We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hantang House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hantang House to your Saves list
Hantang House
No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 505 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
birmingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

An awesome hostel, staff couldn't do enough to help. Lovely room, hostel looks like a 3 star hotel... Situated central Xi'an and easy to get to all of the amenities. Free wifi and computers on hand if you need to use.

Good trips, excellent find!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    89
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
93
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really blown away by this place. Definitely one of the better hostels we've stayed in in China. Make sure if they pick you up from the train station that you understand their sister hostel (Han Tang Inn) is just down the street. If you're staying at the Han Tang House, look for the Jamaica Blue sign above the door.

Pros:

Rooms are almost brand new and clean. The Jamaica Blue Cafe (apparently an international chain) downstairs has great tasting food (the pesto chicken sandwich is gooood). A/C works like a champ in the room. Less than 10 minutes from metro line and Bell/Drum Towers. Friendly staff.

Cons:

Not necessarily the hostel's fault, but more the faulty building quality, but the window in our room sounded like it was wide open; when I checked, there's no sealant around the window, so it any late night deliveries or dark barks sound like they're in your room sometimes. And yes, the price of the drinks and food in the cafe' are a bit steep, but it's high quality, and you're paying for the convenience (I've never found CHEAP hostel food that was this good). No internet (wi-fi or hardline) in the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor or higher to avoid live music noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a lovely place! Everything seems new; the room was excellent (clean and comfortable), including the bathroom which had a shower enclosure (very rare in China). It did indeed feel like staying in a hotel, not a hostel.

English speaking staff was very friendly. The hostel runs several free events (dumpling party, live music ...).

Location is good (5 minutes to metro, many street restaurants around, close to Bell Tower, walkable distance to muslim quarter)

Downsides: no elevator, no wi-fi in the rooms (only main lobby), expensive food and drinks in the bar.

The correct GPS coordinates provided by booking.com are wrong due to China's map offset. We measured the location of the hostel @ N34°15.832, E108°56.906.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hostel is in a great location, about a 10 minute walk from the Bell Tower. The facilities are very clean, spacious and comfortable. We had an initial mix up with our booking and arrived at 2.00am (after flight delays) to find our rooms were not available but the night staff went out of their way to work something out and the rest of our stay was great. The staff are what makes this place, they were all very approachable and extremely helpful. There are a large range of tours and travel advise available and The restaurant has great food, drinks and snacks. The dumpling making evening was great fun and a hit with my teenage daughter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms. I can't comment on the dorms as we are a family of 4 (with 2 young children) so we booked one of their ensuite triple rooms. After the misery of the Harmony Guest House, this place is paradise. We paid the same amount for both hostels and Hantang is a million times better.
The downside? Food and drink is overpriced but you don't have to eat or drink here but it is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hostel is designed more as a hotel, clean dorm rooms with comftorable beds and good aircondintioning. Reception seemed constantly understaffed and not being separate for the bar, resulting in several mistakes. We had 9 people checked into our 8 bed dorm, housekeeping was changing sheets at 11pm and 7am with the lights on when people were trying to sleep.

The only common area in the building is at a cafe/bar, which is a Jamaican Blue coffee chain which means paying the equivalent prices you would in Australia.The quality of the pastas and wraps were very good, but remain ridiculously overpriced (note: the quality does not extend to the cocktail menu). We also were asked to move tables to accommodate outside guests (who would be spending more money than us) which we found irritating since we had bought drinks and were staying there. We found the common areas were heavily polluted with smoke from staff and guests with no outside courtyard or non smoking area. Our clothes stank of smoke after 15 minutes of checking emails, this is the only area where the Internet worked.

Also the 'good luck' pet turtles they have at the front door that are kept in a small basin with nothing more than a few inches of water is not a welcome sight for animal lovers.

Room Tip: No lift, so second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel gets a full five rating for one major reason - our flight was horribly delayed and so we didn't arrive untill the awful hours of the morning but the hotel checked this and sent a car to pick us up. A great surprise but so welcome, and not the kind of service you often get.. It wasn't cheap, but the price is set by the taxis, not the hotel, and the airport is some way out of the city. The rooms are fantastic, great quality considering the relative price. Pay a little extra, get on the top floor private rooms, and it is reasonably quiet (barring the usual noises you get in a city). Yes the bar is a little 'American' style, and the beer isn't cheap, but the coffee is decent, they make good biscuits, and the breakfast is pretty good. And, if you're a fan of 90's hip-hop, then the music is fine.

Room Tip: Get a private room on the top floor, as it will be quiet and comfortable, but be aware THERE IS NO L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hantang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hantang House

Address: No.32 Nanchang Alley, Nanxin Street, South of New City Plaza, Xi'an 731000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 505 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hantang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hantang House China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hantang House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.