We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-oiled machine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well-oiled machine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel has got the backpacker's scene down to an art. We arrived on the overnight train from Beijing, and were picked up along with a few others and taken to the hotel. We arrived at about 8:30, and the Terracotta Warrier tour left at 9:30. Even though they initially didn't seem to have any spots left for the tour, after hearing that we wanted to go, they managed to make some phone calls and find us 2 more spots. So within an hour of arriving in Xi'An, we were on our way to the Terracotta warriers. The tour was great, the tour guide spoke great English and didn't take us to any shopping areas, instead she actually discouraged us from talking to the hawkers or buying from them in case we got ripped off. At the end of the tour, we all stopped at a restaurant for a Chinese lunch at a (suprisingly) very good price.
The hotel was good, clean and quite large. Staff were helpful with directions, but seemed always very busy, they could have used another front desk staff member. The only problem was that the food and drinks were quite expensive (although you could just walk acoss the road to the convenience store and buy them there for much less), and the lounge area played very large music and had lots of people smoking, which is normal for China, but quite gross when a non-smoker coming from Canada.
Overall, this hotel was a good spot with a great location!!! Easy to walk to all the tourist attractions!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    70
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
76
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We're giving this a "Average" rating, although we wouldn't recommend it to other travellers. We stayed five nights in a triple room on the 1st floor and two nights in a double in the 4th floor.

Han Tang House is the "top choice" hostel in Xi'an in the latest edition of Lonely Planet China, however, it just isn't a snug fit for budget backpackers. It's more like an expensive western pub/bar with accommodation as a side-business.

The rooms are great, spacious, clean, with nice bathrooms. The location is perfect. The prices though, are steep and the service lacking. Especially their food is really overpriced. There are plenty of Chinese eateries on the same street where you can get cheaper food.

The ground floor "common area" feels more like a bar/pub/restaurant where you're supposed to only eat food you order at the hostel. We brought our own food from across the street and were directed to a table in the corner to eat it. They often have loud music or a live band playing on the ground floor during evenings/nights. The music penetrates the walls on the 1st floor.

The staff seemed to be more interested in mixing drinks than serving the needs of their guests. Questions were answered adequately, but the friendliness and helpfulness just wasn't there.

WiFi worked well in the ground floor pub and on the 1st floor, but not on the 4th.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so a lower floor spares your thighs. However, the noise (bands playing, gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night as they were booked solid. Room was great, amazingly comfortable bed. Service was excellent.
Quibble? Prices in the bar were too high and the music they were playing was dire. Aaron Carter ffs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hantang House from July 13-16 2013. When we checked in, they told us that the double bed in our room was "broken" so they would have to put us in a twin room for the night. I was really unhappy about this, but they insisted they would move us the following day. The twin room was surprisingly great and two twin beds were HUGE! Definitely room for both of us in one. The room was clean and not very noisy except for some street noise, so we decided to stay in the twin room and not take our chances. The bathroom was also the best we had in China - enclosed shower and waterfall showerhead!

We took the Terracotta Warriors tour with the hostel and it was excellent! Our tour guide, Zha Zha, was funny and took care of us and it was a great way to meet people. We all had lunch together at the end and it was one of the best meals of our trip! The restaurant in the hotel is good for Western food, particularly breakfast and although pricey for China it was a nice treat. The wifi in the restaurant is good, but I would have liked wifi in the room. Location of the hostel was amazing and within walking distance of the Bell Tower, Drum Tower, North Gate of the City Wall and Muslim Quarter.

One of the front desk girls, Rachel, was a total gem and SO helpful. Overall, we were very happy with Hantang House and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at Han Tang House. The location is great. It's close to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim Quarter. Across the road are a convenience store, a fruit stall and street food.

The front desk was efficient and helpful. They helped arrange a tour to the Jingdi mausoleum and provided advice on things like getting to Huashan and how to catch a public bus to the Terracotta Warriors from the train station.

We stayed in a room with a double bed on the third floor. The room itself was cozy, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern and western. Unfortunately, housekeeping was pretty bad. When we first checked in, the bed linen had obviously not been changed and had crumbs and oily stains on it. We asked for the room to be made properly but apart from that first night, our room was not made or cleaned for the time we were there.

The cafe downstairs does good western food. Wifi is weak or not available on the higher floors (2 and above).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the sister hostel down the street and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at in China. The room and facilities were all good but it is all about the service and the atmosphere. All the staff spoke good English but this places ace up it's sleeve is Lei-Lei. This guy sorts out all the activities around the hostel and after a couple of days felt more like a friend than a staff member. He got everyone involved, created a great social atmosphere and just went beyond all expectations to make our stay enjoyable. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer. Thank you to the Han Tang staff and especially Lei-Lei!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good location, near metro line 2 (station Zhonglou, what probably means bell tower).

The room was small and dark. Cleanliness was so so. The sheets were clean, but there was a a lot of dust on the bedside tables and tv table. During the for 4 days we stayed, the room was only 'cleaned' when we asked for it on our third day. That day, when we came back, we found out they only refreshed the towels. Moreover, we were out of toilet paper, but it wasn't supplemented. In the evening a lot of people sit downstairs for a drink (there is also music). Because of adequate isolation, we didn't have any noise in our room (3th floor).
All in all, it's a good place to stay, but maybe we just expected too much from this hotel. I don't know if there are any better hotels in the area for this price though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.