We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 109 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Eilat, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hantang House is located in a small alley (Nanchang Xiang) that you can easily overlook. Even after I got to the hostel and saw the alley, when I tried to find it the other day, after taking a trip around the city, I couldn't remember where it was. So I'm adding a photo of the entrance to the alley, so you can memorize it. You can also take the Shaanxi People's Government as a landmark - the Nanchang Xiang Alley is located southern to it, just a few minutes' walk.
I arranged a pick-up from the airport to the hostel (but had to ask them again and again that they will really pick me up, because their reply wasn't very clear) which cost me 150 yuan. It was a good choice to take the pick up, because my flight got delayed 4 hours and I arrived in Xi'an at 1 in the morning. I was worried that the pick-up won't wait for me that long, but I was happy to see that they waited for me.
The hostel itself looks very modern. The room is very clean, but I had a feeling that the heating wasn't that good. Music is playing in the first floor and bar all day long, which is nice. The staff were all very nice, smiled and were willing to listen and spoke English well. The food that they serve is mostly Western (and so is more expensive). I could find only around 4 types of Chinese food in the snacks menu. The tours that they offer look great and their prices aren't very high. Overall it was a nice stay.

Chinese address for taxi: 西安市新城广场南新街南长巷32号 (I would recommend you to print out important addresses before you arrive in China, because it really helps)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
81
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent friendly staff and service willing to help with anything...great English..rooms and bathrooms immaculate and hot showers! Great cheap tours and Great night entertainment and overall best place to stay in china! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this upscale hostel, during our 20 days trip through China. We arrived quite early in the morning on the night train from Pingyao. We had not arranged a pick-up from the train station, but luckily we found someone holding a sign with the hostel name on it, waiting for someone else. We asked for a ride and the guy took us along, with was very nice after a long night on the train.

The Hantang House is located on a small alleyway and can be pretty hard to find. On the other hand, it is close to the subway and to the Drum and Tell Towers. You can also walk to the Muslim Quarter. So, the location is pretty good and one of the strong points of this place.

The double room we stayed in was very good. New, clean, with a good heater and a nice bathroom with lots of hot water. The room was quiet and I had a good sleep.

They had signs all over the room with the prices of items, in case of damage (towels, lamps, tv, pillows, etc). Everywhere, they were clear: "you break, you pay", "If you use the towels as a rug, you will be fined". Not very polite and welcoming, I guess. The wi-fi on the room was very weak, and most of the times we had to go to the lobby to check our e-mail or plan our trip.

The breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. You could eat in the café downstairs, but the prices were really high, and not really worth it. We walked to a bakery around the corner, where the food were good and the price, much better.

The staff were very friendly, but not really efficient. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and they gave us the direction of a noodle place, which was mentioned on Lonely Planet. We walked 20 minutes to the restaurant, but it was closed and no longer existed at that address. We also asked for a cab to be arranged to takes us to the airport (at 5 am), but when we got there, there was no taxi, even tough we had already paid. We had to rush to the streets at half past five in the morning, and get another cab (it was very cold and raining on that day). Also, we had some clothes washed and they came back with a really strong cigarette smell. Overall, we felt the staff was young and keen to help, but not very well trained and not efficient at all.

We paid 28 USD per night for a double room (through Hostel Bookers) and we felt it was good value for money. The standard price, on the other hand, was much higher, so it is advisable to book online before arrival.

Overall, it was a good place for the money we paid. The rooms was good, and the hostel seemed new and had a good vibe. The prices of the downstairs cafe was really high and the lack of wi-fi in the rooms was annoying. But the worst part was the service which, although friendly, seemed inefficient most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

after travelling on a 12 hour night train from Beijing to Xi'an where the only tickets available where the standing. (not advisable) we desperatly wanted a place to freshen up.

Han tang house is hard to find by foot as is placed down a small alleyway like road. However with some help from the locals we found it.

very nice bar area, food a little bit on the expensive side but also was very nice. the room was 160 CNY for a private double again one of the most expensive weve paid. the matress was very comfortable and we had a good night sleep. will stay here for a second night but opt for the dorm rooms at 35 CNY each.

staff are very helpful and speak some english which is a definate plus.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Strong points: Clean bathrooms, nice beds, and a powerful heater (we stayed in winter). The guesthouse is on an alleyway where only motorscooters pass by (and then seem to be all electric and silent).

Weak points: Little windows and no view. Food and beer at the guesthouse was quite expensive (especially beer). The staff was a bit mechanical (helpful but not warm).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night during my 2 day stay at Xi'an.
I picked this place based on the good trip advisor reviews and very convenient - close to the bell/drum towers and walkable to the muslim quarter
The room was small - albeit tiny and comfortable
The staff speak passable english and are quite helpful
I really cant find anything wrong with this place - except for the size of the room
the cafe/bar downstairs only had european beers and was pricey by chinese standards.
But, it looks like the place where the local chinese youth hangout (moderately hip/middle class). I would have preferred a more moderate backpacker vibe, but then it is just me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The dorms are really clean, with new fornitures, nice beds (all of em with their lamp, shelf and plug in) and a huge private bathroom with a great shower, wich is kinda hard to find in China.
the atmosphere was quite cold, dont even think to find backpackers chatting and sharing travel stories in the lobby, the reception and the first floor are a live music bar haunted by locals and guests.
staff is helpfull and professional but they dont even give u smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.