We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with great staff and even better breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Hilton Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Xi'an
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Montreal, Qc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A great hotel with great staff and even better breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This may also be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at... That's saying a lot I know.

We booked a standard room, but were upgraded to their executive 8th floor. Front desk staff were helpful, spoke excellent English, and very accommodating.

Lobby: Grandiose, well decorated, free wifi internet.

Rooms: Spacious and well decorated. Very comfortable bed and bedding. Motorized curtains, spacious bathroom with steam shower. In room safe. The works. All must have been recently renovated. Rooms were spotless. Toiletries provided were also top notch.

Breakfast buffet: This may have been the highlight of the hotel. The best breakfast buffet, hands down. Extensive oriental options, egg station, salad bar, sushi, fruits, steamed dim sum options, salads, etc. You could eat here 10 days in a row and eat something different every time. The staff were also very polite, helpful and service was excellent.

China Restaurant: Excellent meal. Many options. But there are also many other places to dine in the area.

Only issue was with their concierge. We are seasoned travelers who like to take things easy and go with the flow. When we tried to book a day trip to see the Terra Cotta Warriors, the hotel staff was pushing the private car option or the 8 hr fixed rate cab option. I think this is something common all over china, as we experienced this at every stop on the trip. They assume foreigners will just pay inflated prices (most probably do... we don't).

Anyways, we took the 7 RMB bus to the Warriors and didn't think twice about the 500RMB offer we got the cab, or the 600RMB+tip for the tour (by the way, tour operators expect tips in China, and they will make you aware of this...). Trip took 50 minutes, on a clean and comfortable bus. I suggest you do your research about the day trips. these "arrangements" made by hotel staff for external services must include kickbacks or finders fees, and are usually never a good deal.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book an executive suite and certainly include breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and will personally talk to our Front Office Manager and have her focusing on the right service standards in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    122
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
75
114
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is a very chinese style hotel and I believe many foreigners would like to take a visit. It's located in the "old town" of China, which is also close to the subway so that you can browse around Xian easily. Everything is of a standard 5* hotel and the services is nice too! The breakfast has good variety and enjoyed the stay there :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night in December 2012 - everything was excellent and very luxurious. No problems. Very good service. Really well presented, clean and modern room. Excellent bathroom (great shower). Breakfast selection was very broad. Would definitely stay again. (I'd live there if I could!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Xi'an recently and had a wonderful time. The rooms are beautiful and the staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb and again, the staff was friendly and always offering help to make our stay pleasant. The Director of Sales even stopped at our table asking if there was anything she could do to make our stay more pleasant. The location is great for walking to various sites of Xi'an. I would highly recommend the Hilton Xi'an!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came to this hotel after staying at Hilton's Wangfujing property in Beijing. That hotel was good; this one blew it away. We were happy to be upgraded and the concierge floor staff was amazing. They were helpful and had exceptional English skills. We received excellent advice on where to eat and what to do. The city wall experience was unforgettable. We had an early flight and the staff thoughtfully packed us croissants and water. We will definitely tell everyone that this is an excellent hotel choice in Xian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!
Thank you for your very positive comments and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a good solid Hilton. Being in Asia I would say its a higher standard than Hilton's throughout Europe. The rooms are very nicely appointed and very comfortable. If you are looking to utilize the concierge service I wold recommend visiting the Sofitel down the road. We started by visiting the concierge desk within the Hilton but they were only interested in selling their own overpriced services and when we said we would look elsewhere we let someone harassed. The Sofitel sorted us out with exactly the kind of trip we wanted in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

I noticed we have not entirely met your expectations, in particular with the Concierge service. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and will personally talk to our Front Office Manger and have her focusing on the service standards improvement in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was there in December with a friend and her baby. The baby had a bad cold and we were concerned. The staff not only found us the most approriate place to get medical care, they sent a staff person with us to navigate and translate. (this was not his regular job, we were not charged for this, and he even refused a tip!) Then another staff person prepared his father's recipe of pear soup for the baby and for us. The accommodations were great, the hotel beautiful and well located, the breakfast sensational - but, the staff was truly exceptional. I don't remember receiving such care at a hotel before this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi
Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#80 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Xi’an and surrounded by some of the city’s most popular shopping areas.Hilton Xi’an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi’an that is ideal for both business and Leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.