We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good, but I think mediocre Chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,597 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Service was good, but I think mediocre Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Whether they were trying to be kind or hide us away, they put our little family of 4 in a private room. We had a laugh about it, being a very blonde family we stick out a bit in China. The service however, was excellent, they attended to us with great efficiency and big smiles. It was really quite a nice feel to the downstairs area of the restaurant, it was busy, and you had to queue for a table. The food was just okay, but in fairness the noodles are their specialty and we didnt order them as we had noodles for lunch. One example was the duck, which was all bones and skin, and little meat. But this is China and certain foods just get lost in translation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good noodles for very reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had been there on a saturday night and it was busy. Place is famous for special noodle type and it was hard to decide. There are lots of options for other than noodle dishes. We even managed to get two vegetarian options. For 6 courses with drinks we paid only 110 yuan!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

SOOO GOOOD that i went twice. Definately one of the best meals EVER! Good quality, selection and service. COLD BEER! good menus and excellent staff. good english and definately worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convenient for our hotel (Westin) as right beside fountain end of the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. Compared to many restuarants in China the menu offered a good variety of choice even for those of us less inclined to intestines and feet. In particular the lamb pockets were very good. Portions are large so it is easy to over order but prices were reasonable so not an issue. Yes you were asked to pay in advance but this is common in China and service was super quick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good and English Menus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The easiest location to find is on the northwest corner of the Big Goose Pagoda complex by the pedestrian overpass. Their specialty is a dipping noodle but I ordered the Biang Biang noodle. The order taker didn't speak English but some of the staff did. Picture menu provided with some crazy English translations. Questions asked when ordering were how many of each dish I wanted, if I wanted my Pepsi cold or room temperature, if I wanted my noodles spicy or not, and that I had to pay first (after ordering). Food was good but not extraordinary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.