We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jano's Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Jano's Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jano's Backpackers
No.69 Shuncheng South Road, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and I can recommend it. We had the room in top floor with spacious 'living room' and good bathroom. It was not next to the main street and bar, so it was very quiet as well. It's clean and cozy and well managed. I would have rated the maximum if they had better quality pillows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights while we explored Xian. We had a double room upstairs just off the courtyard. The room was very clean and more homely then other rooms we'd had during our stay of china. Unfortunately the only problem with the hostel is that there is a bar attached to it which plays loud music until the early hours of the morning. If your out all night this wont bother you but if like us your trying to catch up on sleep after trekking the Great Wall it might be quite annoying. Other than the noise the hostel had a lot going for it: a great location inside the city walls, reasonably priced, onsite laundry facilities and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Janno's is situated just inside the city wall take the first right and it is through an alley to the left.
The staff especially Michael made our stay a great one. Nothing was too much trouble for him to sort out for us and always with a beaming smile!
Our room which I will refer to as the penthouse was at the very top of the house. Great aircon, bathroom with plenty of hot water, seating area with coffee table, wardrobe, kettle cups & green tea, up a deep step to the bedroom area with twin beds, table lamps etc.
Room was clean and we were very comfortable there.
Our room was only available for two nights unfortunately but another hotel was arranged for us within walking distance.
Michael helped us unfailingly with taxi,s etc even after we had left the city he kept in touch to see if we were ok.
We took the private driver to see the Panda's which we enjoyed immensely .
I cannot praise Michael enough, thank you for making our stay, although short a very good one.

Room Tip: Take the top penthouse room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I didn't stay here, unfortunately as I am told it is pretty good, but the Belgian bar attatched to this hostel is great. The food is reasonably priced and tasty (Western Style) and you can sit outside, under the city walls and watch the world go by. Located just 5 mins walk from the South Gate of the city walls, a great place to catch your breath after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laon, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been here myself when I was here the first time. I stayed in one of the rooms with the king bed. It's good to feel the charm of China in your hotel room, not just all white.

I always recommend this place to my friends coming to visit. Not only for the environment it offers, but also for the location. 20 meters from the great Belgium Bar, 20 meters in the other direction and you get street barbecue dinner.

The only thing I regret is that there aren't any breakfast.

Room Tip: Charming from top to bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jano's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jano's Backpackers

Also Known As:
Jano's Backpackers China/Shaanxi
Address: No.69 Shuncheng South Road, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Jano's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jano's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.