We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,524 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

SOOO GOOOD that i went twice. Definately one of the best meals EVER! Good quality, selection and service. COLD BEER! good menus and excellent staff. good english and definately worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convenient for our hotel (Westin) as right beside fountain end of the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. Compared to many restuarants in China the menu offered a good variety of choice even for those of us less inclined to intestines and feet. In particular the lamb pockets were very good. Portions are large so it is easy to over order but prices were reasonable so not an issue. Yes you were asked to pay in advance but this is common in China and service was super quick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good and English Menus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The easiest location to find is on the northwest corner of the Big Goose Pagoda complex by the pedestrian overpass. Their specialty is a dipping noodle but I ordered the Biang Biang noodle. The order taker didn't speak English but some of the staff did. Picture menu provided with some crazy English translations. Questions asked when ordering were how many of each dish I wanted, if I wanted my Pepsi cold or room temperature, if I wanted my noodles spicy or not, and that I had to pay first (after ordering). Food was good but not extraordinary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We went back to this restaurant for our one week trip in Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of the best meal we had in Xian. The noodle is Good. We ordered to dishes with different type of noodle to try and they were good. However, when we ordered other dishes in the menu, we were surprised on the taste, WOW.. Yummy.. Good Taste, Good Quality Food. Our Group is so impressed and decide to go back to try it once again before leaving Xian and not disappoint at all. GREAT.

The price is also reasonable. We consider it was cheap compared to the service, taste and quality of food we got.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
179 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Getting worse. Amnesiac waitresses and poorer quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I live opposite this place more or less, so I see it all the time, I know how busy it is and how popular with the travel guides, really for reasons best known to themselves. If you're a tourist who is close to the pagoda and really has no choice then this place will do, but I was tempted into a repeat visit lately and was reminded why I don't come here anymore. The waitresses really are more bovine than the norm, they forgot our order twice! Then the beer was warm when they said 'yes they do have cold beer', very frustrating but they opened it first so it was a hassle trying to reject it. Yes you can get all your authentic food here, and if you're a tourist the silly menu is rather amusing, but after a while it becomes irritating not cute. There are far better, more organised and better value places away from the pagoda.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.