We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in Xi´an” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Xi'an to your Saves list
Hilton Xi'an
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #6 of 2,156 Hotels in Xi'an
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A good stay in Xi´an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights after Christmas time 2012/2013.

Check-in experience,
We came from airport that takes around 1 hour, normal taxi would cost 150-180 RMB. (we took private tour that I also recommend you save time as they pick you from luggage claim area and have typically better car. It costs around 200-250RMB). Train station is few kilometers away just next to the north part of the city wall and private pickup cost 90 RMB taxi would cost less than 10 RMB.
We experienced quite smooth and fast typical check-in procedures. Lobby is quite nicely decorated and huge as well as hotel building. All staff speak well English and quite welcoming.

Lounge,
HHonors members or via upgrade you can also enjoy the Lounge at 8th floor. It offers evening snacks between 18:00 to 20:00. That includes but not limited, good red wine and cheese. It was not crowded at all during our stay and we also enjoyed a lot the ambience. (There are daily newspapers, big flat screen and PCs for your usage just like typical lounges) Food is in general delicious. The only problem, There is no breakfast offering in the lounge.

Hotel / Room,
Hotel is recently opened (late 2011) and has a lean design and architecture. I like it very much. Rooms are decent size and furniture is tastefully selected, nice big size bathroom. Good mattress. TV offers typical channels (HBO, CNN etc.). Not noisy. Air condition is working well. By the time, when we visit it was -15 in Xi’an. There is one problem tough, the room(5th floor) has quite much kitchen smell. From 5 in the morning, it began with some bread etc. and evening time dinner smell, that was annoying. I found in general the hotel quite clean and well maintained.

Transport
East gate and city wall is few minutes walking distance. The rest per bus (public transport) or taxi. I recommend bus as taxi asks typically quite high prices. (e.g. To Drum tower, it should be 8-9RMB bur asked price is around 100 RMB. Bus cost 1 or 2 RMB depending on the bus.) We took 32 that goes to Bell/drum tower in 10 minutes, follow shortest route and costs 1 RMB/person.

Location,
It is within city walls but not really walking distance to Pagodas or Bell tower, Muslim quarter. Across the road there is a very good Muslim restaurant that I strongly recommend. Quite clean, big and prestigious. (you cannot miss it just opposite of the main gate of the hotel). In the evening there is also a night market where you can eat primarily the seafood. This is also famous in Xi’an and always crowded after 21:00 until 23:00.

As I don't know any other hotels in Xi’an, I cannot compare it with others but it is a good 5 star hotel and one of most prestigious and expensive choice in Xi’an.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    167
    47
    10
    5
See reviews for
96
190
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Many of the reviews mention how convenient the location of the hotel is, within walking distance to the bell tower, city wall, etc. But when we were there 2 weeks ago, it wasn't convenient for us.. at all. Perhaps its due to the cold (it was -10C when we were there), hard to find any taxi, and hard to find good place to eat (within walking distance from the hotel), or perhaps its just the fact that Xi'an is a crappy city?

Anyway, I have no complaints on the hotel itself. Its new, the room is comfortable, and good service. As a gold HHonors was immediately ushered to the Executive lounge for check-in. The staffs can speak a bit of English and were very helpful in assisting us to arrange for day trip to see the Terracotta museum.

We had dined at all of their onsite restaurants and quality was ok. Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Xian. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Hilton service standards and quality.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our second hotel as we tour China and once again delighted with the high standard of service and comfort. Only here for one night we had a good room on a high floor with city views. A huge bathroom with separate rainforrest shower and luxury toiletries. fluffy robes,slippers and an abundant supply of towels allowed us to refresh ourselves ready for an evening on the town. Only had time to eat breakfast in the hotel and am happy to report that it was fantastic! Never seen such a variety of foods for breakfast before. Close to City Wall but we were unable to find an entrance point - would loved to have walked around it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from Hilton Xian and the ancient city!

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey and share your experience at the Hilton Xian.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hilton Xian and remain your hospitality choice in Xian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at 5 star hotels on our Viking Cruise trip but this was the best. The lobby is magnificent from the huge chandelier to the beautiful wall decorations. . corridors by the rooms were wide and very quiet. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed with power operated drapes and drop down screen behind the clear glass to the bathroom. We could not hear any street noise. The breakfasts were spread out over a space of three rooms. In addition there were morning newspapers in the dining area. This was undoubtedly the best hotel we've ever been in! The central air conditioning (no through-the-wall air conditioning here) was whisper quiet.

Room Tip: We had an upper room, floor 21, so it was away from most street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your nice comments about your stay with Hilton Xi'an. We are so glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay here.

Hilton Xi’an welcomes guests with 309 spacious guest rooms from 43 to 248 squre meters and 9-meter ceiling height lobby which featuring distinctive Tang dynasty touches. in the rooms, you could enjoy the city view or landscape roof garden.

Thank you again for your nice comments and we looking forward to seeing you soon. safe traval!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to China. As a Hhonors Gold Member, the front desk immediately took us to the Executive Lounge to relax and get a drink while they process my reservation. The staff at the Exec Lounge was excellent. When my daughter couldn't find the chocolate that was part of the welcome fruit basket they went out of their way to get her another piece of chocolate! Breakfast can be in the Exec Lounge or in the Lobby Cafe. I recommend you go to the Cafe. The selection was extensive with a mix of western and asian food. They even had a juicer where you could juice your own watermelon or cantalope! The rooms were comfortable, clean and didn't smell of smoke. The hotel is located within the city wall and about 2 blocks from the east wall which was very convenient. We took 2 taxis from the airport to the hotel and paid 184 and 214 RMB. On our way back to the airport, Linda (our guide) arranged for a van and driver for 200 RMB. Overall, this has been the best hotel during our trip and I would recommend this place to anyone. The only negative is that the room thermostat does not work, but that is the case in all the hotels that we stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are glad to learn that you were satisfied with your recent stay at Hilton Xi'an.

At Cafe Xian, diners may choose from an array of Asian and Western cuisines served buffet-style with a large selection of premium wines and beers. The open kitchen showcases the ingredients that go into every dish. An all-day à la carte menu is also available.

For HHonor members, Hilton often has different attractive promotions by period. You could visit our hotel offical web to get the updated information.

Thank you again for your nice review. I hope that we could offer you highest level of service soon again during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Easy to find with navigator, not sure if it is the city center of Xi'an, but looks nice.
It was end of Jan. very cold there, hotel lobby is not warm too. Not much people are in the lobby especially appeared the cold. A long distance to go to Terracotta Warriors, and the local people were not very nice, they charge for nearly everything.
Even I do not like the city and people here, but this hotel is good. Chinese restaurant is good tasted, local food with Cantoness, it was the best I had in Xi'an.
Service is not that good, not easy to find staffs every where, but might be the Chinese Ner Year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Hilton Xi'an.

We always endeavor to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations. Your comments will of course be forwarded to the relevant management for their attention and action.

Hilton Xi'an is located in the heart of the ancient city, within the 600-year-old City Wall, a short walk from the landmark Bell Tower and the famous Terracotta Warriors are just 45 minutes away.

We would like to get your contact infomation if possible, please send it to: xian.info@hilton.com. this will enable us to take the appropriate action.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great room, view was of tenements across the street, hotel is cubed with a central court yard. Food was good in the main dining room, with a lot of local specialites so haved a lot of hassle of having to do street food. High quality that you get at overseas Hiltons was on full display with the food in the breakfast buffet and on executive lounge. Service suffered a bit due to a kind of lack of English skills, it was a stark constrast to the Beijing Wangfujing where everyone spoke perfect English. I guess this is kind of a "small" town in comparison. Room was spacious, nicely furnished, all in all ok - note they allow the black expensive cabs to park out front and acted like they didn't want to help us find a normal cab to take us back to the airport. Kind of annoying. Still five star all the way though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilianROGER, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
hank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you are satisfied with our facilities and will also let related staff to know that you are not satisfied with our service.Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#76 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Xi’an and surrounded by some of the city’s most popular shopping areas.Hilton Xi’an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi’an that is ideal for both business and Leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.