We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent noodles post water show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,611 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent noodles post water show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent dinner after the water show at the goose pagoda. We ate spinach noodles, belt noodles (must try) and dumplings. Plenty of food, good portion size and very tasty. Dumplings came with nice chilli sauce. Good value for money, efficient service and photo menu. Very helpful in showing westerners how to eat noodles! Only nag is you have to pay for serviettes!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value - excellent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This visit to the Big Goose Pagoda North plaza was an experience. Our helpful waitress spoke English. The portions were huge so we cancelled a dish when we saw the size and we still took some away neatly wrapped. Recommend the sweet and sour pork and the pork filled round flat breads but also the omelet in a wafer thin flat bread. Plenty of Chinese (not sure if locals as this is a tourist spot for the home crowd too!) who seemed to enjoy copious amounts of food and only one other western couple when we were there. I would guess this is a no frills modern take on Chinese food. Very cheap by western standards - brilliant for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“So nice we went back twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is more than one location and this review is for the one on Xiaozhai E Road. It was easy to find just east of the Big Goose Pagoda North plaza. It was a little difficult to communicate with the staff because no one spoke English, however the menu has pictures and a brief and literal translation to english, so just point to the picture and you'll be fine. It's usually full of locals but we didn't have to wait for a table. For 160¥ We ordered pork spare ribs, spicy fried shrimp, fried noodles and sautéed garlic vegetables and tea. We went back a second night and a stand out dish for me was the candied sweet potatoes..yummy. Seek this one out if you're looking for fresh, authentic food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Below-average noodles. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The time we visited this restaurant, the place was packed, but not a single local was in the place. In just about any place, regardless of which country, the absence of locals is always a bad sign ... in this case, the that proves to be the case too, as the noodles here are bland and fliury, the broth watery, and basically just a generic noodle dish, rather than a noodle dish of any particular style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
“One of the best noodles in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Fare Chinese meal for someone who is not used to Chinese food.
Noodles are appreciated all around the round, the way of making them changes, and Xi'an is applauded for this specialty.
I have to admit, beside street noodles, this place might be one of the best I have ever tested. Very delicate in taste, subtile flavors.

Cosi and interesting decoration.
Service is fast and proficient.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.