We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel more than a Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Save Saved
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hantang House
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 96 Xi'an B&B and Inns
rome
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Hotel more than a Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The dorms are really clean, with new fornitures, nice beds (all of em with their lamp, shelf and plug in) and a huge private bathroom with a great shower, wich is kinda hard to find in China.
the atmosphere was quite cold, dont even think to find backpackers chatting and sharing travel stories in the lobby, the reception and the first floor are a live music bar haunted by locals and guests.
staff is helpfull and professional but they dont even give u smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
69
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From Airport Busstop at Xi Da Jie to the hostel may sweat you a bit but to go here and there from the other side of Han Tang House is super convenient since the busstop is just a few steps away. All staffs are excellent in catering you whatever needed with very warm and friendly manner. We've had wonderful time during our 4 days stay here. Thanks everyone, we love you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hostel meets mid range hotel. The rooms are surprisingly nice with awesome bathrooms and very nice bedding. There are the normal business traveler accessories in each room and the design with tile, marble and dark wood was beautifully surprising. Combine great rooms with a typical hostel bar/cafe atmosphere and its a fun place to meet some wonderful people. Interent was good, fast and free. They make it easy to book tours to all of the hot sites around Xi'an and I felt for what was offered, their tour prices were very fair. If I had to offer a complaint, I offer a minor one in that I found the food prices for breakfast to be just a bit high. I did have breakfast once and while it was very good, I had a hard time seeing the value for what was served. Minor complaint though - The location was nice and there are so many wonderful food options close this is a non-issue. I would definently stay here again on a return trip to Xi'an.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had to stay here as Han tang inn booked up our rooms. This hostel is more of a hotel and really not for people on a budget. The food is ridiculously expensive, even bottled water and drinks were unaffordable.
The atmosphere isn't particularly great and we didn't really get the chance to talk to anyone else here.
The rooms are nice, but again they had booked our rooms up so we had to swap rooms. There is a sign saying don't use the towels for a rug in the bathroom as you'll be charged for it but the floors are stone and get really slippy! Also our second room was right on the stairs next to a public bathroom.
I felt like it was more of a hotel rather than a backpackers hostel as it advertises to be. Overall a bit disappointed, but still a nice place to stay if not so concerned about the prices. Out of the two Han tang hostels, go for the Han tang inn just down the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in the sister hostel, the inn. This was our first hostel experience in china and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised! We really liked this place and enjoyed the free dumpling party. We did a huge washing for 51rmb which arrrived the next afternoon to our room clean and dry, though it did smell smokey. We were on the third floor where the Internet was loathsome so all skypeing and such had to take place in the bar below. The bar was great, Very social atmosphere and friendly staff, I even watched a movie with other travellers as we waited for our sleeper train. We liked the food, especially the dumplings (20rmb) which we had for breakfast! Our room was nice, wee like everywhere else in china but it had lots of storage space, a desk etc and even a tv if you wanted. The only complaint would be that it was quite chilly. The bathroom was a wet room which was a little weird and seemed to take all day to clear but otherwise top class. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. The place is excellent value, their double rooms are a good size with king size beds and a decent sized bathroom. Our room had a TV, with three Chinese-language channels. The reception was terrible, so I didn't really see the point for either foreign or Chinese guests. Our bathroom smelt a bit funny, perhaps of rusting pipes.

We went on organised trips to see the Terracotta Warriors and the Tomb of Jiangdi, and both were excellent, and everything ran smoothly. There's an overpriced cafe on the ground floor of the hostel. Better and cheaper food could be found at its sister hostel Hantang Inn 100 m up the road. The staff were efficient, but we found them to be a little unhelpful at times when asking for assistance.

At night, even though we were on the 4th floor (which is a long walk!) we were often woken by the sounds of traffic and other noise on the street. Overall, this place is excellent value, clean and safe; with a little more effort, it could be truly wonderful.

Room Tip: They have live music in the bar on the 1st floor, so getting a room on a higher floor is worthwhile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights after accidently booking the Hantang Inn down the road for the first night (no where near as nice).

Large bed, with a window and good air conditioning. Got to say, I was bitten really badly by mossies in Xi'ian, so I appreciated the repellent box in the room where you insert the little tabs things. The bed was comfy, there was a cover over the hard mattress which really helped take the edge of the typical rock hard asian mattress. The bathroom was big, with two kinds of shower. However, there is no bathmat (but there is a sign which says to not use the towels as bathmats or you will be charged for them) and the floor gets really wet and slippy. Presumably, the best way to sort this is to provide a bathroom mat?!

The location is good but getting around in Xi'ian any other way apart from walking is pretty difficult. There are hardly any taxi's - we gave up one evening after 2 hours. The buses are super busy (we did use the one out to the warriors though and that was fine) and not even sure where the metro is.

Had breakfast in the hostel one morning, it was expensive and not that great to be honest. Although the coffee is good. I was there on a Friday night and I could hear the live music going on till quite late, take ear plugs!

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible would hopefully be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi
Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hantang House 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao and HostelBookers so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.