We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your schedule is tight just skip this one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show
No. 165, Wenyi Road,, Xi'an, China
029-88221873
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 121 Reviews
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If your schedule is tight just skip this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to this place just for the Tang Dynasty Performance Show and we bought the ticket without dumpling dinner because we believed that we can try dumplings some where with better quality.

The performance show is not that impressed to our group for the price we pay for. Only two from totally 10 shows that we feel are interesting. Others are quite simple and some show looks like magic show. Compare to other shows we have seen in China (Lijiang, Guilin, Chengdu and Shenzhen) this is not the best show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Clearly this is a tourist trap. This is the place I have seen the most white people since leaving the US! -- More than Olympic Stadium, more than the Great Wall...

The food was sub par. Clearly it was made for Americans, because they food you in bucket loads of terrible dumplings --- quantity over quality...

The show was only OK. It was the highly of the event since the food was such a miss. It may be bad to say this, but if it is geared for tourists make the show a little more entertaining. If you like traditional dance and opera, then you will like this. Its a little slow for a "late" show after being out exploring all day.

Not worth the $$.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Entertaining & Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I loved the many different types of dumplings we were served, and the entertainment was beautiful and interesting!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Entertaining show but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Tang Dynasty show was entertaining and enjoyable but I found the food to be very average. We paid RMB300 each for the show and dumpling feast.

Food is served prior to the show. There was a variety of dumplings with many different fillings. A soft drink, beer, Chinese wine and tea is also included in the price. There was certainly enough food but I thought the quality could have been better. Perhaps it's just the idea of everyone eating the same thing that didn't make it very special.

The show was very colorful and each act is introduced or announced in English and Mandarin. It lasted for about 1 hour 10 mins.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo, norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for show, the food terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The show was impressive and of high quality. Very posh Chinese. The show is just for tourists. I wish I had understood to fill my stomach some place else in prior to the show. Chinese food is just fantastic, but here the food had no taste at all. Hoever, unlike most Chinese restaurants they served ok wines.
All the Chinese just were there to see the show - they obviously knew not to bother for food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.