We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 524 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a nice double room, it was really clean with comfortable beds. The bathroom was really clean, more a wet room but the hostel provided towels which I thought was really good. It had a nice atmosphere around the place with a pool table downstairs and a ping pong table and couches upstairs. The staff were really friendly and we booked our tour to the terra-cotta warriors with the hostel and it was really good fun with a great guide Ja-Ja!! we also booked the panda tour through the hostel which we found to be the highlight of our trip to china! The location was so great, really easy to walk around with shops and restaurants nearby and the metro very close.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor for 2 nights and the 1st floor our last night and we had wifi in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    102
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
107
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

While Xi'an isn't the most beautiful city in China, this hostel brightens your day from a long and exhaustive trip through the city. There is some (not all) English-speaking staff and are really helpful. There's good food, laundry service, wi-fi, etc... The best thing was that I met a lot of Western travelers. It feels good to speak your own language or English to people in a country where you don't understand anybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a great hostel - the rooms are clean, staff are friendly and it's incredible we'll set up for travellers. The shower was great and to have such an on suite at a hostel is a first.

I would also recommend the tour to the warriors. It was informative and then tour guide was excellent.

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor as the live music can make it a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely chilled out hostel located in the centre of Xi'an convenient for everywhere an they organize excellent reasonably prices tours to all the major attractions.
Reception staff especially Daisy are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and good facilities, we had a twin room for 200 which I thought reasonable.
I wasn't mad about the hostel food and the beers are much cheaper at the food staffs just outside the front door where you can sit, sip a cheap beer and soak it all up.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We only spent one night here, in a double room on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, fairly large, and we couldn't hear any noise from other rooms or the bar downstairs. The service we received was fine, but the pick up from the station could have been better organised - we ended up walking for ages while the guy who met us tried to find the driver.

The best thing about the hostel was the location, just 5 mins walk from the bell tower and muslim quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was the best place we stayed in during our month in China. The beds and bathroom were better than most hotels we've stayed at in China.

We ended up staying a few extra days in Xi'an just to stay at the hostel longer. They do a great tour to the Terracotta Army every day, and the atmosphere is a great mix of young backpackers and older budget travelers.

The coffee is overpriced, but that's the only issue I had. However, the food is good, and unlike the coffee, it is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a lower floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The photos on the website looked much nicer than the actual rooms. Booked a Superior Double Room Private, and it was not superior. It was run down. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but hot/cold water was available in a dispenser in the corridor. Shower was mouldy. No amenities. Air conditioner was not effective. Staff not helpful. No elevator! No sheets - too hot with quilt. Overall, dingy with poor lighting.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose the lower ground if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,169 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#84 of 2,169 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.