We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a hotel at hostel prices! Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 521 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like staying in a hotel at hostel prices! Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place was amazing and I would highly recommend anyone visiting Xi'an to stay here. My room was large, comfortable and almost like a decent hotel room. The staff were very friendly, were always available for information and have no problems in sorting out onward travel etc. The rooftop garden is a perfect place to unwind whilst the tours they organise are comfortable and well run. The location is great too. You are only a 5 min walk to the Muslim Quarter and The Bell or Drum Towers whilst there is visible information on walls to the other sights such as 'Big Goose Pagoda'. Stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
104
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay in central Xi'an close to all the central attractions. The double room we had was very clean and spacious more like a hotel than than a hostel. The food and drink was expensive by Chinese standards but there are plenty of places around and you can eat elsewhere.

The receptionists spoke good English and were very friendly. We booked the Hang Tang Dynasty show at the very last minute, which they arranged efficiently and accompanied us there in a rickshaw.

Overall a good place to stay in central Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed three nights at HangTang house and it was absolutely great. We called them upfront to arrange a taxi and when my flight got delayed, I could easily change it on the phone. They also have a number of people speaking decent English, which is a big plus. The double room was really nice and even had a rain-shower. Overall the room is outstanding for the price you pay (approx 20/25 euro for a double), only they need to clean it a little bit better: there were some hairs in the showers and the ground wasn't cleaned near the toilet.

The hostel is packed with amenities, laundry service in-house available. But the best part of this hostel is definitely the in-house pub with its atmosphere and the broad selection of beers / wines and great value breakfast! Top accomodation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtunzini, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great value for money! Excellent modern rooms. Cheap laundry service. Wi fi. Restauant with good food and live entertainment in the evenings :-) This hostel is almost as good as a hotel!! Just much better priced :-) Staff very friendly and helpful. Good central location close to bus stops.

Room Tip: Choose the lowest possible floor, as there is no lift :-)
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We were grateful for the free train station pick up, with the mass of people congregated at the station.

The hostel is located pretty near to ur usual Xi'an sights, and whatever u need is pretty much easily within reach.

We stayed in a dbl bed ensuite room and were impressed by what was provided, after our experience with another hostel in Beijing.

I should also commend the hostel for hosting their own tours. This means no compulsory shopping during the tour, and valuable advice on where and how much to purchase the mandatory teracotta figurines.

The bar area is a nice place to chill. However, as it was open to public (membership schemes are offered I think), it can get quite crowded and the local crowd can get pretty rowdy at times. That's probably the only negative from our stay.

Overall an 8/10 for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Had a bed in one of the female dorm rooms.

+ The bed was very comfortable! The room had en suite toilet and shower.
+ It was easy walk to the bell and drum towers as well to the muslim areas.

- The lobby of the hostel was a bit small, there wasn't much room to hang around.
- The cafe/restaurant was way too expensive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

An awesome hostel, staff couldn't do enough to help. Lovely room, hostel looks like a 3 star hotel... Situated central Xi'an and easy to get to all of the amenities. Free wifi and computers on hand if you need to use.

Good trips, excellent find!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#9 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#87 of 2,170 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.