We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,611 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fast and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convenient for our hotel (Westin) as right beside fountain end of the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. Compared to many restuarants in China the menu offered a good variety of choice even for those of us less inclined to intestines and feet. In particular the lamb pockets were very good. Portions are large so it is easy to over order but prices were reasonable so not an issue. Yes you were asked to pay in advance but this is common in China and service was super quick.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good and English Menus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The easiest location to find is on the northwest corner of the Big Goose Pagoda complex by the pedestrian overpass. Their specialty is a dipping noodle but I ordered the Biang Biang noodle. The order taker didn't speak English but some of the staff did. Picture menu provided with some crazy English translations. Questions asked when ordering were how many of each dish I wanted, if I wanted my Pepsi cold or room temperature, if I wanted my noodles spicy or not, and that I had to pay first (after ordering). Food was good but not extraordinary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We went back to this restaurant for our one week trip in Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One of the best meal we had in Xian. The noodle is Good. We ordered to dishes with different type of noodle to try and they were good. However, when we ordered other dishes in the menu, we were surprised on the taste, WOW.. Yummy.. Good Taste, Good Quality Food. Our Group is so impressed and decide to go back to try it once again before leaving Xian and not disappoint at all. GREAT.

The price is also reasonable. We consider it was cheap compared to the service, taste and quality of food we got.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Getting worse. Amnesiac waitresses and poorer quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I live opposite this place more or less, so I see it all the time, I know how busy it is and how popular with the travel guides, really for reasons best known to themselves. If you're a tourist who is close to the pagoda and really has no choice then this place will do, but I was tempted into a repeat visit lately and was reminded why I don't come here anymore. The waitresses really are more bovine than the norm, they forgot our order twice! Then the beer was warm when they said 'yes they do have cold beer', very frustrating but they opened it first so it was a hassle trying to reject it. Yes you can get all your authentic food here, and if you're a tourist the silly menu is rather amusing, but after a while it becomes irritating not cute. There are far better, more organised and better value places away from the pagoda.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Biang, Biang Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

While the Chinese characters are insanely complicated to denote the name of this regional specialty noodle, it's quite easy to say "biang biang mian" when ordering. Or easier yet is just point to the first page of the massive picture menu which features the house 3+ meter long noodle with two sauces and various condiments, like whole raw garlic.

Since we were staying at the nearby Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, we came to this First Noodle branch twice. First time for the noodles; second time for the lamb and sesame pita pockets, and some green veggies. Note: when they serve you a bowl of murky liquid when you sit down, it's actually pasta water for you to drink, not to wash your fingers in.

Both times there were huge portions served in impressively big vessels. Even with a beer or two, dinner for two is around $10! The place bustles with locals and tourists. No English spoken but the above-mentioned picture menu is pretty idiot proof. The place is super atmospheric with huge red lanterns (despite the fluorescent bulbs) and dark rustic tables and chairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.