We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and fantastic service plus a decent coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 249 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
“Great rooms and fantastic service plus a decent coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids took 2 twin rooms which were clean, big enough and had modern bathroom. AC + WIFI. Coffee and food were excellent. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Great common areas too.
Enjoyed our stay, this was a good choice. Thanks.
Happy travels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    80
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
86
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hostel has a bar on the ground floor that serves pretty decent western food. We had a couple of meals here, an omelette for breakfast which was very nice and beer battered fish which was awful. The drinks are also a reasonable price (beer/coffee/soft drinks). The hostel using a good location close to the 603 bus stop (terracotta soldiers bus) and within 15 minutes walk to the Muslim quarter and drum and bell towers. The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. However, we stayed in a double room (travelling as a couple) which was opposite the mixed dorms and facing the street at the front of the hotel making early mornings very loud and some sometimes late at night. Overall very good for the price and would definitely stay here again. The staff are helpful providing us with directions from the Patel tithe main sites. Very good wifi connection.

Room Tip: Away from dorms, high floor and towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Town, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staying at Hantang really helped us maximise our trip in Xi'an. The hostel is located in a really great area - walking distance from major attractions. They organise tours to see the Terracotta warriors and other locations as well. A friend and I stayed in a private room for two with an en-suite bathroom and we were really pleased with our room. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke near to perfect English. Would definitely recommend it to travelers who are on a budget but still want a sense of comfort during their travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

a nice small hotel and nice staffs.
However, i stayed in the Rm 102, which is near the staircases, very noisy in the morning(noise from the customers and the staffs who do the cleaning, the location is quite basically) and at night although it's convenience. But then i changed to another room on the third floor and on the other side, that's much more better.
the restaurant is nice if you're fed up with the local noodles and carbo-orinented food.

Room Tip: How to get to the Hotel: if you get there from train station, better get a taxi. if you get there f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here. We stayed in a private double room with en suite bathroom so I can't really speak for the hostel part. The staff are very knowledgeable and patient. Every staff member I spoke to had great English skills. We ate breakfast and listened to a guy ask questions that Google could have easily answered for 20 minutes while the clerk just smiled patiently and helped him.

The food and drink is pricey but if you are needing something that is not Chinese it is always worth paying for in China. We live in China so we were looking forward to some good Western food and they did not disappoint.

The location is super cool. It's down a little alley that is quaint and authentic. If you head out towards the Muslim quarter you get to observe a nice sample of daily life. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Muslim quarter and about the same to the bell tower. We walked to the south gate of the city walls in about 30 minutes.

Overall, this ho(s)tel was clean and friendly. Do bring your own toiletries (or expect to buy some across the street) as the bathrooms do not come equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everyone at the Hantag House and its sister Hostel are great, and the rooms are clean and in good condition.

If you are aprehensive about traveling in a country where you do not know the language or anyone, this might be the ideal place to start. If you have been traveling and crave Western food Hantag House delivers. Tours are of good quality. We especially enjoyed the Panda tour, something we did not expect to do in Xi'an.

One of its major strengths is also its weakness. That is it caters so much to young Western Backpackers that some of China gets lost in the process.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a very good stay here. The staff and the accomodation are excellent and the beds are the best that I have experienced in 22 months of travelling. The hostel is only about 10 minutes walk to the main street and the metro. One significant irritation, although it is easy to get round by going out, is the cost of drinks and food. It would be good if the management changed their drinks policy as currently most travellers go to the convenience store across the street for large bottles of local beer from 2.5 - 3.2 yuan.

Room Tip: Get your drink and food elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.