We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and comfortable but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Hilton Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Xi'an
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 1,977 hotels in Xi'an
NJ
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent and comfortable but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

... location not the best. The hotel and staff were helpful. The hotel was immaculate; excellent breakfast buffet. Comfortable rooms - very clean.

Room Tip: Not close to center of town but and excellent hotel. Ask for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

Regarding to the location, Hilton Xi'an is located within the ancient city wall which only takes 15 to 20 min. by walking from the hotel, and 25 min. to walk to the bell tower.

There is a night market towards the hotel, you can taste different local specialty here.
Wanda Plaza is nearby, very convenient.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.

Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    143
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
85
145
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April in a club room and were very impressed. We were on an advance purchase rate which was very good value. This is a new luxury hotel and is well located within the city walls and close to the station.

The reception is huge and impressive. The staff at the main reception desk, concierge desk and club lounge are all very helpful and most speak good English. The club lounge is a good size and the drinks and nibbles on offer are very good. We had breakfast there one day and it was good, but if you are staying in a club room you are allowed to have breakfast downstairs and I would recommend this. The selection is vast, the quality very good and this is the only place I have ever been offered a shish kebab for breakfast - delicious!

The rooms are a good size and have nice large bathrooms with a separate shower and toilet. Nice smells and (great if you are on holiday) a washing line in the shower. Lots of storage, bottled water and little treats each day. The room rate included free wifi in the lounge and this was strong enough to reach to the room.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel because there are very good cheap options in town, including the restaurant opposite (Tianxilou - muslim/thai) which was excellent.

The hotel gym is good with lots of aerobic and resistance equipment and good space for stretching. The staff are a little over keen and want to help set each machine for you.

Getting to and from the airport try and take a green taxi, the black ones are more expensive. Either way when you arrive at the airport you will need to haggle, we managed 120 RMB. Also, make sure you have the hotel name and address written in Chinese.

Getting around town is easy if you have a map with the bus routes marked. They are frequent and numerous and very cheap at 1RMB (10p!) per trip. You can also make the trip to the terracotta warriors by bus - number 306 from the north east corner of the station square - at a cost of 7RMB, considerably better value than a car or organised trip and good fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.

Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel is newly built. It was in a great location, 10 minute walk to the wall and 20 minute walk to the bell and drum towers. You would need to drive to the Terra Cotta warriors or the Wild Goose Pagoda. Very clean. wonderful lobby! We had beautiful art in our room and the room itself was superior. There is a good restaurant in the hotel - we ate breakfast there each morning and supper once. There is a Muslim restaurant across the street also. We walked in the neighborhood and had no problems but I don't think I would have walked alone.
Our room was on the fifth floor, which had an interior garden with walking paths. Wonderful for late-night exercise. I liked the security - you had to have a room key to access the floors that the rooms were on.
Super bathroom! I liked the window from the room to the bathroom (it had a shade) and that the shower stall was separate from the tub.
I am retired and had difficulty reading the wording on the light fixtures which was light grey on grey.

Room Tip: We were on the left side of the building ( as you go in) on the fifth floor. There was a condo on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I am happy to learn that you are satisfied with our hotel's facilities and service. acturally we have a night market towards the hotel where you can try different local speciality. Wanda Plaza shopping mall is just few minutes walk from the hotel, very convenient and safe.

I truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

You are immediately greeted by superb staff, welcoming you the hotel. The lobby is huge and very tastefully decorated, in Asian art. The check in process was simple, quick, and easy. Luggage being taken to my room. As was the case at The Hilton Wangfujing, the staff was superb. Every whim taken care of. The room was immaculate and I could not have wished for more.

The dinner buffet is plentiful and out of this world. Quite a wide variety to choose from.

If you get a chance to stay here. Do so. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the staff 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Xi'an very soon.

Kind regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very nice hotel, and the restautant was excellent...they even kept the restaurant open just for me since I had arrived from the airport very late. The rooms were very modern, large, nicely decorated, and the bed was very comforatble.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Xi'an.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Xi'an

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Fantastic property with a superb staff. I would rank it equally with the Hilton Wangfujing.

- Located close to the ancient city wall
- Short taxi ride to train station
- Close to other city sites and shopping district
- Great staff
- Beautiful lobby makes a nice first impression


Overall, this Hilton was a fantastic refuge to return after a busy day. The food was very good and reasonably priced at the hotel restaurant. Again, superb service overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you have a positive visit to this hotel and found the location, service, food, facilities 'make' the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A slice of heaven for a weary American traveller in China! This hotel ranks right up there with the Grand Floridian in Orlando, FL

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessicacaizy, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
I cannot thank you enough for your kind comments on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay.

We at the Hilton Xi'an take pleasure in creating moments of magic for our guests. I am pleased that we were able to do so for you.

I truly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely

Lilian Roger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#77 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Xi’an and surrounded by some of the city’s most popular shopping areas.Hilton Xi’an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi’an that is ideal for both business and Leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.