We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 104 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Exceeds expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at the dorm but the quality of the room was impressive - clean, spacious, new and cosy. Location is also great - close to bell tower, metro and bus stations, can even try walking to the South Gate like I did. The only thing I didn't like was slow and sporadic wifi - but this is only a minor issue and the hostel was great overall. Also good value for money as I paid half of what I paid in Beijing. Definitely recommend and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    71
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
76
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a double private room. The rooms are very modern and have more of a hotel feel. Really nice bathrooms and the room itself is a good size. The bed was the best we've had in China. Lovely and soft. The lobby area has seating areas a restaurant. The staff weren't overly friendly and were always so busy that we never felt they and time to answer our questions. The reception area is not well planned as there is too much going on. It is where people check in/out, where food is ordered, where questions are asked, where the bar drinks are ordered! You get the point. The staff are run off their feet!
We had stayed at their sister hotel Shuyuan Hostel also in Xi'an and we have to say we much preferred it. The layout was much better and the staff were much more accommodating.
The location of the Hantang is great though as it is near the bell and drum tower and the muslin quarter too. We also organised the terracotta warrior tour from the hostel which was really good with a great guide.
I don't think you'll be disappointed staying here as overall it is a good hostel. As long as you don't get to experience their other sister hostels then you'll think this one is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night. Actually, it turned out that we had made the booking for the wrong date but the staff was very helpful and we were able to get the last two beds in a dorm. Inside the hotel it had a great atmosphere, however, there didn't seem to be much social going on the night we were there. But we experienced a bit of a problem with our room. The aircondition wasn't working for a reason we didn't quite understand. And the fan in the ceiling was only working when the lights were turned on - which is not ideal when you want to sleep. We asked the staff about this and they couldn't do much to help other than get a small fan in the room which made it an incredibly hot night. This may seem like a small thing but in the situation it is quite important that something like this is fixed.
The next day we went on a terra cotta warriors tour arranged by the hostel and the tour guide was so nice. She was really attentive to the fact that we had to get back at a certain time to be able to catch our flight. And this was much appreciated.
Overall, the hostel was good but not great as it didn't have the small things that make it really nice compared to other hostels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the best hostel in my opinion. The beds were comfortable, the toilet was modern and clean. The dorm we stayed in could've passed as a hotel! Did not try the food but the rooms were really the best I've stayed in! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a private twin room for 1 night - the room was very big, especially for a youth hostel, and the very nicely furnished. The beds in particular were very impressive - more comfortable than the 5-star hotel we stayed in in Shanghai, and my bed at home.

The food was decent, and it was nice to have a decent approximation of fish and chips so far from home.

Staff mostly had good english skills, and were quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids took 2 twin rooms which were clean, big enough and had modern bathroom. AC + WIFI. Coffee and food were excellent. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Great common areas too.
Enjoyed our stay, this was a good choice. Thanks.
Happy travels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hostel has a bar on the ground floor that serves pretty decent western food. We had a couple of meals here, an omelette for breakfast which was very nice and beer battered fish which was awful. The drinks are also a reasonable price (beer/coffee/soft drinks). The hostel using a good location close to the 603 bus stop (terracotta soldiers bus) and within 15 minutes walk to the Muslim quarter and drum and bell towers. The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. However, we stayed in a double room (travelling as a couple) which was opposite the mixed dorms and facing the street at the front of the hotel making early mornings very loud and some sometimes late at night. Overall very good for the price and would definitely stay here again. The staff are helpful providing us with directions from the Patel tithe main sites. Very good wifi connection.

Room Tip: Away from dorms, high floor and towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.