We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tailored for foreign tourists: amazing rooms, but pricey cafe and unknowledgable staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 249 Xi'an B&B and Inns
brh1976
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Tailored for foreign tourists: amazing rooms, but pricey cafe and unknowledgable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The good (great) news is that this is by far the nicest hostel I have stayed at in over 14 months of traveling Asia. The rooms are brand new, as is all the furniture. The beds are solid and the mattresses comfy (none of the Chinese-style, rock-hard stuff). There is no creaking of the beds, and each bunk has an individual reading light and power outlet—extremely well thought out, and a touch I haven't see outside of Europe. The door-less bathroom areas look like they're out of a high-end hotel: a central washbasin with separate rooms (with doors) for the toilet and shower on either side, with heavily frosted glass as the walls.

The prices are also reasonable, and are no more than you pay for highly-inferior accommodation elsewhere in China. I believe I paid 50 yuan per night. They will also pick you up at the train station if you contact them in advance, which I did.

Some have complained about cleanliness. When I was there it was spotless (but also very new). Given the very poor hygiene you see at a lot of Chinese hostels and establishments—especially in the bathrooms—I have a very difficult time imagining that this place would ever be anything less than a cut above its competition.

There is a trade off, however, as they're obviously offering their exquisite facilities at rates far below their market value. Like many Chinese hostels, they seem to want to make up their profits on food and tours. Food and drinks are extremely expensive, although the menu is well-tailored to the tastes of their foreign guests. They also sell a lot of tours, but the staff really don't know much about local bus routes, etc., if you're interested in doing something for yourself. Lonely Planet was much more accurate than what the staff told me. The good side to this is that there is very little pressure to buy food/drinks, in part because the hostel is so large.

I would also echo the comment of another reviewer who said the lounge downstairs feels more like a cafe where purchases are mandatory than as a gathering place to meet people and have leisurely conversations.

All in all, it seems quite clear that this hostel has been designed with Western tourists in mind, as everything is tailored to Western tastes and desires. It really does feel like a large, stylish, and possibly institutional European hostel has been transplanted into China. This may or may not be what you are looking for, but to me it seems likely to mean that it will continue to be cleaner than most Chinese places, with much more comfortable rooms, though possibly at the expense of local character and communal vibe. If you are on a short trip and want to experience something more "authentic," and have a better chance of interacting with people (both Western and Chinese),then you might want to book somewhere else. If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay and a respite from frequently dreadful Chinese hostels, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    80
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
86
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There isn't wifi in the room (only in the restaurant), no lift in the hostel (but for us it wasn't a problem), comfortable mattresses, shower in the bathroom, no hairdryer in the room but you can borrow at the reception.
Hostel is located in the city center, close to the metro station and the Bell Tower.
Opposite the entrance to the hostel is a small grocery store.
Quite high prices at the bar.
The staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hostel/hotel is geared for people with a few more dollars to spend and want a hostel-like atmosphere without climbing into a bunkbed. If you want to party with a young crowd, try their sister hostel down the road (whose facilities you can access).

It's a bit tricky to find but still easy walking distance to many tourist sites (bell tower, Muslim quarters) and quiet at night. The rooms were modern and clean (I stayed in a room with 2 twin beds and private bathroom). There is free wifi throughout the building but the signal is the strongest in the reception area/restaurant. We could get online in our second floor room but it was quite slow. But for a free connection, who can complain?

The selling point for this place is the staff. They are exceptionally friendly and helpful. I showed them 5 different addresses written in Mandarin and the staff found them immediately on a map that she provided me. They profusely apologized for a 5 minute wait while they checked someone else out. They also accomodated gluten free meal requirements and provided a new dish when one was contaminated (with gluten - not hair or anything). They were honest in their (non) recommendation of a massage place down the road, describing it as "so-so." I had to agree when we saw the practitioner blood-letting a client and he came out of the office with bloody gloves to give us his business card! (I highly recommend the "Blind Massage" in the Muslim quarters. No 118 Beiyuamnmen - on the main street of the market area)

There is no elevator so if you have loads of heavy suitcases, it may be a challenge!

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, ask if there is a room on a lower level. They do have live music frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in a dorm room and it was lovely, pretty much the best one that we have stayed in so far in China. One bad point about this spot is that it's so big it doesn't feel like a hostel. There's also no kind of common room for people to meet as the Jamaica Blue cafe in the reception is more of a place that you feel as though you need to pay to be able to sit there. It says you can't bring your own drinks in which would be fine if the prices for food and drink weren't so extortionate here. I also would not recommend taking the tours from the hostel such as the Terracotta Warrior one, we went in it and were rather disappointed as we later found we could make our own way there for a lot cheaper and relatively easy as we met a few people that did it. One of the things about the tour is that they say you get a "free beer or tea", we assumed this was while we were out at the tour but in fact it was back at the hostel and even though we had paid for 2 people when we got our beer they actually shared one bottle between both of us! Pretty money-grabbing if you ask me especially when it was the cheapest beer which you could buy yourself over the road for the equivalent of 30p!!! If I were to come to Xi'an again I wouldn't stay here, I would however contemplate staying in the sister hostel Hantang Inn as that seemed to have a much better atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed four wonderful nights in this exquisite hotel. I find it so very hard to believe that anyone could have a problem with this hotel. Every member of the staff was genuinely friendly as well as being helpful. They made sure your stay was enjoyable without being pushy, or with their 'hand out'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Its a very nice hostel: the location is good, its in walking distance to the bell tower (appr. 10 minutes), but in a quiet area. The room is clean and the bed comfortable. Its actually more a hotel than a hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is overpriced (especially the breakfast) but there are a lot of food stalls and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Picking our way from where the airport bus dropped us, I wondered if we will ever find the hostel. Fortunately, the direction given along with the booking is accurate. They don't have room at ground level (I think) which made it a bit difficult to navigate the narrow staircase with our big trolley bags. Our room was definitely more than I imagine it should be, especially the hotel-style bathroom. The room itself also spacious enough. The food is good and the staff are great. Our favourite bus to navigate the city is Bus 603 which cost CNY1 for a trip, which can be taken at a bus stop not too far from the hostel (turn right from the hostel, turn right again at the alley entrance - passing in front of the IT shops, turn left at the end of the road and walk till reaching the underpass - the bus heading to Xian Railway Stn will stop here)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.