.
The staff at the hostel were good when asked for information we even went on their free walking tour of the muslin district with them despite know how to get there it was good to speak to a local and they even helped us with haggling and ordering some food.

The main reason to come to xian is the terracotta warriors and we went on the hostel trip to this. It was good we got an airconditioned coach and the guide was very knowledgable. The lunch maybe wasnt the greatest though we were asked do you want lunch and we agreed so you have an opt out. It was CNY30 per person for a selection of dishes in a restaurant near when the bus parks. At just over £3 its not alot and you can try some dishes so its ok it was just that some people expected to pick their lunch from a menu so i thought i would mention it. Overall the tour is worth doing to get extra info and avoid the crowds even thought you can get a bus to the site yourself and save money.

The hostel had live music most of the nights we were their it could be heard from our room on the second floor however this wasnt a big issue as it started at half 9 and finished before 11 so wont interrupt anyones sleep just prepare yourself for some Neil Diamond.

Food in the hostel was good but a bit on the higher end of the price scale for china as were the drinks thought there is a supermarket right across the street and may street vendors around if your counting the pennies.

Overall a very good hostel with a nice atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
69
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a nice double room, it was really clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was really clean, more a wet room but the hostel provided towels which I thought was really good. It had a nice atmosphere around the place with a pool table downstairs and a ping pong table and couches upstairs. The staff were really friendly and we booked our tour to the terra-cotta warriors with the hostel and it was really good fun with a great guide Ja-Ja!! we also booked the panda tour through the hostel which we found to be the highlight of our trip to china! The location was so great, really easy to walk around with shops and restaurants nearby and the metro very close.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor for 2 nights and the 1st floor our last night and we had wifi in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

While Xi'an isn't the most beautiful city in China, this hostel brightens your day from a long and exhaustive trip through the city. There is some (not all) English-speaking staff and are really helpful. There's good food, laundry service, wi-fi, etc... The best thing was that I met a lot of Western travelers. It feels good to speak your own language or English to people in a country where you don't understand anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great hostel - the rooms are clean, staff are friendly and it's incredible we'll set up for travellers. The shower was great and to have such an on suite at a hostel is a first.

I would also recommend the tour to the warriors. It was informative and then tour guide was excellent.

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor as the live music can make it a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely chilled out hostel located in the centre of Xi'an convenient for everywhere an they organize excellent reasonably prices tours to all the major attractions.
Reception staff especially Daisy are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and good facilities, we had a twin room for 200 which I thought reasonable.
I wasn't mad about the hostel food and the beers are much cheaper at the food staffs just outside the front door where you can sit, sip a cheap beer and soak it all up.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only spent one night here, in a double room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, fairly large, and we couldn't hear any noise from other rooms or the bar downstairs. The service we received was fine, but the pick up from the station could have been better organised - we ended up walking for ages while the guy who met us tried to find the driver.

The best thing about the hostel was the location, just 5 mins walk from the bell tower and muslim quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the best place we stayed in during our month in China. The beds and bathroom were better than most hotels we've stayed at in China.

We ended up staying a few extra days in Xi'an just to stay at the hostel longer. They do a great tour to the Terracotta Army every day, and the atmosphere is a great mix of young backpackers and older budget travelers.

The coffee is overpriced, but that's the only issue I had. However, the food is good, and unlike the coffee, it is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a lower floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hantang House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.