We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 236 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night as they were booked solid. Room was great, amazingly comfortable bed. Service was excellent.
Quibble? Prices in the bar were too high and the music they were playing was dire. Aaron Carter ffs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    78
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
85
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hantang House from July 13-16 2013. When we checked in, they told us that the double bed in our room was "broken" so they would have to put us in a twin room for the night. I was really unhappy about this, but they insisted they would move us the following day. The twin room was surprisingly great and two twin beds were HUGE! Definitely room for both of us in one. The room was clean and not very noisy except for some street noise, so we decided to stay in the twin room and not take our chances. The bathroom was also the best we had in China - enclosed shower and waterfall showerhead!

We took the Terracotta Warriors tour with the hostel and it was excellent! Our tour guide, Zha Zha, was funny and took care of us and it was a great way to meet people. We all had lunch together at the end and it was one of the best meals of our trip! The restaurant in the hotel is good for Western food, particularly breakfast and although pricey for China it was a nice treat. The wifi in the restaurant is good, but I would have liked wifi in the room. Location of the hostel was amazing and within walking distance of the Bell Tower, Drum Tower, North Gate of the City Wall and Muslim Quarter.

One of the front desk girls, Rachel, was a total gem and SO helpful. Overall, we were very happy with Hantang House and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at Han Tang House. The location is great. It's close to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim Quarter. Across the road are a convenience store, a fruit stall and street food.

The front desk was efficient and helpful. They helped arrange a tour to the Jingdi mausoleum and provided advice on things like getting to Huashan and how to catch a public bus to the Terracotta Warriors from the train station.

We stayed in a room with a double bed on the third floor. The room itself was cozy, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern and western. Unfortunately, housekeeping was pretty bad. When we first checked in, the bed linen had obviously not been changed and had crumbs and oily stains on it. We asked for the room to be made properly but apart from that first night, our room was not made or cleaned for the time we were there.

The cafe downstairs does good western food. Wifi is weak or not available on the higher floors (2 and above).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the sister hostel down the street and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at in China. The room and facilities were all good but it is all about the service and the atmosphere. All the staff spoke good English but this places ace up it's sleeve is Lei-Lei. This guy sorts out all the activities around the hostel and after a couple of days felt more like a friend than a staff member. He got everyone involved, created a great social atmosphere and just went beyond all expectations to make our stay enjoyable. It was a shame we couldn't stay longer. Thank you to the Han Tang staff and especially Lei-Lei!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good location, near metro line 2 (station Zhonglou, what probably means bell tower).

The room was small and dark. Cleanliness was so so. The sheets were clean, but there was a a lot of dust on the bedside tables and tv table. During the for 4 days we stayed, the room was only 'cleaned' when we asked for it on our third day. That day, when we came back, we found out they only refreshed the towels. Moreover, we were out of toilet paper, but it wasn't supplemented. In the evening a lot of people sit downstairs for a drink (there is also music). Because of adequate isolation, we didn't have any noise in our room (3th floor).
All in all, it's a good place to stay, but maybe we just expected too much from this hotel. I don't know if there are any better hotels in the area for this price though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have to agree with all the reviews I have read on this hostel. Great location, great rooms, amazing beds, good food and excellent staff ...

We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived at 8am after an overnight train from Pingyao and we were in our room by 8.30am! We were on the 3rd floor which did take some climbing with cases as there is no lift.
The room was spacious and clean and the beds were really comfortable
Modern bathroom with an excellent shower.
Wifi was mainly okay, but sometimes a bit weak.

There is a water cooler/heater in the corridor, which takes some working out, but works fine.
We had laundry done (10 yuan per kilo - sun dried)
There is a good snack menu available in the hostel and local restaurants nearby
(The supermarket opposite sells cold Hans beer for just 2.5 Yuan!)
We could hear music in our room from about 9pm for an hour or so, but not too intrusive.

Easy walking distance from the Bell Tower and Muslim Quarter ...
We booked our trip to the Terracotta Soldiers through the hostel which included a free beer when we got back!
They also run an evening trip to the Big Goose Pagoda which is free (just pay your bus fare of 2 yuan). Whilst there, our guide took us to a sister restaurant where we were treated to free beer!
We then walked to the pagoda to watch the 20 minute 'fountain and light' display.

Overall an excellent stay in an excellent hostel which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the dorm but the quality of the room was impressive - clean, spacious, new and cosy. Location is also great - close to bell tower, metro and bus stations, can even try walking to the South Gate like I did. The only thing I didn't like was slow and sporadic wifi - but this is only a minor issue and the hostel was great overall. Also good value for money as I paid half of what I paid in Beijing. Definitely recommend and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.