We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biang, Biang Good Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Biang, Biang Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

While the Chinese characters are insanely complicated to denote the name of this regional specialty noodle, it's quite easy to say "biang biang mian" when ordering. Or easier yet is just point to the first page of the massive picture menu which features the house 3+ meter long noodle with two sauces and various condiments, like whole raw garlic.

Since we were staying at the nearby Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, we came to this First Noodle branch twice. First time for the noodles; second time for the lamb and sesame pita pockets, and some green veggies. Note: when they serve you a bowl of murky liquid when you sit down, it's actually pasta water for you to drink, not to wash your fingers in.

Both times there were huge portions served in impressively big vessels. Even with a beer or two, dinner for two is around $10! The place bustles with locals and tourists. No English spoken but the above-mentioned picture menu is pretty idiot proof. The place is super atmospheric with huge red lanterns (despite the fluorescent bulbs) and dark rustic tables and chairs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The 3m noodle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a chain, but it has character. The 3m noodle is a must when in Xi'an. This is a great city to visit and many restaurants - especially Arab Street area...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The best meal I had in China!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This amazing restaurant would have been hard to find if our sweet taxi driver didn't walk us there himself. There is not an English name outside. No one that worked at the restaurant speaks English either, so again out sweet taxi driver who also didn't speak English called someone on his cell phone to try to help us. My friend was trying to say no beef or pork and the waiter only wanted to know if we wanted skinny or wide noodles. Exasperated, we finally just pointed at a picture and they brought us the most amazing dish of spinach noodles with what I assume had beef and chicken. It was just the right amount of spicy. The food here is divine and well worth your time to find it. The cost for 2 bowls of delicious noodles was $6. By the way, we only saw locals in this restaurant - no tourists. My review is making me choose a rating for a bar scene but I don't think there was a bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This lively restaurant near Xi'an's famous Wild Goose Pagoda is popular with both tourists and locals. You are seated at long wooden tables and the noise level is high - but this is not unusual as any seasoned Chinese traveller will know! The staff generally do not speak English but are good-natured about foreigners and a bit of pointing usually does the trick if you reach a language impasse. The menu is big and noodles are a speciality; but you will find a wealth of meat, fish, poultry, egg and vegetable dishes from which to choose. Some of the English menu translations are hilarious. The prices may be slightly inflated due to the restaurant's proximity to a popular tourist destination, but still a bargain by Western standards. It's a lively, happy sort of place and you will leave feeling well looked-after and well-fed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique local delicacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The restaurant has a great location, easy to find. The noodles are great. I like its decor also. Because of its easy access and affordability, many locals are here. Thus it might be a little noisy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.