We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel, good trips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 506 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent hostel, good trips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. The place is excellent value, their double rooms are a good size with king size beds and a decent sized bathroom. Our room had a TV, with three Chinese-language channels. The reception was terrible, so I didn't really see the point for either foreign or Chinese guests. Our bathroom smelt a bit funny, perhaps of rusting pipes.

We went on organised trips to see the Terracotta Warriors and the Tomb of Jiangdi, and both were excellent, and everything ran smoothly. There's an overpriced cafe on the ground floor of the hostel. Better and cheaper food could be found at its sister hostel Hantang Inn 100 m up the road. The staff were efficient, but we found them to be a little unhelpful at times when asking for assistance.

At night, even though we were on the 4th floor (which is a long walk!) we were often woken by the sounds of traffic and other noise on the street. Overall, this place is excellent value, clean and safe; with a little more effort, it could be truly wonderful.

Room Tip: They have live music in the bar on the 1st floor, so getting a room on a higher floor is worthwhile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
99
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights after accidently booking the Hantang Inn down the road for the first night (no where near as nice).

Large bed, with a window and good air conditioning. Got to say, I was bitten really badly by mossies in Xi'ian, so I appreciated the repellent box in the room where you insert the little tabs things. The bed was comfy, there was a cover over the hard mattress which really helped take the edge of the typical rock hard asian mattress. The bathroom was big, with two kinds of shower. However, there is no bathmat (but there is a sign which says to not use the towels as bathmats or you will be charged for them) and the floor gets really wet and slippy. Presumably, the best way to sort this is to provide a bathroom mat?!

The location is good but getting around in Xi'ian any other way apart from walking is pretty difficult. There are hardly any taxi's - we gave up one evening after 2 hours. The buses are super busy (we did use the one out to the warriors though and that was fine) and not even sure where the metro is.

Had breakfast in the hostel one morning, it was expensive and not that great to be honest. Although the coffee is good. I was there on a Friday night and I could hear the live music going on till quite late, take ear plugs!

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible would hopefully be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've never stayed in a hostel before-but I couldn't find a hotel with great reviews in Xi'an so I thought we'd give this a go-I was pleasantly surprised!
We booked a double ensuite for ourselves(mid 50s) and the 8-bed dorm for our son (24).
The room was a good size and the bed was king-sized, firm but that's what we like. Clean fresh white bedlinen. Big bathroom with good shower. No toiletries-but I didn't expect them. Towels were skimpy tho-maybe you're expected to bring your own in a hostel? The dorm had large singles and an ensuite bathroom-got good reviews from No 1 son who's been backpacking for over a year.
Location was OK-we did a lot of walking in Xi'an.
Bar/lobby had a great vibe-lots of different nationalities and age-groups too. Food/drink was expensive by Chinese standards but good quality-can recommend the egg&bacon sandwich for breakfast.
Took the tour to Terracotta Army with Lady Jaja who was very knowledgeable and just a little bit scary!

Cons;
Have already been said: noisy at night-lots of loud talking and door slamming-didn't really notice the music on the 3rd floor.
Xi'an is not a clean city-it's dirty and dusty, our bathroom floor got dirty the first day and never got cleaned despite putting the 'make-up the room' sign on the door-is this an unreasonable request? Making up the room consisted of emptying the bathroom bin.
Despite this I'd stay there again-I'd just be more forceful in my request for a clean floor!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I arrived late around midnight on a weekday night, following a few backpackers into the wrong Hantang down the street. After being redirected to the right address that is only one minute away, I was greeted and quickly checked in by a friendly staff member. I got a superior twin private (there were no singles) way up on the fourth floor, which was a bit of a hike because of the lack of an elevator and Wi-fi was spotty because the closest access point, as far as I could tell, was on the third floor. Nonetheless, there is a very strong signal when you are connecting in the lobby.

Some people compare this place to a hotel, which may be true for the ensuite rooms. This may indeed be a more attractive option than, say, cheap Chinese motel chains like Han Ting, Super 8, etc., which have a sterile vibe and, at the same time, the smell of cigarettes as well as loud tourists traveling in packs and having conversations between rooms with the doors open. That is not to say that this place is necessarily quiet, as there is live music downstairs at night, which you will inevitably hear, even on the fourth floor, so do not expect to go to bed early. Also, you should bring all your own toiletries, as none are provided and the ones that are in the room are for sale. The bed was very clean and comfortable for getting over jet lag, other furnishings sparse, and cable TV a little spotty like the WiFi.

The location is great for traveling to the major sites within the city, and I liked the fact that you could use the other Han Tang's facilities too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place was amazing and I would highly recommend anyone visiting Xi'an to stay here. My room was large, comfortable and almost like a decent hotel room. The staff were very friendly, were always available for information and have no problems in sorting out onward travel etc. The rooftop garden is a perfect place to unwind whilst the tours they organise are comfortable and well run. The location is great too. You are only a 5 min walk to the Muslim Quarter and The Bell or Drum Towers whilst there is visible information on walls to the other sights such as 'Big Goose Pagoda'. Stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in central Xi'an close to all the central attractions. The double room we had was very clean and spacious more like a hotel than than a hostel. The food and drink was expensive by Chinese standards but there are plenty of places around and you can eat elsewhere.

The receptionists spoke good English and were very friendly. We booked the Hang Tang Dynasty show at the very last minute, which they arranged efficiently and accompanied us there in a rickshaw.

Overall a good place to stay in central Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at HangTang house and it was absolutely great. We called them upfront to arrange a taxi and when my flight got delayed, I could easily change it on the phone. They also have a number of people speaking decent English, which is a big plus. The double room was really nice and even had a rain-shower. Overall the room is outstanding for the price you pay (approx 20/25 euro for a double), only they need to clean it a little bit better: there were some hairs in the showers and the ground wasn't cleaned near the toilet.

The hostel is packed with amenities, laundry service in-house available. But the best part of this hostel is definitely the in-house pub with its atmosphere and the broad selection of beers / wines and great value breakfast! Top accomodation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 506 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.