We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and good taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First noodle under the sun

First noodle under the sun
Hanguang Road (South Section), Yanta,, Xi'an, China
029-87286088
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,596 restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 029-85398299
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and good taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Noodles as their specialty very good. Also other dishes tasty. English spoken, menus in english with pictures. Recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    14
    25
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wagga
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“tasty noodles, some english spoken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

some reviewers seem a little disapointed after the lp endorsement, but this is not the fault of the restuarant that does not claim to be "the best" in xian. go with realistic expectations and you will enjoy a tasty meal surrounded by locals in a typical noisy chinese restaurant. cold beers and lots of non noodle items on the menu if you wants something else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

My bf and I went to first noodle off the back of a lonley planet review. We also wanted somewhere authentic that we knew had an english menu.

The food was very average and we order more than two people should order. My bf had the signature dish which is th long noodles with garlic dipping sauce. That was actually quite good but the rest all tasted the same and was super garlicky. I love garlic but it was too much.

The tables were clean but the floor was disgusting and about 6 waitresses would serve us at a time. None could speak English though.

It was very cheap though. Under 100CNY for 4-5 dishes plus beers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet need to go to some other restaurants!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I couldn't believe when I heard that LP rated this as one of the best places to eat in the city, it's not even close. I live nearby and am always popping in, so I am not slating the place, it's just no better than average in any way, though no worse than some other restaurants nearby.
Value-wise it suffers a little from being near the Big Pagoda, so you're looking at double figures for noodles etc, and the worst thing for me is the cold...they don't heat it at all, so in winter it's ridiculous in there, eating in my hat and scarf!
But the staff are good humoured and friendly and it certainly isn't bad at all...the menu is worth seeing merely for the Chinglish translations, of which I know not whether to be scared or just laugh...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the funniest English menus I've seen in China”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Whoever did the translation for these menus must have been on some wild drugs, or they still are because it hasn't been changed. Some of the dishes such as "Make your own skin", and "Urine stench noodles", provide some entertainment in this drab backdrop of a restaurant. There are many locations throughout the city. Much better noodles on offer in other hole in the wall places.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First noodle under the sun also viewed

 

Been to First noodle under the sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First noodle under the sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.