We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love noodles this is the place to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,523 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If you love noodles this is the place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went for dinner. The service was good, pretty clean and the food was very good.
We ordered the classic noodles, 3 mts long with beef, were very good, also we had an egg soup and dumplings that were good. Portions are huge, so be prepared to share. Not expensive, good price-quality value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A little above a average restaurant, nothing special if you've eaten at a fair amount of Chinese restaurants. Biangbiang noodles were pretty good, and the sweet and sour pork is always a hit with other foreigners, but not any better than most places. If you're nearby it's worth a visit, but don't bother crossing the city for it as there will undoubtedly be other restaurants near you that are as good or better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent noodles post water show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent dinner after the water show at the goose pagoda. We ate spinach noodles, belt noodles (must try) and dumplings. Plenty of food, good portion size and very tasty. Dumplings came with nice chilli sauce. Good value for money, efficient service and photo menu. Very helpful in showing westerners how to eat noodles! Only nag is you have to pay for serviettes!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value - excellent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This visit to the Big Goose Pagoda North plaza was an experience. Our helpful waitress spoke English. The portions were huge so we cancelled a dish when we saw the size and we still took some away neatly wrapped. Recommend the sweet and sour pork and the pork filled round flat breads but also the omelet in a wafer thin flat bread. Plenty of Chinese (not sure if locals as this is a tourist spot for the home crowd too!) who seemed to enjoy copious amounts of food and only one other western couple when we were there. I would guess this is a no frills modern take on Chinese food. Very cheap by western standards - brilliant for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“So nice we went back twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is more than one location and this review is for the one on Xiaozhai E Road. It was easy to find just east of the Big Goose Pagoda North plaza. It was a little difficult to communicate with the staff because no one spoke English, however the menu has pictures and a brief and literal translation to english, so just point to the picture and you'll be fine. It's usually full of locals but we didn't have to wait for a table. For 160¥ We ordered pork spare ribs, spicy fried shrimp, fried noodles and sautéed garlic vegetables and tea. We went back a second night and a stand out dish for me was the candied sweet potatoes..yummy. Seek this one out if you're looking for fresh, authentic food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.