We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Dumplings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Defachang Restaurant

Defachang Restaurant
Anbang Street, Xi'an, China
029-87273853
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 1,520 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stay downstairs for a casual meal or go upstairs for a belly filling dumpling extravaganza! Both are deliscious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

the restaurant is dirty, everything feels greasy, the meal was average, nothing special. i am chinese from Hawaii and these dumplings were not that good. it was recommended by the hotel. i'll pass next time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The kids really enjoyed all the different dumplings that were brought to us over the course of a long meal. We have eaten both in the main restaurant and in a private room and both were nice - the private room had a fantastic view of the Bell Tower across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just normal dumping...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I only try the normal dumping on the first floor but not the dumping banquet upstairs. It isn't good for value and the taste is very very normal. I bet you can find much better dumping in anywhere of the world.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went in with apprehension after reading the reviews on here.
Five of us went in and were given a very daunting Chinese menu with no English at all. We noticed some Chinese diners opposite had a menu with pictures so we asked for that.
Surprisingly this menu also contained English descriptions under the Chinese and a picture to the side. We ordered five different dumpling dishes based on beef, pork and shrimp and some rice. The steamed shrimp and the pork/beef dumplings were the best.
With two large beers, two waters and two sprites included the bill came to 195 yuan for the lot. Which is less than the banquet for one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Defachang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Defachang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Defachang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.