We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show
No. 165, Wenyi Road,, Xi'an, China
029-88221873
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,519 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an unfortunate example of how Chinese culture is shamefully manipulated for the purposes of making money out of tourists. The food is average to say the least; the performance is tacky and the overall atmosphere feels as though all of the foreigners have been rounded up and force-fed tasteless dumplings and equally tasteless 'culture'.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Show was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent more than we wanted to for the show and dinner. It's defiantly a tourist spot. The food was nothing special and lacked flavor. If you have never seen a traditional show in Asia it's worth it. If you have I would pass on this show unless you can get discount tickets. It's basically a dinner theater.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor, really poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have seen many of these shows in China and in many different provinces and we all had to say that this one was the worst we have seen. If you are on a short holiday then maybe stop by but if you have seen some shows in Beijing or Chengdu for example then give this a miss!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“If your schedule is tight just skip this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to this place just for the Tang Dynasty Performance Show and we bought the ticket without dumpling dinner because we believed that we can try dumplings some where with better quality.

The performance show is not that impressed to our group for the price we pay for. Only two from totally 10 shows that we feel are interesting. Others are quite simple and some show looks like magic show. Compare to other shows we have seen in China (Lijiang, Guilin, Chengdu and Shenzhen) this is not the best show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clearly this is a tourist trap. This is the place I have seen the most white people since leaving the US! -- More than Olympic Stadium, more than the Great Wall...

The food was sub par. Clearly it was made for Americans, because they food you in bucket loads of terrible dumplings --- quantity over quality...

The show was only OK. It was the highly of the event since the food was such a miss. It may be bad to say this, but if it is geared for tourists make the show a little more entertaining. If you like traditional dance and opera, then you will like this. Its a little slow for a "late" show after being out exploring all day.

Not worth the $$.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.