We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for show, the food terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show
No. 165, Wenyi Road,, Xi'an, China
029-88221873
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,597 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
oslo, norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for show, the food terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The show was impressive and of high quality. Very posh Chinese. The show is just for tourists. I wish I had understood to fill my stomach some place else in prior to the show. Chinese food is just fantastic, but here the food had no taste at all. Hoever, unlike most Chinese restaurants they served ok wines.
All the Chinese just were there to see the show - they obviously knew not to bother for food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The energy of cardboard cutouts and a ghetto blaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having been to several 'cultural' shows, I was expecting this performance to be of a reasonably high standard and consistent with many that have made Chinese entertainment events so famous. How wrong could I be!

The food was average and not great value, but the show itself was almost painful - very amateurish and reminded me of a badly choreographed school play. The 'warm up' act (a small group of female musicians playing a variety of instruments whilst seated in a line across the stage), was truly dreadful, the players visibly bored to tears.

A very wooden performance that only ever attracted a polite ripple of applause - for very good reason. My advice: avoid wasting your time and your money; there are many other attractions that would take precedence in my list of things to see and do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It was average at best...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyone HIGHLY recommended the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance. It was a huge hall crammed with other tourists eating food and drinks with a large stage in the front. The show was a combination of various dance, arcobatic and musicans playing. Granted they are all extremely talented but we found the show 'too touristy'...if that is a correct expression.
The show had a certain Las Vegas show feel to it.
We are glad we came to see it but in the end it was one of the more average things we did in Xian.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tang Dynasty Show and Dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This show was far better than what I had anticipated. The costumes, music and whole show were spectacular.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very touristy but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

An enjoyable night out, with dinner and show. All very obviously for the tourists (80% chinese/20% western when we were there) very colourful and a bit cheesy at times, but we liked it nonetheless. Im vegetarian, and they catered for me very well (the chinese dont really get vegetarianism - thinking it all very odd) We had a hair raising but enjoyable ride home on one of the tuktuk type motorbike taxis - there appear to be no rules of the road. Cheap way to get around though. Always agree the price in advance before leaving in any type of taxi. We heard of some real rip offs although not victims ourselves.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.