We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Hilton Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Xi'an
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #5 of 2,041 hotels in Xi'an
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was there in December with a friend and her baby. The baby had a bad cold and we were concerned. The staff not only found us the most approriate place to get medical care, they sent a staff person with us to navigate and translate. (this was not his regular job, we were not charged for this, and he even refused a tip!) Then another staff person prepared his father's recipe of pear soup for the baby and for us. The accommodations were great, the hotel beautiful and well located, the breakfast sensational - but, the staff was truly exceptional. I don't remember receiving such care at a hotel before this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    151
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
156
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We did not know what to expect from this hotel, not knowing anything about Xi'an, but what a beautiful hotel. We booked 2 rooms for us and our 2 teenage boys, and was amazed by the quality and service we received. The decor in this hotel is exquisite, the staff well trained, friendly and helpful, our family thrives on our first cup of morning coffee, this is not the way the chinese do it, but every morning when we requested coffee, we received! We arranged a tour guide, which I would strongly recomend, getting around with public transport is non existing, and the Terracotta Warriors is about and hour away from the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived very late at night and they still greeted us warmly in the very cold Xian. Check in went very smooth and fast and we really liked the room since it was warm inside. The room is big enough and very clean with Tang dynasty picture hanging on the wall. The bathroom has bathup and shower. The breakfast is one of the best breakfast we had during our tour in China. The combination of local food, western food and dimsum choice. Location wise is inside the city wall but a bit far from Bell and Drum tower. If it wasn't cold we don't mind to walk around. We stayed during Christmas Eve and we saw choir singing in the lobby, it brought the feels of Christmas in Xian. Overall we satisfied with our choice staying in Hilton Xian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights after Christmas time 2012/2013.

Check-in experience,
We came from airport that takes around 1 hour, normal taxi would cost 150-180 RMB. (we took private tour that I also recommend you save time as they pick you from luggage claim area and have typically better car. It costs around 200-250RMB). Train station is few kilometers away just next to the north part of the city wall and private pickup cost 90 RMB taxi would cost less than 10 RMB.
We experienced quite smooth and fast typical check-in procedures. Lobby is quite nicely decorated and huge as well as hotel building. All staff speak well English and quite welcoming.

Lounge,
HHonors members or via upgrade you can also enjoy the Lounge at 8th floor. It offers evening snacks between 18:00 to 20:00. That includes but not limited, good red wine and cheese. It was not crowded at all during our stay and we also enjoyed a lot the ambience. (There are daily newspapers, big flat screen and PCs for your usage just like typical lounges) Food is in general delicious. The only problem, There is no breakfast offering in the lounge.

Hotel / Room,
Hotel is recently opened (late 2011) and has a lean design and architecture. I like it very much. Rooms are decent size and furniture is tastefully selected, nice big size bathroom. Good mattress. TV offers typical channels (HBO, CNN etc.). Not noisy. Air condition is working well. By the time, when we visit it was -15 in Xi’an. There is one problem tough, the room(5th floor) has quite much kitchen smell. From 5 in the morning, it began with some bread etc. and evening time dinner smell, that was annoying. I found in general the hotel quite clean and well maintained.

Transport
East gate and city wall is few minutes walking distance. The rest per bus (public transport) or taxi. I recommend bus as taxi asks typically quite high prices. (e.g. To Drum tower, it should be 8-9RMB bur asked price is around 100 RMB. Bus cost 1 or 2 RMB depending on the bus.) We took 32 that goes to Bell/drum tower in 10 minutes, follow shortest route and costs 1 RMB/person.

Location,
It is within city walls but not really walking distance to Pagodas or Bell tower, Muslim quarter. Across the road there is a very good Muslim restaurant that I strongly recommend. Quite clean, big and prestigious. (you cannot miss it just opposite of the main gate of the hotel). In the evening there is also a night market where you can eat primarily the seafood. This is also famous in Xi’an and always crowded after 21:00 until 23:00.

As I don't know any other hotels in Xi’an, I cannot compare it with others but it is a good 5 star hotel and one of most prestigious and expensive choice in Xi’an.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Many of the reviews mention how convenient the location of the hotel is, within walking distance to the bell tower, city wall, etc. But when we were there 2 weeks ago, it wasn't convenient for us.. at all. Perhaps its due to the cold (it was -10C when we were there), hard to find any taxi, and hard to find good place to eat (within walking distance from the hotel), or perhaps its just the fact that Xi'an is a crappy city?

Anyway, I have no complaints on the hotel itself. Its new, the room is comfortable, and good service. As a gold HHonors was immediately ushered to the Executive lounge for check-in. The staffs can speak a bit of English and were very helpful in assisting us to arrange for day trip to see the Terracotta museum.

We had dined at all of their onsite restaurants and quality was ok. Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our second hotel as we tour China and once again delighted with the high standard of service and comfort. Only here for one night we had a good room on a high floor with city views. A huge bathroom with separate rainforrest shower and luxury toiletries. fluffy robes,slippers and an abundant supply of towels allowed us to refresh ourselves ready for an evening on the town. Only had time to eat breakfast in the hotel and am happy to report that it was fantastic! Never seen such a variety of foods for breakfast before. Close to City Wall but we were unable to find an entrance point - would loved to have walked around it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at 5 star hotels on our Viking Cruise trip but this was the best. The lobby is magnificent from the huge chandelier to the beautiful wall decorations. . corridors by the rooms were wide and very quiet. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed with power operated drapes and drop down screen behind the clear glass to the bathroom. We could not hear any street noise. The breakfasts were spread out over a space of three rooms. In addition there were morning newspapers in the dining area. This was undoubtedly the best hotel we've ever been in! The central air conditioning (no through-the-wall air conditioning here) was whisper quiet.

Room Tip: We had an upper room, floor 21, so it was away from most street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your nice comments about your stay with Hilton Xi'an. We are so glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay here.

Hilton Xi’an welcomes guests with 309 spacious guest rooms from 43 to 248 squre meters and 9-meter ceiling height lobby which featuring distinctive Tang dynasty touches. in the rooms, you could enjoy the city view or landscape roof garden.

Thank you again for your nice comments and we looking forward to seeing you soon. safe traval!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#78 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Xi’an and surrounded by some of the city’s most popular shopping areas.Hilton Xi’an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi’an that is ideal for both business and Leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.