We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and good value for money, but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Niteroi, RJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and good value for money, but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this upscale hostel, during our 20 days trip through China. We arrived quite early in the morning on the night train from Pingyao. We had not arranged a pick-up from the train station, but luckily we found someone holding a sign with the hostel name on it, waiting for someone else. We asked for a ride and the guy took us along, with was very nice after a long night on the train.

The Hantang House is located on a small alleyway and can be pretty hard to find. On the other hand, it is close to the subway and to the Drum and Tell Towers. You can also walk to the Muslim Quarter. So, the location is pretty good and one of the strong points of this place.

The double room we stayed in was very good. New, clean, with a good heater and a nice bathroom with lots of hot water. The room was quiet and I had a good sleep.

They had signs all over the room with the prices of items, in case of damage (towels, lamps, tv, pillows, etc). Everywhere, they were clear: "you break, you pay", "If you use the towels as a rug, you will be fined". Not very polite and welcoming, I guess. The wi-fi on the room was very weak, and most of the times we had to go to the lobby to check our e-mail or plan our trip.

The breakfast wasn't included in the room rate. You could eat in the café downstairs, but the prices were really high, and not really worth it. We walked to a bakery around the corner, where the food were good and the price, much better.

The staff were very friendly, but not really efficient. We asked for a restaurant recommendation and they gave us the direction of a noodle place, which was mentioned on Lonely Planet. We walked 20 minutes to the restaurant, but it was closed and no longer existed at that address. We also asked for a cab to be arranged to takes us to the airport (at 5 am), but when we got there, there was no taxi, even tough we had already paid. We had to rush to the streets at half past five in the morning, and get another cab (it was very cold and raining on that day). Also, we had some clothes washed and they came back with a really strong cigarette smell. Overall, we felt the staff was young and keen to help, but not very well trained and not efficient at all.

We paid 28 USD per night for a double room (through Hostel Bookers) and we felt it was good value for money. The standard price, on the other hand, was much higher, so it is advisable to book online before arrival.

Overall, it was a good place for the money we paid. The rooms was good, and the hostel seemed new and had a good vibe. The prices of the downstairs cafe was really high and the lack of wi-fi in the rooms was annoying. But the worst part was the service which, although friendly, seemed inefficient most of the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    73
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
79
29
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

after travelling on a 12 hour night train from Beijing to Xi'an where the only tickets available where the standing. (not advisable) we desperatly wanted a place to freshen up.

Han tang house is hard to find by foot as is placed down a small alleyway like road. However with some help from the locals we found it.

very nice bar area, food a little bit on the expensive side but also was very nice. the room was 160 CNY for a private double again one of the most expensive weve paid. the matress was very comfortable and we had a good night sleep. will stay here for a second night but opt for the dorm rooms at 35 CNY each.

staff are very helpful and speak some english which is a definate plus.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Strong points: Clean bathrooms, nice beds, and a powerful heater (we stayed in winter). The guesthouse is on an alleyway where only motorscooters pass by (and then seem to be all electric and silent).

Weak points: Little windows and no view. Food and beer at the guesthouse was quite expensive (especially beer). The staff was a bit mechanical (helpful but not warm).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night during my 2 day stay at Xi'an.
I picked this place based on the good trip advisor reviews and very convenient - close to the bell/drum towers and walkable to the muslim quarter
The room was small - albeit tiny and comfortable
The staff speak passable english and are quite helpful
I really cant find anything wrong with this place - except for the size of the room
the cafe/bar downstairs only had european beers and was pricey by chinese standards.
But, it looks like the place where the local chinese youth hangout (moderately hip/middle class). I would have preferred a more moderate backpacker vibe, but then it is just me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The dorms are really clean, with new fornitures, nice beds (all of em with their lamp, shelf and plug in) and a huge private bathroom with a great shower, wich is kinda hard to find in China.
the atmosphere was quite cold, dont even think to find backpackers chatting and sharing travel stories in the lobby, the reception and the first floor are a live music bar haunted by locals and guests.
staff is helpfull and professional but they dont even give u smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From Airport Busstop at Xi Da Jie to the hostel may sweat you a bit but to go here and there from the other side of Han Tang House is super convenient since the busstop is just a few steps away. All staffs are excellent in catering you whatever needed with very warm and friendly manner. We've had wonderful time during our 4 days stay here. Thanks everyone, we love you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hostel meets mid range hotel. The rooms are surprisingly nice with awesome bathrooms and very nice bedding. There are the normal business traveler accessories in each room and the design with tile, marble and dark wood was beautifully surprising. Combine great rooms with a typical hostel bar/cafe atmosphere and its a fun place to meet some wonderful people. Interent was good, fast and free. They make it easy to book tours to all of the hot sites around Xi'an and I felt for what was offered, their tour prices were very fair. If I had to offer a complaint, I offer a minor one in that I found the food prices for breakfast to be just a bit high. I did have breakfast once and while it was very good, I had a hard time seeing the value for what was served. Minor complaint though - The location was nice and there are so many wonderful food options close this is a non-issue. I would definently stay here again on a return trip to Xi'an.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.