We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing about Xi'an...including the Terracotta Warriors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,519 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Steinbach, Canada
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“The best thing about Xi'an...including the Terracotta Warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Xi'an, itself, was disappointing. Kind of a dirty, gritty city with little of interest other than the Muslim Quarter and the Terracotta Warriors (which, also, were a bit of a let down, but I'll leave that for another review). However, I will say perhaps our favourite restaurant in mainland China was this simple little place First Noodle Under the Sun. We read about it in Lonely Planet, and thankfully it hasn't succumbed to the "Lonely Planet" effect (increasing the prices and serving bad food to tourists). There were only locals here and the food is amazing and incredibly cheap. The egg and tomato noodles were my favourite, but any of the noodle dishes we ordered were great. We got four large bottles of beer, two bottles of water, and four large dishes all for the equivalent of 11 dollars. English menus and friendly service. This place was so good that, despite the fact it was a long way from our hotel, we went back here twice. Highly recommended. Seek it out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and good taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Noodles as their specialty very good. Also other dishes tasty. English spoken, menus in english with pictures. Recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“tasty noodles, some english spoken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

some reviewers seem a little disapointed after the lp endorsement, but this is not the fault of the restuarant that does not claim to be "the best" in xian. go with realistic expectations and you will enjoy a tasty meal surrounded by locals in a typical noisy chinese restaurant. cold beers and lots of non noodle items on the menu if you wants something else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

My bf and I went to first noodle off the back of a lonley planet review. We also wanted somewhere authentic that we knew had an english menu.

The food was very average and we order more than two people should order. My bf had the signature dish which is th long noodles with garlic dipping sauce. That was actually quite good but the rest all tasted the same and was super garlicky. I love garlic but it was too much.

The tables were clean but the floor was disgusting and about 6 waitresses would serve us at a time. None could speak English though.

It was very cheap though. Under 100CNY for 4-5 dishes plus beers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet need to go to some other restaurants!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I couldn't believe when I heard that LP rated this as one of the best places to eat in the city, it's not even close. I live nearby and am always popping in, so I am not slating the place, it's just no better than average in any way, though no worse than some other restaurants nearby.
Value-wise it suffers a little from being near the Big Pagoda, so you're looking at double figures for noodles etc, and the worst thing for me is the cold...they don't heat it at all, so in winter it's ridiculous in there, eating in my hat and scarf!
But the staff are good humoured and friendly and it certainly isn't bad at all...the menu is worth seeing merely for the Chinglish translations, of which I know not whether to be scared or just laugh...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.