We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and fantastic service plus a decent coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 613 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
493 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Great rooms and fantastic service plus a decent coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids took 2 twin rooms which were clean, big enough and had modern bathroom. AC + WIFI. Coffee and food were excellent. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Great common areas too.
Enjoyed our stay, this was a good choice. Thanks.
Happy travels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel has a bar on the ground floor that serves pretty decent western food. We had a couple of meals here, an omelette for breakfast which was very nice and beer battered fish which was awful. The drinks are also a reasonable price (beer/coffee/soft drinks). The hostel using a good location close to the 603 bus stop (terracotta soldiers bus) and within 15 minutes walk to the Muslim quarter and drum and bell towers. The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. However, we stayed in a double room (travelling as a couple) which was opposite the mixed dorms and facing the street at the front of the hotel making early mornings very loud and some sometimes late at night. Overall very good for the price and would definitely stay here again. The staff are helpful providing us with directions from the Patel tithe main sites. Very good wifi connection.

Room Tip: Away from dorms, high floor and towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Day48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Town, Trinidad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staying at Hantang really helped us maximise our trip in Xi'an. The hostel is located in a really great area - walking distance from major attractions. They organise tours to see the Terracotta warriors and other locations as well. A friend and I stayed in a private room for two with an en-suite bathroom and we were really pleased with our room. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke near to perfect English. Would definitely recommend it to travelers who are on a budget but still want a sense of comfort during their travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaAdorada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

a nice small hotel and nice staffs.
However, i stayed in the Rm 102, which is near the staircases, very noisy in the morning(noise from the customers and the staffs who do the cleaning, the location is quite basically) and at night although it's convenience. But then i changed to another room on the third floor and on the other side, that's much more better.
the restaurant is nice if you're fed up with the local noodles and carbo-orinented food.

Room Tip: How to get to the Hotel: if you get there from train station, better get a taxi. if you get there f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank playeemobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here. We stayed in a private double room with en suite bathroom so I can't really speak for the hostel part. The staff are very knowledgeable and patient. Every staff member I spoke to had great English skills. We ate breakfast and listened to a guy ask questions that Google could have easily answered for 20 minutes while the clerk just smiled patiently and helped him.

The food and drink is pricey but if you are needing something that is not Chinese it is always worth paying for in China. We live in China so we were looking forward to some good Western food and they did not disappoint.

The location is super cool. It's down a little alley that is quaint and authentic. If you head out towards the Muslim quarter you get to observe a nice sample of daily life. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Muslim quarter and about the same to the bell tower. We walked to the south gate of the city walls in about 30 minutes.

Overall, this ho(s)tel was clean and friendly. Do bring your own toiletries (or expect to buy some across the street) as the bathrooms do not come equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creightonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everyone at the Hantag House and its sister Hostel are great, and the rooms are clean and in good condition.

If you are aprehensive about traveling in a country where you do not know the language or anyone, this might be the ideal place to start. If you have been traveling and crave Western food Hantag House delivers. Tours are of good quality. We especially enjoyed the Panda tour, something we did not expect to do in Xi'an.

One of its major strengths is also its weakness. That is it caters so much to young Western Backpackers that some of China gets lost in the process.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a very good stay here. The staff and the accomodation are excellent and the beds are the best that I have experienced in 22 months of travelling. The hostel is only about 10 minutes walk to the main street and the metro. One significant irritation, although it is easy to get round by going out, is the cost of drinks and food. It would be good if the management changed their drinks policy as currently most travellers go to the convenience store across the street for large bottles of local beer from 2.5 - 3.2 yuan.

Room Tip: Get your drink and food elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#7 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#73 of 2,187 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#54 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 613 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing