We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel but has some bad points!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 249 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel but has some bad points!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in a dorm room and it was lovely, pretty much the best one that we have stayed in so far in China. One bad point about this spot is that it's so big it doesn't feel like a hostel. There's also no kind of common room for people to meet as the Jamaica Blue cafe in the reception is more of a place that you feel as though you need to pay to be able to sit there. It says you can't bring your own drinks in which would be fine if the prices for food and drink weren't so extortionate here. I also would not recommend taking the tours from the hostel such as the Terracotta Warrior one, we went in it and were rather disappointed as we later found we could make our own way there for a lot cheaper and relatively easy as we met a few people that did it. One of the things about the tour is that they say you get a "free beer or tea", we assumed this was while we were out at the tour but in fact it was back at the hostel and even though we had paid for 2 people when we got our beer they actually shared one bottle between both of us! Pretty money-grabbing if you ask me especially when it was the cheapest beer which you could buy yourself over the road for the equivalent of 30p!!! If I were to come to Xi'an again I wouldn't stay here, I would however contemplate staying in the sister hostel Hantang Inn as that seemed to have a much better atmosphere!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    80
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
86
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed four wonderful nights in this exquisite hotel. I find it so very hard to believe that anyone could have a problem with this hotel. Every member of the staff was genuinely friendly as well as being helpful. They made sure your stay was enjoyable without being pushy, or with their 'hand out'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Its a very nice hostel: the location is good, its in walking distance to the bell tower (appr. 10 minutes), but in a quiet area. The room is clean and the bed comfortable. Its actually more a hotel than a hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is overpriced (especially the breakfast) but there are a lot of food stalls and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Picking our way from where the airport bus dropped us, I wondered if we will ever find the hostel. Fortunately, the direction given along with the booking is accurate. They don't have room at ground level (I think) which made it a bit difficult to navigate the narrow staircase with our big trolley bags. Our room was definitely more than I imagine it should be, especially the hotel-style bathroom. The room itself also spacious enough. The food is good and the staff are great. Our favourite bus to navigate the city is Bus 603 which cost CNY1 for a trip, which can be taken at a bus stop not too far from the hostel (turn right from the hostel, turn right again at the alley entrance - passing in front of the IT shops, turn left at the end of the road and walk till reaching the underpass - the bus heading to Xian Railway Stn will stop here)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hantang house is conveniently located within walking distance to the zhong lou subway station, although this took around 15mins by foot so it wouldn't be exactly comfortable if you have lots of luggage. The bus stop going to the train station is also nearby and costs 1rmb, however we opted to take one of the motorcycles to take us to save time and energy (15rmb). There is also a cheap grocery store in front of the hostel to buy snacks, water, etc.

Ambiance is homey and cozy. Rooms were clean and comfortable, although a bit dim. One downside is that there are no elevators so you just have to suck it up after a long day of walking :D There is also no wifi in the room, only in the common area. They serve good, western food also although a bit pricey. Most of the staff speak good english.

Since it was a holiday, and there were a lot of anticipated tourists, we took one of their organized terracotta tours. There were 30+ of us during the tour.. although it was a great way to meet new people, I do wish they set a limit to the number of participants or have it divided into batches to save time. I was also hoping that our entrance tickets were prebooked (since the tour was organized in advance) to save time, but this was not the case. So I think there's not much difference joining their tour and doing it on your own even on a holiday. DIY would save you more money. One good thing about the tour is the english guide, so you get to learn more tidbids but that's it I guess.

Overall, we were quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great holiday - staff are very helpful - most have good english. Quality of western food is excellent. I've been living in China for a year and it was brilliant to have a delicious steak in their Shuyan Hostel at the South Gate of city. Smoothies are out of this world.
Trips are pretty good, however check to see exactly what is involved in each trip and decide carefully. We went on the Terracotta Warriors trip and were taken to 'Tomb of First Emperor Qin Shi Huang' which turned out to be a hill. We had to walk for around 20mins in midday sun to admire the tomb/hill. Trip would be been perfect had we just done the warriors and headed back. Everyone on the tour was exhausted by this point. Guide was very knowledgable. We spoke to a lovely Irish couple who had just come back from 'Panda tour', despite paying more than they'd expected (around 300RMB each for just the pair of them to go on the tour) they were thrilled as they saw areound 7 Pandas and had some great photos to show for it.
We had one incident where on 1 trip to the Tomb of Jingdi, our 'driver' may have not actually bought 'real tickets'. It would have helped if we had asked for our own tickets and had them at all times.
Check your room for mossies before you go to sleep - there is a little supermarket on same street as Hantang Inn and Hantang House, so invest in a repellent if you are bothered by them. I woke up covered in bites! Mattress is nice and soft. Air con in rooms as well as ceiling fan.
Roof top garden was lovely - we spent an afternoon up here chilling out. Plenty of dvds to choose from. TV in room did not work, but wasn't a problem as we didn't have time to watch it. Bathroom is small and a 'wetroom' so you need to put your clothes somewhere high.
'Dumpling Party' on a Friday is a fun way to meet others in the Hostel. Internet is really cheap. Staff are happy to book taxis to take you to airport in advance, this was really helpful as taxis are hard to track down at peak times. Excellent location - main touristy places are walkable. Free maps at reception - make life easier.
I'd definately use this Hostel again, if in the area. Really nice atmosphere in the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is one of the best hostels i've stayed in China, and probably, one of the best i've stayed ever.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff that speaks very good english, lovely atmosphere, nice and cosy interior. Rooms and bathrooms are very modern and comfy, bathrooms are very clean.
One of the best things is food they serve- breakfast is just absolutely incredible, big and tasty portions, lunch and dinner is also extremely good. Nice drink deals as well.
Would most definitely recommend this place! Hope to come back there anytime soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 249 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.