We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and good value for money, but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 613 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and good value for money, but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this upscale hostel, during our 20 days trip through China. We arrived quite early in the morning on the night train from Pingyao. We had not arranged a pick-up from the train station, but luckily we found someone holding a sign with the hostel name on it, waiting for someone else. We asked for a ride and the guy took us along, with was very nice after a long night on the train.

The Hantang House is located on a small alleyway and can be pretty hard to find. On the other hand, it is close to the subway and to the Drum and Tell Towers. You can also walk to the Muslim Quarter. So, the location is pretty good and one of the strong points of this place.

The double room we stayed in was very good. New, clean, with a good heater and a nice bathroom with lots of hot water. The room was quiet and I had a good sleep.

They had signs all over the room with the prices of items, in case of damage (towels, lamps, tv, pillows, etc). Everywhere, they were clear: "you break, you pay", "If you use the towels as a rug, you will be fined". Not very polite and welcoming, I guess. The wi-fi on the room was very weak, and most of the times we had to go to the lobby to check our e-mail or plan our trip.

The breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. You could eat in the café downstairs, but the prices were really high, and not really worth it. We walked to a bakery around the corner, where the food were good and the price, much better.

The staff were very friendly, but not really efficient. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and they gave us the direction of a noodle place, which was mentioned on Lonely Planet. We walked 20 minutes to the restaurant, but it was closed and no longer existed at that address. We also asked for a cab to be arranged to takes us to the airport (at 5 am), but when we got there, there was no taxi, even tough we had already paid. We had to rush to the streets at half past five in the morning, and get another cab (it was very cold and raining on that day). Also, we had some clothes washed and they came back with a really strong cigarette smell. Overall, we felt the staff was young and keen to help, but not very well trained and not efficient at all.

We paid 28 USD per night for a double room (through Hostel Bookers) and we felt it was good value for money. The standard price, on the other hand, was much higher, so it is advisable to book online before arrival.

Overall, it was a good place for the money we paid. The rooms was good, and the hostel seemed new and had a good vibe. The prices of the downstairs cafe was really high and the lack of wi-fi in the rooms was annoying. But the worst part was the service which, although friendly, seemed inefficient most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luizniquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

after travelling on a 12 hour night train from Beijing to Xi'an where the only tickets available where the standing. (not advisable) we desperatly wanted a place to freshen up.

Han tang house is hard to find by foot as is placed down a small alleyway like road. However with some help from the locals we found it.

very nice bar area, food a little bit on the expensive side but also was very nice. the room was 160 CNY for a private double again one of the most expensive weve paid. the matress was very comfortable and we had a good night sleep. will stay here for a second night but opt for the dorm rooms at 35 CNY each.

staff are very helpful and speak some english which is a definate plus.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandJackie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Strong points: Clean bathrooms, nice beds, and a powerful heater (we stayed in winter). The guesthouse is on an alleyway where only motorscooters pass by (and then seem to be all electric and silent).

Weak points: Little windows and no view. Food and beer at the guesthouse was quite expensive (especially beer). The staff was a bit mechanical (helpful but not warm).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maskotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night during my 2 day stay at Xi'an.
I picked this place based on the good trip advisor reviews and very convenient - close to the bell/drum towers and walkable to the muslim quarter
The room was small - albeit tiny and comfortable
The staff speak passable english and are quite helpful
I really cant find anything wrong with this place - except for the size of the room
the cafe/bar downstairs only had european beers and was pricey by chinese standards.
But, it looks like the place where the local chinese youth hangout (moderately hip/middle class). I would have preferred a more moderate backpacker vibe, but then it is just me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The dorms are really clean, with new fornitures, nice beds (all of em with their lamp, shelf and plug in) and a huge private bathroom with a great shower, wich is kinda hard to find in China.
the atmosphere was quite cold, dont even think to find backpackers chatting and sharing travel stories in the lobby, the reception and the first floor are a live music bar haunted by locals and guests.
staff is helpfull and professional but they dont even give u smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From Airport Busstop at Xi Da Jie to the hostel may sweat you a bit but to go here and there from the other side of Han Tang House is super convenient since the busstop is just a few steps away. All staffs are excellent in catering you whatever needed with very warm and friendly manner. We've had wonderful time during our 4 days stay here. Thanks everyone, we love you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hostel meets mid range hotel. The rooms are surprisingly nice with awesome bathrooms and very nice bedding. There are the normal business traveler accessories in each room and the design with tile, marble and dark wood was beautifully surprising. Combine great rooms with a typical hostel bar/cafe atmosphere and its a fun place to meet some wonderful people. Interent was good, fast and free. They make it easy to book tours to all of the hot sites around Xi'an and I felt for what was offered, their tour prices were very fair. If I had to offer a complaint, I offer a minor one in that I found the food prices for breakfast to be just a bit high. I did have breakfast once and while it was very good, I had a hard time seeing the value for what was served. Minor complaint though - The location was nice and there are so many wonderful food options close this is a non-issue. I would definently stay here again on a return trip to Xi'an.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#71 of 2,187 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#52 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 613 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing