We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average food, average show” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show
No. 165, Wenyi Road,, Xi'an, China
029-88221873
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 1,601 restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Below average food, average show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There is a reason you will not find any Chinese customers here, it's an authentic tourist trap. It feels you are getting machine-stuffed with bad dumplings. After the small complimentary drink, you can only order whole bottles. Some of the dancers do their best, but the show as a whole isn't that great either. If you have a bit of bad luck, you will be caught behind a bunch of tourists holding their camera's and pad's up to film/photograph the whole thing... Skip this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    38
    34
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an unfortunate example of how Chinese culture is shamefully manipulated for the purposes of making money out of tourists. The food is average to say the least; the performance is tacky and the overall atmosphere feels as though all of the foreigners have been rounded up and force-fed tasteless dumplings and equally tasteless 'culture'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Show was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent more than we wanted to for the show and dinner. It's defiantly a tourist spot. The food was nothing special and lacked flavor. If you have never seen a traditional show in Asia it's worth it. If you have I would pass on this show unless you can get discount tickets. It's basically a dinner theater.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Poor, really poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have seen many of these shows in China and in many different provinces and we all had to say that this one was the worst we have seen. If you are on a short holiday then maybe stop by but if you have seen some shows in Beijing or Chengdu for example then give this a miss!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“If your schedule is tight just skip this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to this place just for the Tang Dynasty Performance Show and we bought the ticket without dumpling dinner because we believed that we can try dumplings some where with better quality.

The performance show is not that impressed to our group for the price we pay for. Only two from totally 10 shows that we feel are interesting. Others are quite simple and some show looks like magic show. Compare to other shows we have seen in China (Lijiang, Guilin, Chengdu and Shenzhen) this is not the best show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.