We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hostel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hantang House
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hostel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're coming to Xian you should stay at the Hantang House or Inn. This hostel
Completely made our experience in Xian. They had fantastic food and REALLY good coffee. A really fun atmosphere and a great selection of tap beers. I was so surprised when we got up to our room
and it was like a hotel. I've never stayed in a hostel that was that fancy, clean or comfortable. The beds are SO
Comfortable. Usually Asian beds are hard but these were soft.

The tours they offer are good and quite good value. We did the terra-cotta warriors and the dance show/dumplings.

The staff are AMAZING. I can't believe how helpful they are. They would do anything for you and answer any questions and do everything they can to make sure you enjoy yourself.

I am 28 and enjoyed the 'hostel' side of it which is the bar upstairs. My mother stayed with us and she is 60 and she enjoyed it too. So pretty much all ages.

Highly recommend it. I'll go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    63
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
68
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a Double Room. Han Tang House was the best and least expensive hostel we stayed in China (not sure why it is listed under B&B/Inns). Details of our stay:

Pros
- Room: more like a hotel room than a hostel! Modern, clean, comfortable size.
- Location: within the city walls. Easy to walk to Bell Tower, city walls, and Muslim Quarter; public transportation nearby.
- Tour Coordination: no need to book anything before arriving- variety of trips offered daily.
- Free Wifi: only works in common areas.
- Staff: very helpful and friendly, all spoke English quite well.

Cons
Minor, but-
- Food and beer is expensive (but good)
- Live music can be a bit loud

Suggestions
- House vs. Inn: Han Tang has 2 hostels on the same small street. Know which one you are staying at to avoid momentary panic that you don't have a reservation. Coming from the airport bus you will pass the Inn first.
- Grocery Store: directly across the street

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Han tang house is a retreat in this busy city. We would stay here again, but the hotel should stop all smoking in the cafe area and think about noise from other guests returning in the night.
The hotel is very clean and we definetly recommend to stay here if you go to Xi'an.
The staff is the most competent and wellcoming people we have meet in China. If you nede anything, Sasha can help you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived at Han Tang Inn (the sister hostel of Hantang house) late in the night after 2am. Even if we booked before for Hantang house they moved us here. When we arrived in front of the building didn't know what to believe but because it was late there was no point to be suspicious and afraid of the accommodation (in China it can be tricky sometimes). So we step in, took the key and went to sleep. The room was amazingly good.. big and warm with 2 single beds bigger than the normal size, a desk and a tv. Inside this hostel it's like a small paradise with many courtyards (first floor and roof top) and sauna. Every morning we had breakfast in the hostel before going out. The breakfast is also cheap and consistent so you can have energy to explore the beauty of Xi'an. The stuff are nice, friendly and useful, giving us a good advice every time we asked. And even if you usually expect younger people in a hostel here you could find all the ages.
Also it's close to the Drum Tower (5min walking) so really convenient while visiting and when you don't have too much time to lose.
Amazing hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You should know that if you rent a private room, there's lots of variation. The type I reserved was apparently unavailable when I arrived, so they put me in another for the first two nights, then let me move for the next three. The first (201) was clean but VERY small, with no desk or table of any kind and a bathroom where the shower almost points right down at the toilet. It also was loud, as it was right next to the stairwell and the shared bathrooms. The second room (505) was wonderful--big, quiet, with a desk and large bathroom with separate, enclosed shower. Both rooms were clean, but there are no toiletries besides a towel (which is not changed out daily). The cafe/bar is nice, with good wireless and three shared computers. The tours they book are good and don't have forced shopping or weird stuff like that. One of the staff members is always grouchy, but all the rest are extremely friendly, helpful, and patient in communicating in English, even if they don't know it perfectly. (I speak Chinese, but I heard them talking with lots of travellers who don't.) If I went back to Xi'an, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were 4 ladies between 49 years & 69 years. We only require a clean safe budget hotel, and Hantang House met these requirements plus. I was a little worried because it was REALLY cheap but it was great. Twin rooms small but normal for China and beds comfortable. Food was good, and we ate there a couple times because too tired to go out in the evening. Mikki in the bar was great fun and a wealth of info plus she spoke very good english. Actually the whole staff was great. Helped take all our luggage upstairs. As others have mentioned there are stairs.

Direction info: We took airport bus to city stop at Melody Hotel. Walk toward the Bell Tower. Go down the under pass and come up to The East Street (it doesn't matter which side of the street). Walk to next signal light and go left (Nanxin Jie). About 1 1/2 blocks you'll see sign for Darling Hotel and that is entrance to ally. A previous poster showed a picture of ally entrance that helped us. It is an easy walk unless you have tons of luggage.

If we return, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed at the hantang for 3 nights in march,location is ideal to visit the bell and drum towers,muslim street and shopping centre,we booked the terracotta tour from here which was ok and included a nice chinese buffet lunch,rooms were clean and comfy,staff helpful and polite,live band on in bar on 2nd floor but couldnt here it from our room on same floor which was good,food prices seemed a little dear compared to other places,but when it arrived was plentiful and tasty,a plesent stay and worth the money.,

Room Tip: no lift so lower floors if bags are heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hantang House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.